Amazon invents the Siri of the smart home

Amazon-EchoThe CIA has dreamed, Amazon did. With Amazon Echo, the number 1 American e-commerce offers a small speaker to be placed in your living room, your kitchen. It can stream music, news, but it is especially a microphone constantly listening to the occupants of the House. Even need a Smartphone or a tablet to consult a Wikipedia or, of course, to place an order on Amazon.com.

Will Amazon open its Amazon Echo to the Smart Home standards ? Mystery…

It is a strange object connected we offer engineers Amazon Lab126. Even the “Early Beta” stage, this Amazon Echo does not differ in its design. As usual and as opposed to the Apple philosophy or Nest, Amazon offers a simple and effective product and not very plastic rendering quality. But Amazon Echo is not intended to be an ornament, but an object that is proving useful at home. His speech analysis software is able to search on the Internet, broadcasting a song from the Music Library Amazon, Spotify or iTunes, order a product on Amazon.com, but also a question open in natural language. Siri for a real home.

Minimal Electronics for Amazon Echo whose intelligence is in the cloud.

Minimal Electronics for Amazon Echo whose intelligence is in the cloud.

The object has mobile applications for iOS and Android remote management. The website dedicated to the Echo Amazon states that the intelligence of this object resides in the cloud and it solicits Amazon Web Services including adapt his vocabulary to his interlocutors. Therefore, the Echo Amazon will he “hackable” and he can control other connected home via IFTTT, such objects? Nothing is less certain.
For now, the Echo Amazon is pre-release, available only by invitation at a price of $ 199 ($ ​​99 for Amazon Prime members).

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Introducing Amazon Echo”, Communiqué Amazon, November 6, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Amazon invente le Siri de la maison intelligente

Amazon-EchoLa CIA en a rêvé, Amazon l’a fait. Avec Amazon Echo, le numéro 1 américain du E-Commerce propose une petite enceinte à placer dans votre salon, votre cuisine. Celle-ci peut diffuser de la musique, des news, mais c’est surtout un micro sans cesse à l’écoute des occupants de la maison. Même plus besoin d’un smartphone ou d’une tablette pour consulter une fiche Wikipedia ou, bien évidemment, passer une commande sur Amazon.com.

Quelle sera l’ouverture d’Amazon Echo aux standards Smart Home, mystère…

C’est un bien étrange objet connecté que nous propose les ingénieurs du Lab126 d’Amazon. Encore au stade « Early Beta », cet Amazon Echo ne se distingue pas par son design. Comme à son habitude et à l’opposé de la philosophie d’Apple ou de Nest, Amazon propose un produit simple et efficace et le rendu plastique pas très qualitatif. Mais l’Amazon Echo n’a pas vocation à être un ornement, mais un objet qui se veut utile à la maison. Son logiciel d’analyse de la parole est capable de lancer une recherche sur Internet, diffuser un morceau de musique provenant de l’Amazon Music Library, de Spotify ou d’iTunes, commander un produit sur Amazon.com, mais aussi poser une question ouverte en langage naturel. Un vrai Siri pour la maison.

Electronique minimale pour l'Amazon Echo dont l'intelligence est dans le Cloud.

Electronique minimale pour l’Amazon Echo dont l’intelligence est dans le Cloud.

L’objet dispose d’applications mobiles iOS et Android pour le gérer à distance. Le site dédié à l’Amazon Echo précise que l’intelligence de cet objet réside dans le Cloud et qu’il sollicite les Web Services d’Amazon pour notamment adapter son vocabulaire à ses interlocuteurs. De ce fait, l’Amazon Echo sera-t-il « hackable » et pourra-t-il piloter d’autres objets connectés de la maison via IFTTT, par exemple ? Rien n’est moins sûr.

Pour l’heure, l’Amazon Echo est en pré-lancement, disponible uniquement que sur invitation au prix de 199$ (99$ pour les membres Amazon Prime).

Source : « Introducing Amazon Echo », Communiqué Amazon, 6 novembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.