Precision agriculture: Researchers turn plants into connected objects

Researchers at the University of Iowa’s MEMS and Biochips laboratory have published the results of their work. They have created ultra-fine sensors that can be attached to the plant to measure water consumption, key information for improving greenhouse or field crop yield and optimizing field irrigation. In addition to this precision farming, these sensors could also be used in architecture or healthcare.

A new kind of sensors for precision farming

American researchers have succeeded in creating graphene sensors that are only 5 millionths of a meter thick, 20 times thinner than a hair, sensors that can be placed on a plant or any object in the form of an adhesive tape. These sensors are made of graphene oxide, a moisture-sensitive material. This one which is placed on a polymer by 3D printing these graphene structures will measure the transpiration of the plant, and thus its water consumption.

Liang Dong, author of the research paper on these graphene sensors.

As Liang Dong, associate professor and author of the research paper points out: “The manufacturing process is very simple: Adhesive tape is all it takes to produce these sensors. Their cost is only a few cents.”

These sensors have been laboratory tested and then field tested in situ and a startup, EnGeniousAg, is in contact with Liang Dong research group researchers to commercialize the technology.

 

Sources:

“Engineers make wearable sensors for plants, enabling measurements of water use in crops”, University of Iowa press release, 3 January 2018

“High-Resolution Patterning and Transferring of Graphene-Based Nanomaterials onto Tape toward Roll-to-Roll Production of Tape-Based Wearable Sensors”, research paper, November 17,2017

 

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D, Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Agriculture de précision : Des chercheurs transforment les plantes en objets connectés

Les chercheurs du laboratoire sur les MEMS et Biochips de l’université d’Iowa ont publié les résultats de leurs travaux. Ceux-ci ont créé des capteurs ultrafins pouvant être fixé au plantes afin de mesurer leur consommation en eau, une information clé pour améliorer le rendement dans les serres ou la culture en plein champs et en optimisant l’irrigation des champs. Outre cette agriculture de précision, ces capteurs pourraient aussi être exploités en architecture ou dans le monde de la santé.

Des capteurs de nouvelle génération pour l’agriculture de précision

Les chercheurs américains sont parvenus à créer des capteurs en graphène qui ne font que 5 millionième de mètre d’épaisseur, soit 20 fois plus fin qu’un cheveu, des capteurs que l’on peut poser sur une plante ou un objet quelconque sous la forme d’une bande adhésive. Ces capteurs sont fabriqué en oxyde de graphène, un matériaux sensible à la vapeur d’eau. Celui-ci qui est disposé sur un polymère par impression 3D ces structures de graphène vont mesurer la transpiration de la plante, et donc sa consommation en eau.

Liang Dong, auteur du papier de recherche sur ces capteurs au graphène.

Outre leur faible épaisseur et simplicité de pose, ces capteurs présentent l’intérêt majeur dans le cadre d’applications agricoles d’être très peu coûteux à produire, comme le souligne Liang Dong, professeur associé et auteur du papier de recherche : « Le processus de fabrication est très simple : Il suffit d’utiliser du ruban adhésif pour produire ces capteurs. Leur coût n’est que de l’ordre de quelques cents.”

Ces capteurs ont été testés en laboratoire puis in situ, dans les champs et une startup, EnGeniousAg, est en contact avec les chercheurs du groupe de recherche de Liang Dong afin de commercialiser cette technologie.

 

Sources :

« Engineers make wearable sensors for plants, enabling measurements of water use in crops », communiqué de presse de l’Université d’Iowa, 3 janvier 2018

« High-Resolution Patterning and Transferring of Graphene-Based Nanomaterials onto Tape toward Roll-to-Roll Production of Tape-Based Wearable Sensors », papier de recherche, 17 novembre 2017

 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.