Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge: the winners!

Drone-ZelatorA few weeks ago, Airbus helped by Local Motors launched a challenge designers to drones. They should create plans for an electric drone of less than 25 kg capable of carrying a load of drugs of 5 kg for 60 km or 3 kg on 100 km. A drone capable of taking off vertically and easy to carry. A challenge taken up by 425 competitors, setting a new record among the challenges far launched on the platform of co-creation of Local Motors. Among the distinguished projects which won a prize at this challenge, the Zelator from Russian Alexey Medvedev (left) as well as the American Harvest Zhang Volans.

The Zelator from Russian Alexey Medvedev wins the Airbus price

Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge - Zelator (6)With an endowment of $100,000 by distinguished project, Local Motors and the Airbus group have made full carton with this first Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge. The partners collected 425 bids with relatively close projects with each other for the winners but with some wacky projects. The specification submitted to the participants was relatively accurate and the formula 4 vertical engines for takeoff and landing and the required propulsion motor phases, leading the candidates to adopt similar formulas.

 

The three projects distinguished for the Airbus prize are:

  • Winner: The ZELATOR of Alexey Medvedev,
    Second prize : The Volans of Harvest Zhang,
    Third prize : The Minerva of Dominik Felix Finger.

The Cargo prize went to :

  • Winner : The SkyPac of Finn Yonkers,
    Second prize : The Volans of Harvest Zhang,
    Third prize: The ZELATOR of Alexey Medvedev.

The prize of the Local Motors community: :

  • Winner : Le Thunderbird of Frédéric Le Sciellour,
    Second prize : The SkyPac of Finn Yonkers,
    Third prize : The Volans of Harvest Zhang.

Airbus to launch a hackathon in September

Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge - Thunderbird (5)If Jay Rogers, co-founder of Local Motors, this challenge is a real success and demonstrates both the interest of crowdsourcing on such projects, but also that the creativity of the Local Motors community goes well beyond the automotive sector alone. Tom Enders, CEO of Airbus group was impressed by the projects presented, highlighting the ingenuity innovation, imagination and passion made by creators in their projects. “That is exactly what we expected when we initiated this cooperation with Local Motors this year.” It is a totally different way to capture innovation and ideas of the new generation.” Tom Enders added: “I am optimistic about the fact that some of these projects will find their way to the breasts of industrial programs of Airbus and will represent a new step forward in the era of drones.

The official release finally mentions the launch of commercial services on the part of Airbus that could resume and develop some of these concepts. The European aircraft manufacturer suggests holding a hackathon in September, in Berlin, to imagine these services of the future.

 

 

The honoured when the Cargo Drone Challenge Airbus projects:

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge : les gagnants !

Drone-ZelatorIl y a quelques semaines, Airbus aidé par Local Motors lançait un défi aux concepteurs de drones. Ceux-ci devait créer les plans d’un drone électrique de moins de 25 kg capable de transporter une charge de médicaments de 5 kg sur 60 km ou 3 kg sur 100 km. Un drone facile à transporter et capable de décoller verticalement. Un défi relevé par 425 concurrents, établissant un nouveau record parmi les défis jusqu’ici lancés sur la plateforme de co-création de Local Motors. Parmi les projets distingués qui ont décroché un prix lors de ce challenge, le Zelator du russe Alexey Medvedev (ci-contre) ainsi que le Volans de l’américain Harvest Zhang.

Le Zelator du russe Alexey Medvedev emporte le prix Airbus

Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge - Zelator (6)Avec une dotation de 100.000 $ par projet distingué, Local Motors et le groupe Airbus ont fait carton plein avec ce premier Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge. Les partenaires ont récolté  425 soumissions avec des projets relativement proches les uns des autres pour les gagnants mais avec quelques projets loufoques. Le cahier des charges soumis aux participants était relativement précis et la formule des 4 moteurs verticaux pour les phases de décollage/atterrissage et du moteur propulsif imposé, ce qui a conduit les candidats à adopter des formules assez proches.

 

Les trois projets distingués pour le prix Airbus sont :

  • Gagnant : le ZELATOR d’Alexey Medvedev,
    Deuxième prix : le Volans d’Harvest Zhang,
    Troisième prix : le Minerva de Dominik Felix Finger.

Le prix Cargo est allé à :

  • Gagnant : Le SkyPac de Finn Yonkers,
    Deuxième prix : Le Volans d’Harvest Zhang,
    Troisième prix : Le ZELATOR d’Alexey Medvedev.

Le prix de la communauté Local Motors :

  • Gagnant : Le Thunderbird de Frédéric Le Sciellour,
    Deuxième prix : SkyPac de Finn Yonkers,
    Troisième prix : Le Volans de Harvest Zhang.

Airbus va lancer un hackathon en septembre

Si pour Jay Rogers, co-fondateur de Local Motors, ce challenge est une vraie réussite et démontre à la fois l’intérêt du crowdsourcing sur de tels projets, mais aussi que la créativité de la communauté Local Motors va bien au-delà du seul secteur automobile. Tom Enders, PDG du groupe Airbus s’est dit impressionné par les projets présentés, soulignant l’ingéniosité l’innovation, l’imagination et la passion mise par les créateurs dans leurs projets. Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge - Thunderbird (5)« C’est exactement ce que nous attendions lorsque nous avons initié cette coopération avec Local Motors cette année. C’est une manière totalement différente de capter l’innovation et les idées de la nouvelle génération. » Tom Enders a ajouté : « Je suis optimiste sur le fait que certains de ces projets trouveront leur voie au seins des programmes industriels d’Airbus et représenteront un nouveau pas en avant dans l’ère des drones. »

Le communiqué officiel évoque enfin  le lancement de services commerciaux de la part d’Airbus qui pourrait reprendre et développer certains de ces concepts. L’avionneur européen évoque la tenue d’un hackathon en septembre, à Berlin, pour imaginer ces services du futur.

 

 

Les projets distingués lors de l’Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge :

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.