25 robots qualified for the Amazon Picking Challenge

Amazon-Picking-ChallengeThe event will take place in Seattle on the margins of the major conference organised by the IEEE ICRA 2015 robotics. A robotics challenge organized by Amazon will see 25 robots to compete at an event very directly related to the activity of the e-commerce giant. These robots will have to demonstrate their ability and especially the effectiveness of their algorithms to seize products in a storage cabinet. A cabinet that the Kiva robots tend to move in Amazon warehouses a costly activity in labor for the merchant who would be a good eye as a robot is better than its warehouse.

The “picking”, a process which has not yet been robotic by Amazon

After Hong Kong, ICRA will be held from 26 to 30 may 2015 in Seattle, Amazon homeland. The opportunity was too good for the e-tailer who took the opportunity to launch this new robotics challenge. Pragmatic in his usual, Jeff Bezos created a challenge very directly useful for its business since the process that it proposes to robotize in order has been used in its warehouses where thousands of Kiva robots are already deployed.

What the robot should be able to identify.

Les articles que le robot devra être capable d’identifier.What the robot should be able to identify.

For his challenge, Amazon gave candidates the 3D file of his cupboard of standard item and a list of article that the robot must be able to recognize, extract from his locker and place in a pan. Order not to unduly complicate the task of robots candidates for the title, the size and shape of objects is not too heterogeneous. Book, pen, package of Oreo box, toy dog, the robot should be able to discriminate these blogs and grab. Each competitor may compete in Seattle with a robot built by her care or with the 5 proposed models that will be placed at their disposal at the challenge. Amazon chose 5 collaborative robots: the Baxter to Rethink Robotics, this good old PR2 of Clearpath, UR5 of Universal Robots, Yaskawa Motoman friendly and finally a Fanuc robot arm.

On 34 registered teams, 25 won their ticket to Seattle

One of the qualitication posted by Dataspeed videos.

One of the qualitication posted by Dataspeed videos.

Amazon will distribute $26,000 in prizes, including $20,000 for the winner. To date, 25 teams have been selected to play the challenge in Seattle. Major universities are there: MIT, Berkeley, Georgia Tech, the University of Texas, as well as several foreign competitors, including the University of Tokyo, Berlin, etc. On the 34 preinscrites, 25 received their airfare to Seattle after having posted a video demonstrating their ability to compete. No trace of the Google teams who have not registered, just as they had left the DARPA challenge. 28 will know us what will be the winning teams and Jezz Bezos will know if picking in its warehouses are robotisables and what productivity gains can be expected.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Amazon Picking ChallengeChallenge Updates & Announcements”

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 robots qualifiés pour l’Amazon Picking Challenge

Amazon-Picking-ChallengeL’événement va avoir lieu à Seattle en marge de la grande conférence robotique ICRA 2015 organisée par l’IEEE. Un challenge robotique organisé par Amazon va voir 25 robots s’affronter sur une épreuve très directement liée à l’activité du géant du E-Commerce. Ces robots vont devoir démontrer leur habileté et surtout l’efficacité de leurs algorithmes pour se saisir de produits dans une armoire de stockage. Une armoire que les robots Kiva ont l’habitude de déplacer dans les entrepôts d’Amazon Un activité fort coûteuse en main d’oeuvre pour le marchand qui verrait d’un bon oeil qu’un robot fasse mieux que ses magasiniers.

Le « picking », un process qui n’a pas encore été robotisé par Amazon

Après Hong-Kong, l’ICRA se tiendra du 26 au 30 mai 2015 à Seattle, la patrie d’Amazon. L’occasion était trop belle pour le cybermarchand qui en a profité pour lancer ce nouveau challenge robotique. Pragmatique comme à son habitude, Jeff Bezos a créé un défi très directement utile pour son business puisque le process que celui-ci se propose de robotiser est en usage dans ses entrepôts où sont déjà déployés ses milliers de robots Kiva.

Les articles que le robots devra être capable d'identifier.

Les articles que le robot devra être capable d’identifier.

Pour  son challenge, Amazon a donné aux candidats le fichier 3D de son armoire de rangement d’article standard ainsi qu’une liste d’article que le robot doit être capable de reconnaître, extraire de son casier puis placer dans un bac. Pour ne pas trop compliquer la tâche des robots candidats au titre, la taille et la forme des objets n’est pas trop hétérogène. Livre, boite de crayon, paquet d’Oreo, jouet pour chien, le robot devra être capable de discriminer ces articles et s’en saisir. Chaque concurrent pourra venir concourir à Seattle avec un robot construit par ses soins ou bien avec les 5 modèles proposés qui seront mis à leur disposition lors du challenge. Amazon a choisi 5 robots collaboratifs : Le Baxter de Rethink Robotics, ce bon vieux PR2 de Clearpath, le UR5 d’Universal Robots, le sympathique Motoman de Yaskawa et enfin un bras robot Fanuc.

Sur 34 équipes inscrites, 25 ont décroché leur billet pour Seattle

L'une des vidéos de qualitication postée par Dataspeed.

L’une des vidéos de qualitication postée par Dataspeed.

Amazon va distribuer 26.000 $ de prix, dont 20.000 $ pour le gagnant. A ce jour, 25 équipes ont été sélectionnées pour venir disputer le challenge à Seattle. Les grandes universités sont là : le MIT, Berkeley, Georgia Tech, l’Université du Texas, ainsi que plusieurs concurrents étrangers, dont l’Université de Tokyo, de Berlin, etc. Sur les 34 préinscrites, 25 ont reçu leurs billets d’avions pour Seattle après avoir posté une vidéo prouvant leur capacité à concourir. Aucune trace des équipes de Google qui ne se sont pas inscrites, tout comme elles avaient quitté le challenge de la DARPA. Le 28 mai nous sauront quelles seront les équipes gagnantes et Jezz Bezos saura si les postes de picking dans ses entrepôts sont robotisables et quels gains de productivité il peut en attendre.

Source : « Amazon Picking ChallengeChallenge Updates & Announcements »

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.