10 points to remember from Amazon Prime Air

The irreplaceable Jeremy Clarkson, former host of Top Gear at Amazon, just to make a first appearance since his ouster from the BBC. In a short video, he presents some pictures of the Amazon Prime Air project. You can see a new delivery drone rather imposing but also and especially how Amazon intends to integrate the drone in its logistics processes. A drone designed specifically to carry out this mission, but who is going to have to deal with the laws of the different countries where Amazon is present before the service.

 

1. There will be not one Amazon drone, but a family of UAVs

Amazon Prime Air - DroneIf the Amazon Prime Air video presents a new drone, should by necessarily rely on images. It’s a prototype, apparently devoid of sensors that will be necessary for the important part of this video vol., Jeremy Clarkson reveals that Amazon quick delivery service only will rely not on a drone, but a whole family of drones to the capacity to respond to various cases.
 

2. Better live within 25 km of a warehouse

Amazon Prime Air - EntrepôtThe scope of delivery in 30 minutes by drone service be limited to few only? The video mentions a maximum range of 25 km. It’s not bad for a lightweight drone that must achieve its mission in less than 30 minutes, but for a giant of e-commerce such as Amazon, it is short. voila which will leave large white areas not covered. Amazon’s long-range drones in its cartons? The regulation may be the main obstacle to larger drones.

 

3. a rather imposing convertible UAV

Amazon Prime Air Drone 2While the first Amazon Prime Air drone was a relatively conventional octopter, the new drone was specifically designed to accomplish its mission. The drone has a bunker to load carton and especially it is a take-off vertical via 8 propellers but also able to fly in the traditional way with a propeller placed at the rear. Result, a drone imposing whose wingspan and length blithely exceeds the meter and capable of flying at more than 90 km/h.

 

4. a limited carrying capacity

Amazon Prime Air - Capacité d'emportThe drone presented in the video is impressive and her exact measurements are not mentioned, we know that it weighs 25 kg which, from the point of view of French legislation prohibit overflight of built-up areas. This new drone is imposing but its cargo bay seems not much larger than the cardboard used to ship a cardboard shoe. Amazon no doubt felt that this format meets most of the potential customers of Amazon Prime Air commands.

 

5. a drone that thwarts the obstacles

Amazon Prime Air - sense&avoid

The passage of the video of the flight of the drone in on-board camera shows a system able to analyze its environment and to identify any barriers. The navigation will be not only a GPS trace tracking but the drone will be able to stay away from trees and other obstacles without human assistance. The video also refers to a capacity to fit into the traffic of other drones.
 

6. a two-speed flight

Airspace-DesignWith its video, Amazon gave some details about the way in which its engineers imagine the traffic of drones. Amazon participates in the commission that imagines the future U.S. regulations. Amazon imagine traffic on 2 levels: logically, to the lowest flight level, under 200 feet (60 m), the flight will be at low speed and more high speed between 200 and 400 feet. This is the proposal that makes Amazon the American civil aviation authority.

 

7. a digital device integrated

Amazon Prime Air - AppAmazon does not fly drones for the beauty of the gesture. The drone will fit in its delivery process. The designers of the system including imagined that the drone would receive its automated way loading then receive a confirmation on the part of the purchaser from the mobile application. The buyer is informed of the imminent arrival of the drone, it can then prepare the landing area and receive his parcel.
 

8. a target for the landing area

Amazon Prime Air - cibleOne of the innovations unveiled by the video, it is certainly the tracking of the landing of the drone zone system. It, via an optical system will look for a target at the Amazon logo in the alleged area. With an algorithm such as the one found on the applications of augmented reality it identifies the image in the scenery, ensures that no obstacle impinges on the area in question and can begin its descent.

 

9. a service limited to houses with garden?

Amazon Prime Air - Delivery ZoneOne of the criticisms that we could formulate the previously present Amazon Prime Air Service, is is limited to houses with garden or discovery course. A limit that version 2 does not throw. Some inventors have imagined systems to hang at the windows and balconies to receive a parcel but Amazon for now nothing showed comparable. The American will waive the drones to serve dense urban areas, this is probably the case knowing that he has already mastered fast delivery in town with more conventional means.

 

10. no commissioning date announced

Amazon Prime Air - Jeremy ClarksonNo start-up date is mentioned in the video. Jeremy Clarkson refers to a very remote date. Amazon is wrong to say when he could take off his drones from its warehouses. The U.S. still lacks exemption to fly the drones in the United States. Amazon is thus forced to wait for future regulations to be drafted and adopted by the FAA before to fold and finally launch its service Amazon premium Air.

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 points à retenir de l’annonce Amazon Prime Air

L’irremplaçable Jeremy Clarkson, ancien animateur de Top Gear passé chez Amazon, vient de faire une première apparition depuis son éviction de la BBC. Dans une courte vidéo, il présente quelques images du projet Amazon Prime Air. On peut y voir un nouveau drone de livraison plutôt imposant mais aussi et surtout comment Amazon compte intégrer la drone dans ses processus logistiques. Un drone spécifiquement conçu pour accomplir cette mission mais qui va devoir faire face aux législations des différents pays où Amazon est présent avant de pouvoir prendre du service.

