ABB, Bosch and Cisco, one more alliance for the “Smart Home”

NEXT-Living-EcoSuiteThe game of alliances continues around the platforms for the smart home. This time, it’s the Swiss giant ABB, Robert Bosch and Cisco coming to announce the creation next to a joint venture to develop an Open Source software platform. The objective is to facilitate the interoperability of connected objects marketed by various manufacturers with a common platform. An initiative more while the Smart Home market is still far from be structured.

One of a lots of the projects of universal platform

ABB, Bosch, and Cisco have signed the agreement on November 27, 2014. As soon as the anti-competitive authorities have given the green light, the joint venture will be established in Germany. It is there that the three partners will develop a platform Open Source for the smart home, or rather the “Smart Home” as we must now call home automation. The company should be operational from the beginning of the year 2015.

Cisco-touch-screen

Cisco multiplies initiatives to not miss the revolution of the connected home.

The idea of creating a common platform the House objects to communicate with each other is of course excellent. That same shelf can control the lighting, air conditioning, audiovisual equipment or in the kitchen, all appliances. The problem is that each industrial wants to be the one who will develop this universal platform and will therefore draw a competitive advantage over its competitors. In recent months, the initiatives are therefore multiplied, each rallying to him to other players in the market with which it is not in head-on competition.
Apple unveiled its Homekit during WWDC 2014, attracting to it Haier, Philips, Broadcom. Google is well represented with Android@Home, project announced at Google I/O 2013. Another serious contender on the starting line, the Allseen alliance created by Qualcomm end 2013. This alliance, which seeks to promote the Open Source AllJoyn platform caught a few big fish in his net, including Microsoft, Haier, LG, Panasonic, Sharp, Technicolor, Cisco. The latter seems to play on several tables in order to not miss the revolution of the Internet of Everything.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “ABB, Bosch, and Cisco to Establish Joint Venture”, Communiqué de presse Bosch, Décember 1st, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in M2M, Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

ABB, Bosch et Cisco s’allient à leur tour sur la « Smart Home »

NEXT-Living-EcoSuiteLe jeu des alliances se poursuit autour des plateformes pour la maison intelligente. Cette fois, c’est le géant suisse ABB, Robert Bosch et Cisco qui viennent d’annoncer la création prochaine d’une joint venture pour développer une plateforme logicielle Open Source. L’objectif est de faciliter l’interopérabilité des objets connectés commercialisés par divers constructeurs avec une plateforme commune. Une initiative de plus, alors que le marché de la Smart Home est encore loin d’être structuré.

Un projet de plateforme universelle… de plus !

ABB, Bosch, et Cisco ont signé l’accord le 27 novembre 2014. Dès que les autorités anticoncurrentielles auront donné leur feu vert, la joint venture sera créée en Allemagne. C’est là que les trois partenaires vont développer une plateforme Open Source pour la maison intelligente, ou plutôt la « Smart Home » comme il faut aujourd’hui appeler la domotique. L’entreprise devrait être opérationnelle dès le début de l’année 2015.

Cisco-touch-screen

Cisco multiplie les initiatives pour ne pas passer à côté de la révolution de la maison connectée.

L’idée de créer une plateforme commune pour que les objets de la maison puissent communiquer les uns avec les autres est bien évidemment excellente. Qu’une même tablette puisse contrôler l’éclairage, la climatisation, les équipement audiovisuels ou, dans la cuisine, l’ensemble de l’électroménager. Le problème, c’est que chaque industriel  veut être celui qui développera cette plateforme universelle et en tirera donc un avantage concurrentiel sur ses concurrents. Ces derniers mois, les initiatives se sont donc multipliées, chacun ralliant à lui d’autres acteurs du marché avec lesquels il n’est pas en concurrence frontale.

Apple a dévoilé son Homekit lors du WWDC 2014, attirant à lui Haier, Philips, Broadcom. Google est bien présent avec Android@Home, projet annoncé lors de Google I/O 2013. Autre concurrent sérieux sur la ligne de départ, l’alliance Allseen créée par Qualcomm fin 2013. Cette alliance, qui cherche à promouvoir la plateforme Open Source AllJoyn a attrapé quelques gros poissons dans ses filets, parmi lesquels Microsoft, Haier, LG, Panasonic, Sharp, Technicolor, Cisco. Ce dernier semble vouloir jouer sur plusieurs tableaux afin de ne pas rater la révolution de l’Internet of Everything.

Source : « ABB, Bosch, and Cisco to Establish Joint Venture », Communiqué de presse Bosch, 1 décembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans M2M, Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.