AirMule, the dronized “Jeep” finally conducted its first free flight

Tactical Robotics - AirMuleThe device resembles a large car without windows. Two small propellers keeled backwards betray the character “flying” from the AirMule. It is a military drone whose goal is to carry a load that can reach up to 500 kg and two wounded without the constraints of the helicopter. No need for a clear landing area, no need driver, the AirMule can deliver everywhere, even taken under enemy fire.

The cargo AirMule drone flies finally unfettered

helicopter

In addition to a footprint much more limited than that of a helicopter, the AirMule is able to arise under a wind that can reach up to 50 knots (92.6 km/h).

More than 10 years! It took more than 10 years that the AirMule finally take air without being impeded by a cable. The first trace of this weird contraption goes back to 2004. The Israeli Urban Aeronautics had this concept of device a vertical take-off able to arise in a street with an original mode of propulsion: two adjustable blowers located in the fuselage. This technical solution allows it to get a grip on the ground much lower than that of the rotor of a helicopter. The formula had already been tested in the 1950s by the Piasecki VZ – 8 Airgeep American but this time the AirMule happens driver.
If Urban Aeronautics and its subsidiary Tactical Robotics Ltd offers this drone on the civil (under the name Cormorant) and military market (AirMule), the latter which seems the most promising at the moment. The U.S. Army has used drones to resupply its troops in Afghanistan with the K-Max dronized helicopter.
airMuleDriven by a Turbomeca Arriel 2N of 985 hp turbine, the drone weighs 918 kg empty and 1.682 kg at full load. According to figures from its constructor, it will be capable of carrying 400 kg to 300 km. With 500 kg for 50 km, a fleet of 10 to 12 AirMule could refuel 3,000 soldiers, bringing the wounded to the return trip.

It is clear that there is a potential market for the AirMule, more than 10 years after the launch of the project and multiple vicissitudes, the drone is still far from entering into service.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source :AirMule successfully completed its first autonomous, untethered flight”,  Tactical Robotics press release, December 30, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

AirMule, la « Jeep » dronisée a enfin réalisé son premier vol libre

Tactical Robotics - AirMuleL’engin ressemble à une grosse voiture sans fenêtres. Deux petites hélices carénées à l’arrière trahissent le caractère « volant » de l’AirMule. Il s’agit d’un drone militaire dont l’objectif est de transporter une charge pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 500 kg ainsi que deux blessés sans les contraintes de l’hélicoptère. Nul besoin d’une aire d’atterrissage dégagée, nul besoin de pilote, l’AirMule peut livrer partout, même pris sous le feu ennemi.

Le drone cargo AirMule vole enfin sans entraves

helicopter

Outre une emprise au sol bien plus limitée que celle d’un hélicoptère, l’AirMule est capable de se poser sous un vent qui peut atteindre jusqu’à 50 noeuds (92,6 km/h).

Plus de 10 ans ! Il a fallu plus de 10 ans pour que l’AirMule prenne enfin l’air sans être entravé par un câble. La première trace de cet engin bizarre remonte à 2004. L’israélien Urban Aeronautics présentait alors ce concept d’appareil a décollage vertical capable de se poser dans une rue grâce à un mode de propulsion original : deux soufflantes orientables situées dans le fuselage. Cette solution technique lui permet d’avoir une emprise au sol bien plus faible que celle du rotor d’un hélicoptère. La formule avait déjà été testée dans les années 50 par l’américain Piasecki VZ-8 Airgeep mais cette fois l’AirMule se passe de pilote.
Si Urban Aeronautics et sa filiale Tactical Robotics Ltd propose ce drone sur le marché civil (sous le nom Cormorant) et militaire (l’AirMule), c’est ce dernier qui semble le plus porteur pour l’instant. L’armée américaine a déjà utilisé des drones pour ravitailler ses troupes en Afghanistan avec des hélicoptère K-Max dronisés.

airMuleAnimé d’une turbine Turbomeca Arriel 2N de 985 cv, le drone pèse 918 kg à vide et 1.682 kg à plein charge. Selon les chiffres de son constructeur, il sera capable de transporter 400 kg sur 300 km. En portant 500 kg sur 50 km, une flotte de 10 à 12 AirMule pourrait ravitailler 3.000 soldats, ramenant les blessés au voyage retour.

S’il est manifeste qu’il existe un marché potentiel pour l’AirMule, plus de 10 ans après le lancement du projet et de multiples vicissitudes, le drone est encore loin de pouvoir entrer en service.

Source :« AirMule successfully completed its first autonomous, untethered flight », Communiqué de presse Tactical Robotics, 30 décembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.