Amazon launches its “store” for 3D Printing

MixeeShapeways, i.materialise, and other Ponoko Sculpteo have to behave themselves. Amazon has opened a dedicated 3D printing shop. If functionally, this new section is far from equaling that offer pure player on the Web for several years, the world number 1 has often justified steamroller on the markets to which it is interested reputation. For its launch, the new ” store “already shows 285 models 3D printer for sale, 17 and 3D materials and 5.494 1.657 parts scanners. But in addition to this “classical” trade, Amazon is also expanding into the print on demand custom products.

The strength of Amazon strikes at the service of 3D printing

Amazon will he become a giant 3D printing? Everything leads us to think. The world’s No. 1 e-commerce is an essential reference for cultural products for high-tech products and finally, when the public will want to equip a 3D printer, it is natural that he will go on Amazon on her favorite find the best price for the printer coveted site.

Disponible uniquement sur Amazon USA, le store 3D Printing propose 200 objets à imprimer.

Disponible uniquement sur Amazon USA, le store 3D Printing propose 200 objets à imprimer.

Will he succeed in the market, quite different from the impression of objects on demand? It is another matter. The giant seems to test the market with a series of 3D object fairly standard in this area. Custom jewelry, decor and of course the inevitable cases for smartphones, gadgets figurines U.S. already has a substantial gallery 200 3D objects. And because Amazon has developed a number of partnerships with “traditional” actors 3D printing, a pure approach to such affiliation. Among the first Amazon partners for mixed figurines, 3DLT for gadgets and cases for mobile but also the French Sculpteo whose CEO and co-founder Clément Moreau is quoted in the press launch.

A true paradigm shift for retail, according to Amazon

For now, Amazon is the ambition to position itself as one of the first dealers 3D printed on the market based on “pure players” objects for which the B2C market remains to create . The danger for them will not be relegated as mere technical service because Amazon is addressed equally to the original creators of 3D objects to sell their works on its marketplace. Amazon will do when the market takes off? Petra Schindler-Carter, Director of Sales of the Amazon Marketplace, the launch of this store is the beginning of change model for retail. When this is the case, the U.S. does it build its own production, carry out the acquisition of one or more of its partners, or he will continue to work on this model of pure distributor, history will tell.

Translation : Google Translation

Sources :
“Amazon Customers Become Designers with New 3D Printed Products Store Offering Customizable Fashion Accessories, Toys, Home Décor and More”, Amazon Press Release, July 28, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Amazon inaugure son « store » d’impression 3D

MixeeLes Shapeways, i.Materialise, Ponoko et autre Sculpteo n’ont qu’à bien se tenir. Amazon vient d’ouvrir une boutique dédiée à l’impression 3D. Si, fonctionnellement, cette nouvelle rubrique est bien loin d’égaler ce que les pure player offrent sur le Web depuis plusieurs années, le numéro 1 mondial a une réputation souvent justifiée de rouleau compresseur sur les marchés auxquels il s’intéresse. Pour son lancement, ce nouveau « store » affiche déjà 285 modèles d’imprimantes 3D en vente, 17 scanners 3D ainsi que 5.494 matériaux et 1.657 pièces détachées. Mais outre ce commerce « classique », Amazon se lance aussi dans l’impression à la demande de produits personnalisés.

La force de frappe d’Amazon au service de l’impression 3D

Amazon va-t-il devenir un géant de l’impression 3D ? Tout porte à le penser. Le numéro 1 mondial du commerce électronique est une référence incontournable pour les produits culturels, pour les produits high-tech et finalement lorsque le grand public va vouloir s’équiper d’une imprimante 3D, c’est tout naturellement sur Amazon qu’il ira sur son site préféré pour trouver le meilleur prix pour l’imprimante convoitée.

Only available on Amazon U.S., 3D Printing store offers 200 items to print.

Only available on Amazon U.S., 3D Printing store offers 200 items to print.

Saura-t-il s’imposer sur le marché, assez différent, de l’impression d’objets à la demande ? C’est une autre affaire. Le géant semble vouloir tester le marché avec une série d’objet 3D assez classique dans ce domaine. Figurines personnalisées, bijoux, gadgets déco et bien entendu les incontournables coques pour smartphones, l’américain dispose déjà d’une galerie conséquente de 200 objets 3D. Et pour cause, Amazon a noué toute une série de partenariat avec des acteurs « traditionnels » de l’impression 3D, dans une pure approche de type affiliation. Parmi les premiers partenaires d’Amazon, Mixee pour les figurines, 3DLT pour les gadgets et coques pour mobiles mais aussi le français Sculpteo dont le PDG et co-fondateur Clément Moreau est cité dans le communiqué de lancement.

Un véritable changement de modèle pour le commerce de détail, selon Amazon

Pour l’heure, l’ambition d’Amazon est de se positionner comme l’un des premiers revendeurs d’objets imprimé en 3D sur le marché en s’appuyant sur les « pure players » pour qui le marché B2C reste encore à créer. Le danger pour eux sera de ne pas se voir relégués comme de simples prestataires techniques car Amazon s’adresse tout autant aux créateurs d’objets 3D originaux pour qu’ils commercialisent leurs œuvres sur sa marketplace. Que fera Amazon lorsque le marché décollera ? Pour Petra Schindler-Carter, Directeur des ventes de la Marketplace Amazon, le lancement de ce store constitue le début du changement de modèle pour le commerce de détail. Lorsque ce sera effectivement le cas, l’américain construira-t-il ses propres ateliers de production, réalisera l’acquisition d’un ou de plusieurs de ses partenaires, ou continuera-t-il à fonctionner sur ce modèle de pur distributeur, l’histoire nous le dira.
Sources :
« Amazon Customers Become Designers with New 3D Printed Products Store Offering Customizable Fashion Accessories, Toys, Home Décor and More », Communiqué de presse Amazon, 28 juillet 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.