 

1. Il n’y aura pas un, mais une famille de drones Amazon

Amazon Prime Air - DroneSi la vidéo Amazon Prime Air présente un nouveau drone, il ne faut par forcement se fier aux images. Il s’agit d’un prototype, visiblement dépourvu des capteurs qui lui seront nécessaire au vol. Elément important de cette vidéo, Jeremy Clarkson révèle que le service de livraison rapide Amazon ne s’appuiera pas sur un drone, mais toute une famille de drones aux capacités diverses pour répondre à divers cas de figures.

2. Merci d’habiter à moins de 25 km d’un entrepôt

Amazon Prime Air - EntrepôtLa portée du service de livraison en 30 minutes par drone sera-t-il limité à quelques privilégiés seulement ? La vidéo évoque un rayon d’action maximal de 25 km. C’est pas si mal pour un drone léger qui doit accomplir sa mission en moins de 30 minutes, mais pour un géant du E-Commerce tel qu’Amazon, c’est court. voila qui va laisser de vastes zones blanches non couvertes. Amazon a-t-il des drones à longue portée dans ses cartons ? La réglementation risque d’être le principal obstacle à des drones plus importants.

 

3. Un drone convertible plutôt imposant

Amazon Prime Air Drone 2Alors que le premier drone Amazon Prime Air était un octopter relativement conventionnel, le nouveau drone a été conçu spécialement pour accomplir sa mission. Le drone dispose d’une soute pour charger le carton et surtout c’est un appareil a décollage vertical via 8 hélices mais aussi capable de voler de manière traditionnelle grâce à une hélice placée à l’arrière. Résultat, un drone imposant dont l’envergure et la longueur dépasse allègrement le mètre et capable de voler à plus de 90 km/h.

 

4. Une capacité d’emport limitée

Amazon Prime Air - Capacité d'emportLe drone présenté dans la vidéo est imposant et ses mensurations exactes ne sont pas mentionnées, on sait qu’il pèse 25 kg ce qui, du point de vue de la législation française lui interdirait le survol des zones  urbanisées. Ce nouveau drone est imposant mais sa soute ne semble pas beaucoup plus grande que le carton utilisé pour expédier un carton à chaussure. Amazon a sans doute estimé que ce format correspond à l’essentiel des commandes des potentiels clients d’Amazon Prime Air.

 

5. Un drone qui déjoue les obstacles

Amazon Prime Air - sense&avoid

Le passage de la vidéo du vol du drone en caméra embarquée montre un système embarqué capable d’analyser son environnement et d’identifier d’éventuels obstacles. La navigation ne sera donc pas uniquement le suivi d’un tracé GPS mais le drone sera capable de rester à l’écart des arbres et autres obstacles sans assistance humaine. La vidéo évoque aussi une capacité de s’insérer dans le trafic d’autres drones.

 

6. Un vol à deux vitesses

Airspace-DesignAvec sa vidéo, Amazon a livré quelques détails sur la façon dont ses ingénieurs imagines le trafic des drones. Amazon participe à la commission qui imagine la future réglementation américaine. Amazon imagine un trafic sur 2 niveaux : logiquement, au niveau de vol le plus bas, sous 200 pieds (60m), le vol se fera à faible vitesse et à plus haute vitesse entre 200 et 400 pieds. C’est la proposition que fait Amazon à l’autorité de l’aviation civile américaine.

 

7. Un dispositif digital intégré

Amazon Prime Air - AppAmazon ne fait pas voler des drones pour la beauté du geste. Le drone va s’insérer dans son processus de livraison. Les concepteurs du système ont notamment imaginé que le drone allait recevoir son chargement de manière automatisé puis recevoir une confirmation de la part de l’acheteur depuis l’application mobile. L’acheteur est informé de l’arrivée imminente du drone, il peut alors préparer la zone atterrissage et réceptionner son colis.

 

8. Une cible pour désigner l’aire d’atterrissage

Amazon Prime Air - cibleL’une des innovations dévoilées par la vidéo, c’est certainement le système de repérage de la zone atterrissage du drone. Celui-ci, via un système optique va chercher une cible au logo d’Amazon dans la zone présumée. Avec un algorithme tel que celui que l’on trouve sur les applications de réalité augmentée il identifie l’image dans le décors, s’assure qu’aucun obstacle n’empiète sur la zone en question et peut entamer sa descente.

 

9. Un service limité aux maisons avec jardin ?

Amazon Prime Air - Delivery ZoneL’une des critiques que l’on pouvait formuler au service Amazon Prime Air précédemment présenté, c’est qu’il se limite aux maisons avec jardin ou cours découvertes. Une limite que la version 2 ne lève pas. Quelques inventeurs ont imaginé des systèmes à accrocher aux fenêtres et balcons pour réceptionner un colis mais Amazon n’a pour l’instant rien montré de comparable. L’américain va-t-il renoncer aux drones pour desservir les zones urbaines denses, c’est probablement, le cas sachant qu’il maîtrise déjà la livraison rapide en ville avec des moyens plus conventionnels.

 

10. Aucune date de mise en service annoncée

Amazon Prime Air - Jeremy ClarksonAucune date de mise en service n’est évoquée dans la vidéo. Jeremy Clarkson évoque une date pas très éloignée. Amazon est bien en mal de dire quand il pourra faire décoller ses drones depuis ses entrepôts. L’américain ne dispose toujours pas d’exemption pour faire voler ses drones aux Etats-Unis. Amazon est donc contraint d’attendre que la future réglementation soit rédigée puis adoptée par la FAA avant de pouvoir s’y plier et enfin lancer son service Amazon Prime Air.

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.