AI100 report: No, artificial intelligence does not threaten humanity

darwinStanford researchers participating in the study AI100 (aka One Hundred Year Study on Artificial Intelligence) has just published their report on the impact of artificial intelligence and robotics on our society by 2030. The report is reassuring, it highlights a number of dangers and made a series of proposals to deal with the imbalances that are sure to bring progress in artificial intelligence.

AI100 Committee researchers will want reassuring

A scenario of type Terminator is purely imaginary, plausible or even inevitable while accelerating progress in artificial intelligence and robotics? This is the theme of the study AI100. If the study group is officially based at Stanford, members of the Committee to study go far beyond the University of California then that there are several other major universities American, as well as Eric Horvitz, the Director of Microsoft Research or Astro Teller, the Director of Google X.

The Morale Machine of the MIT MediaLab. Users to choose the behavior that must have an AI in critical situations.

The ‘Morale Machine’ of the MIT MediaLab. Users to choose the behavior that must have an AI in critical situations.

The results of their study are rather reassuring. These researchers believe that advances in artificial intelligence are enough progressive for the man has time to adjust. Researchers estimate that applications such as autonomous driving, with the reduction in the number of accidents on the road expected, should help the population to better accept the artificial intelligence in their daily lives. Human intelligence and artificial intelligence should be able to complement one another. Nevertheless, researchers point to a number of risks. On the one hand the dissemination of AI in society can inequality between those who have access and others. Similarly, the risks relating to the protection of privacy are evident in an environment where the machines collect data continuously to feed these artificial intelligences. The smartphone is the most glaring illustration of this state of affairs that will grow again with the introduction of ubiquitous voice assistants and the imminent arrival of robot companions.

3 recommendations to prepare for the spread of AI

At the conclusion of their study, the researchers deliver 3 recommendations. On the one hand, they believe that Governments and legislators must get in expertise on the subject of intelligence artificial and well understand the technologies and their impact before legislating, block or allow any innovation in this area without a good understanding of the issues. The researchers estimated that an effort must be made as to the analysis of the IA, including those who have a direct action on the physical world. We need to conduct a reverse engineering of proprietary systems to understand their operating rules so that they can be discussed by the research, academics and journalists so that they will be accepted or, if applicable, denied by the company. We think especially of the now famous macabre dilemna of the autonomous car. Finally, researchers call for more resources (public but also private) so that interdisciplinary studies can be initiated in order to better evaluate the involvement of societal of AI on the world of 2030.

Translation : Bing Translator
Sources :

One Hundred Year Study on Artificial Intelligence (AI100)“, 2016 Report

“Stanford study concludes next generation of robots won’t try to kill us”, DigitalTrends, November 27, 2016

 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Intelligence artificiellle, Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Rapport AI100 : Non, l’intelligence artificielle ne menace pas l’humanité

darwinLes chercheurs de Stanford qui participent à l’étude AI100 (alias One Hundred Year Study on Artificial Intelligence) viennent de publier leur rapport sur l’impact de l’intelligence artificielle et de la robotique sur nos société d’ici 2030. Le rapport se veut rassurant, il souligne  un certain nombre de dangers et fait une série de propositions afin de parer aux déséquilibres que ne manqueront pas de faire naître les progrès en intelligence artificielle.

Les chercheurs du comité AI100 se veulent rassurants

Un scénario de type Terminator est-il purement imaginaire, plausible ou même inévitable alors que les progrès réalisés en intelligence artificielle et en robotique s’accélèrent ? C’est le thème de l’étude AI100. Si le groupe d’étude est officiellement basé à Stanford, les membres du comité d’étude vont bien au-delà de l’université californienne puis qu’on y retrouve plusieurs autres grandes universités américaines, ainsi que Eric Horvitz, le directeur de Microsoft Research ou encore Astro Teller, le directeur de Google X.

La Moral Machine du MIT MediaLab. Aux internautes de choisir le comportement que devra avoir une IA face à des situations critiques.

La ‘Moral Machine’ du MIT MediaLab. Aux internautes de choisir le comportement que devra avoir une IA face à des situations critiques.

Les résultats de leur étude sont plutôt rassurants. Ces chercheurs estiment que les avancées réalisées en intelligence artificielle sont suffisamment progressives pour que l’homme ait le temps de s’y adapter. Les chercheurs estiment que des applications telles que la conduite autonome, avec la réduction du nombre d’accidents de la route attendue, devraient aider les population à mieux accepter l’intelligence artificielle dans leur quotidien. Intelligence humaine et intelligence artificielle devraient pouvoir se compléter l’une l’autre. Néanmoins, les chercheurs pointent un certain nombre de risques. D’une part la diffusion de l’IA dans la société peut creuser les inégalités entre ceux qui y auront accès et les autres. De même, les risques relatifs à la protection de la vie privée sont évident dans un environnement où les machines collecteront en permanence des données pour alimenter ces intelligences artificielles. Le smartphone est bien évidemment l’illustration la plus flagrante de cet état de fait qui va en s’amplifiant encore avec l’introduction d’assistants vocaux omniprésents et l’arrivée imminente de robots compagnons.

3 recommandations pour se préparer à la généralisation des IA

En conclusion de leur étude, les chercheurs livrent 3 recommandations. D’une part, ils estiment que les gouvernements et législateurs doivent monter en expertise sur le sujet de l’intelligence artificielle et bien comprendre les technologies et leurs conséquences avant de légiférer, interdire ou autoriser telle ou telle innovation dans ce domaine sans une bonne compréhension des enjeux. Les chercheurs estime qu’un effort doit être réalisé quant à l’analyse des IA, notamment celles qui ont une action directe sur le monde physique. Il faut pouvoir réaliser une rétro-ingénierie des systèmes propriétaires afin de bien comprendre leurs règles de fonctionnement afin que celles-ci puissent être débattues par les recherches, universitaires et journalistes afin qu’elles soient acceptées ou, le cas échéant, refusées par la société. On pense notamment au désormais célèbre dilemme macabre de la voiture autonome. Enfin, les chercheurs réclament plus de moyens (publics mais aussi privés) afin que des études interdisciplinaires puissent être lancées afin de mieux évaluer les implication sociétales de l’IA sur le monde de 2030.
Sources :

« One Hundred Year Study on Artificial Intelligence (AI100)« , Rapport 2016

« Stanford study concludes next generation of robots won’t try to kill us », DigitalTrends, 27 novembre 2016

 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Intelligence artificielle, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.