No landing system for Ariane 6 … for now

Ariane-6Airbus saffron Launchers has just unveiled a new video of what will be the future European launcher, Ariane 6. The animation shows the final configuration of what will be the European rocket on its maiden flight, scheduled in 2020. If the new launcher has targets for lowering cost of launches of the order of 40 to 50%, Europeans have not chosen to equip their Launcher’s ability to return to land on Earth unlike what is know already do Blue Origin and especially his rival SpaceX. A strategic error for Arianespace?

Ariane 6 a conventional 3 stages rocket, built in 2 versions

It must fly as in 2020 if all goes well, and yet that it seems traditional this Ariane 6. It will be built in version
5 tons with 2 boosters or 10 tons with 4 boosters. While SpaceX learns gradually to return to Earth its rocket Falcon 9, Blue Origin has already reached to revive a rocket that has already left in space, consortium Airbus saffron Launchers has chosen to renounce this capability as a first step. Yet the cost reduction objective set by Arianespace is huge as it will take divide the cost by 2 term. The industrial hope to achieve by standardization of the elements of the rocket and new industrial processes.

No system of landing on the first version of Ariane 6 and yet Airbus defence & Space is working on the concept for several years now with the Adeline concept. It is more innovative even than Americans do because rather than using the Launcher engine to brake the descent on Earth of the first floor, European industry prefers to provide it with small wings and a pair of electric propellers to ensure a semi-plane flight descent. European engineers consider this as more effective than the one chosen by SpaceX. The device has the advantage of preserving the rocket engine and its potential for operating in the downhill. In addition, the rocket failed to embark at takeoff additional fuel which will be required at the time of the restart of the engine during the descent.
Among the disadvantages of Adeline, is the additional weight of the wings, electric motors and their batteries. In addition, the solution advocated by Airbus D & S retrieves only the engine compartment and not the full first floor.

Airbus D&S prepares its response to SpaceX, but not before 2022

Ariane 6 here in the A64 version will be able to place more than 10 tonnes into geostationary orbit, but not before 2020.

Ariane 6 here in the A64 version will be able to place more than 10 tonnes into geostationary orbit, but not before 2020.

Interviewed at the le Bourget show, Benoit Isaac, Adeline program leader at Airbus D&S stressed that the first Ariane 6 will not benefit of this system. He hopes nevertheless that wings will grow to Ariane 6 during one of the first “steps” of the rocket so in 2022, 2024 or 2025 according to the progress of research of Airbus D & S and probably commercial pressure than SpaceX will Arianespace on its launch price.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Le look définitif d’Ariane 6”, Air&Cosmos, January 28, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Ariane 6 n’aura pas de système d’atterrissage… pour l’instant

Ariane-6Airbus Safran Launchers vient de dévoiler une nouvelle vidéo de ce que sera le futur lanceur européen, Ariane 6. L’animation présente la configuration définitive de ce que sera la fusée européenne lors de son premier vol, prévu en 2020. Si le nouveau lanceur a des objectifs de baisse de coût des lancements de l’ordre de 40 à 50%, les européens n’ont pas choisi d’équiper leur lanceur de la capacité de revenir se poser sur terre contrairement à ce que se savent déjà faire Blue Origin et surtout son rival SpaceX. Une erreur stratégique pour Arianespace ?

Ariane 6, une fusée conventionnelle à 3 étages, construite en 2 versions

Elle ne doit voler qu’en 2020 si tout va bien et pourtant qu’elle semble traditionnelle cette Ariane 6. Celle-ci sera construite en version
5 tonnes avec 2 boosters ou 10 tonnes avec 4 boosters. Alors que SpaceX apprend petit à petit à faire revenir sur terre sa fusée Falcon 9, que Blue Origin est déjà parvenu à relancer une fusée qui est déjà parti dans l’espace, le consortium Airbus Safran Launchers a choisi de renoncer à cette capacité dans un premier temps. Pourtant l’objectif de réduction des coûts fixé par Arianespace est énorme puisqu’il faudra diviser les coût par 2 à terme. Les industriel espèrent y parvenir par la standardisation des éléments de la fusée et de nouveaux processus industriels.

Pas de système d’atterrissage prévu sur la première version d’Ariane 6 et pourtant Airbus Defense & Space travaille sur le concept depuis plusieurs années déjà avec le concept Adeline. Celui-ci est plus innovant encore que ce que les américains font puisque plutôt que d’utiliser le moteur du lanceur pour freiner la descente sur terre du première étage, l’industriel européen préfère le doter de petites ailes et d’une paire d’hélices électriques pour assurer une descente en vol semi-plané. Les ingénieurs européens estiment cette solution comme plus efficace que celle choisie par SpaceX. Le dispositif présente l’avantage de préserver le moteur de la fusée et son potentiel de fonctionnement lors de la descente. De plus, la fusée n’a pas à embarquer au décollage les ergols supplémentaires qui lui seront nécessaires au moment du rallumage du moteur pendant la descente.
Parmi les inconvénients d’Adeline, c’est le poids supplémentaire des ailes, des moteurs électriques et de leurs batteries. En outre, la solution défendue par Airbus D&S se récupère que le compartiment moteur et non pas le premier étage complet.

Airbus D&S prépare sa réponse à SpaceX, mais pas avant 2022

Ariane 6 ici dans sa version A64 pourra placer plus de 10 tonnes en orbite géostationnaire, mais pas avant 2020.

Ariane 6 ici dans sa version A64 pourra placer plus de 10 tonnes en orbite géostationnaire, mais pas avant 2020.

Interrogé lors du salon du Bourget, Benoit Isaac, chef du programme Adeline a souligné que la première Ariane 6 ne bénéficiera pas de ses travaux. Il espère néanmoins que des ailes pousseront à Ariane 6 lors de l’un des premiers « incréments » de la fusée donc en 2022, 2024 ou 2025 selon l’avancement des recherche d’Airbus D&S et sans doute la pression commerciale que SpaceX mettra à Arianespace sur ses prix de lancement.

Source : « Le look définitif d’Ariane 6 », Air&Cosmos, 28 janvier 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.