Aerion vs Boom Supersonic: The supersonic race accelerates

Aerion Corporation has just announced that it has signed a partnership with Lockheed Martin to develop its supersonic AS2 business jet.

The American defense giant takes over from Airbus at the side of the startup to help him develop a supersonic that will compete with business jets thanks to its supersonic speed and a range of action that will allow him to make a Los Angeles / Paris of one go.

After Airbus, Lookheed-Martin comes to help Aerion

SR-71, F-16, F-22, F-35, Lockheed-Martin and its design office Skunk Works has produced some of the most legendary aircraft of the American Air Force. Created in 2002, Aerion Corporation is looking to build the AS2, an 8/12 seat aircraft capable of flying at Mach 1.4. In order to achieve this particularly ambitious goal for a company that has never before designed airplanes, the startup has powerful support. This is particularly the case for GE, General Electric, which is working on a key element in the success of the operation, the aircraft engines. Another key partner for Aerion, Airbus. The European aircraft manufacturer’s engineers helped the startup design the AS2’s wing and fuselage structure, as well as the draft electronic flight controls (fly-by-wire). Airbus is therefore giving up its place in the adventure to Lockheed-Martin, who is assisting Aerion’s engineers for 12 months, knowing that the project is now entering a critical phase. A first wooden layout was built in order to validate the design choices of the future aircraft, it is now necessary to enter the advanced design phase and build the first prototype. The initial objective is to make a first flight in 2023 and obtain FAA certification in 2025. For the time being, Aerion can rely on an order book of 20 copies from Flexnet, a split-mode business jet manager.

Boom Supersonic targets bigger

In this race towards the future supersonic civil plane, Aerion is competing with Boom Supersonic, another American startup who wants to fly a prototype of reduced size from 2018. Boom is working on a larger aircraft than the AS2 as he will have to board 45 to 55 passengers. This market positioning, which is quite different from that of Aerion, enabled the American company to build up an order book of 76 copies from airlines, mainly Virgin Atlantic and Japan Airlines.

Everything will be decided at the time of the first flights of the prototypes and when it will be necessary to launch the industrialisation of these small Concorde, unless an aeronautical manufacturer gets his hands on these projects.

Source: “Aerion and Lockheed Martin Join Forces to Develop World’s First Supersonic Business Jet”, Aerion Corporation press release,  15 December 2017.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique. Bookmark the permalink.

Aerion vs Boom Supersonic : La course au supersonique s’accélère

Aerion Corporation vient d’annoncer avoir signé un partenariat avec Lockheed Martin afin de développer son avion d’affaire supersonique AS2.

Le géant américain de la défense prend le relais d’Airbus au chevet de la startup afin de l’aider à mettre au point un supersonique qui viendra concurrencer les jets d’affaire grâce à sa vitesse supersonique et un rayon d’action qui lui permettra de faire un Los-Angeles / Paris d’une traite.

Après Airbus, Lookheed-Martin vient aider Aerion

L’AS2 d’Aerion vise en premier lieu le marché des jets d’affaires.

SR-71, F-16, F-22, F-35, Lockheed-Martin et son bureau d’études Skunk Works a produit quelques-uns des avions les plus mythiques de l’armée de l’air américaine. Créé en 2002, Aerion Corporation cherche à construire l’AS2, un avion de 8/12 places capable de voler à Mach 1,4. Pour atteindre cet objectif particulièrement ambitieux pour une entreprise qui n’a encore jamais conçu d’avions, la startup dispose de puissants soutiens. C’est notamment le cas de GE, General Electric qui travaille sur un éléments clé du succès de l’opération, les moteurs de l’avion. Autre partenaire clé pour Aerion, Airbus. Les ingénieurs de l’avionneur européen ont aidé la startup à dessiner la structure des ailes et du fuselage de l’AS2, de même que l’ébauche des commandes de vol électroniques (fly-by-wire). Airbus cède donc sa place dans l’aventure au profit de Lockheed-Martin qui vient assister les ingénieurs d’Aerion pour 12 mois sachant que le projet  entre désormais dans une phase critique. Une première d’aménagement en bois à été construite afin de valider les choix d’aménagement du futur appareil, il faut maintenant entrer en phase de conception avancée et construire le premier prototype. L’objectif est de réaliser un premier vol en 2023 et décrocher la certification FAA en  2025. Pour l’heure, Aerion peut s’appuyer sur un carnet de commande de 20 exemplaires de la part de Flexnet, un gestionnaire de jets d’affaires en mode fractionnés.

Boom Supersonic vise plus gros

Dans cette course vers le futur avion civil supersonique, Aerion est en compétition avec Boom Supersonic, une autre startup américaine qui veut faire voler un prototype de taille réduite dès 2018. Boom travaille sur un appareil plus imposant que l’AS2 puisqu’il devra embarquer de 45 à 55 passagers. Ce positionnement marché, assez différent de celui d’Aerion, a permis à l’américain de de se constituer un carnet de commandes pour 76 exemplaires auprès de compagnies aériennes, essentiellement  Virgin Atlantic et Japan Airlines.

Tout se jouera au moment des premiers vols des prototypes et lorsqu’il faudra lancer l’industrialisation de ces petits Concorde, à moins qu’un constructeur aéronautique ne mettent la main sur ces projets.

Source : « Aerion and Lockheed Martin Join Forces to Develop World’s First Supersonic Business Jet », communiqué de presse, Aerion Corporation, 15 décembre 2017

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique. Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.