Apple Watch, chronic of an announced success…

Apple WatchWho would dare think that the Apple Watch could be a flop. The power of the brand is such, its installed drop so strong and true that we dare to imagine that the highly anticipated launch of connected watch is a failure. Apple is given time to succeed and to let Samsung, Sony, LG and Motorola clear the market. Apple would have already ordered a first batch of 5 to 6 million watches to its manufacturers and analysts seem certain that the wearables market will explode with the spark of Apple. Tim Cook on a wide success of Apple Watch, yet all the signals are not green.

Analysts see Apple Watch winner

What a contrast between the market figures 2014 wearables published by Canalys and forecasts from CCS Insight. While Canalys has an estimated 4.6 million wearables sold in 2014, all categories, CCS Insight believes that deliveries of wearables will reach 75 million units in 2015, an increase of 158% in one year only (compared to its own estimates). According to their analysts, the market will take off and will reach 350 million unit on the horizon 2018. The 75 million of wearables that could be sold in 2015, the quarter could bear the mark to Apple.
Apple WatchTwenty million of Apple Watch sold from the year of launch, an estimate in line with those of J.P.Morgan. Rather daring estimates so that nobody could actually test the watch and that no one knows if this connected watch will keep its promises. Their estimates are based mainly on the fact that a more or less high share of iPhone owners will naturally go into their Apple Store buy the watch. In any case of estimates that are ignored rather timid watches Android sales. Sony, Samsung, LG suffered plasters with watches connected to not always convincing efficacy and especially a failed autonomy.
Android second Wear watches, or even third-generation are now on the market, but sales of watches under Android Wear have not exceeded 720.000 parts in 2014. Apple widen the gap with at the outset? The constructor will be really better in terms of ergonomics, it is very likely, but the hardware will it at the height? In terms of sensors, not in terms of autonomy? Apple will have to prove its worth. At Apple, we put on the success. The Wall Street Journal reported that Apple would have launched manufacturing over 5 million copies. The launch of the Apple Watch is scheduled for the month of April, then we’ll know if Tim Cook may win his bet.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source :

“Apple Orders More Than 5 Million Watches for Initial Run”, The Wall Street Journal, February 17, 2015

“Wearables Market: 2015 is Year That Will Make or Break the Smartwatch”, Communiqué de presse CSS Insight, February 17, 2015

“The Apple Watch Doesn’t Have to Do Anything Special to Be Huge”, Wired, February 17, 2015

“J.P. Morgan Forecasts 26 Million Units of Apple Watch will be Sold in 2015 vs. 720,000 Android Units Sold in 2014”, PatentlyApple, February 11, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Apple Watch, chronique d’un succès annoncé…

Apple WatchQui oserait penser que l’Apple Watch puisse être un flop. La puissance de la marque est telle, sa baisse installée tellement forte et fidèle qu’on ose imaginer que le lancement très attendu de la montre connectée soit un échec. Apple s’est donné le temps de réussir et à laissé Samsung, Sony, LG et Motorola défricher le marché. Apple aurait déjà commandé un premier batch de 5 à 6 millions de montres à ses fabricants et les analystes semblent certains que le marché des wearables va exploser grâce à l’étincelle d’Apple. Tim Cook mise sur un large succès de l’Apple Watch, pourtant tous les signaux ne sont pas au vert.

Les analystes donnent l’Apple Watch gagnante

Quel contraste entre les chiffres du marché 2014 des wearables publiés par Canalys et les prévisions de CCS Insight. Alors que Canalys a estimé à 4,6 million le nombre de wearables vendus en 2014, toutes catégories confondues, CCS Insight estime que les livraisons de wearables atteindront 75 millions d’unités en 2015, soit une progression de 158% en un an seulement (par rapport à ses propres estimations). Selon leurs analystes, le marché va décoller et atteindra 350 millions d’unité à l’horizon 2018. Sur les 75 millions de wearables qui pourraient être vendus en 2015, le quart pourrait porter la marque à la pomme.

Apple WatchUne vingtaine de millions d’Apple Watch vendues dès l’année de lancement, une estimation en ligne avec celles de J.P.Morgan. Des estimations plutôt osées alors que personne n’a réellement pu tester la montre et que nul ne sait si cette montre connectée va tenir ses promesses. Leurs estimations se basent essentiellement sur le fait qu’une part plus ou moins élevée de possesseurs d’iPhone iront naturellement dans leur Apple Store acheter la montre. En tout cas des estimations qui ne tiennent pas compte des ventes plutôt timides des montres Android. Sony, Samsung, LG ont essuyé les plâtres avec des montres connectées à l’utilité pas toujours convaincante et surtout une autonomie défaillante.

Les montres Android Wear de deuxième, voire de troisième génération sont aujourd’hui sur le marché mais les ventes de montres sous Android Wear n’ont pas dépassées 720.000 pièces en 2014. Apple creusera-t-il l’écart d’emblée ? Le constructeur fera-t-il vraiment mieux en termes d’ergonomie, c’est très probable, mais le hardware sera-t-il à la hauteur ? En termes de capteurs, non, en termes d’autonomie ? Apple va devoir faire ses preuves. Chez Apple, on mise sur le succès. Le Wall Street Journal rapporte qu’Apple aurait lancé la fabrication de plus de 5 millions d’exemplaires. Le lancement de l’Apple Watch est prévu pour le mois d’avril, alors on saura si Tim Cook peut gagner son pari.

Source :

« Apple Orders More Than 5 Million Watches for Initial Run », The Wall Street Journal, 17 février 2015

« Wearables Market: 2015 is Year That Will Make or Break the Smartwatch », Communiqué de presse CSS Insight, 17 février 2015

« The Apple Watch Doesn’t Have to Do Anything Special to Be Huge », Wired, 17 février 2015

« J.P. Morgan Forecasts 26 Million Units of Apple Watch will be Sold in 2015 vs. 720,000 Android Units Sold in 2014 », PatentlyApple, 11 février 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.