Can ARM get its revenge on x86 servers?

WaferProcessors smartphone to run Internet servers, or even supercomputers, is perhaps the future.
After a disappointing first supercomputer hybrid ARM/GPU of BSC (Barcelona Supercomputing Center) and the failure of Calxeda to propose a processor ARM for servers, 64-bit chips arrive and, with a fineness of engraving of 14 nm and 10 nm, they might well dethrone x 86 in their square meadows.

Qualcomm, the mobile giant, wants to shake up Intel

Two key announcements signed this week the Act of birth of the ARM architecture on Enterprise servers. On the one hand, Qualcomm has announced his intention to challenge Intel and AMD servers with an ARM 64-bit chip market. The American giant of the components for mobile is aiming for growth of 8-10% per year and achieved a turnover of 15 billion dollars in 2020, including through this new market for him, business.

Unimaginable until today, a Cray Supercomputer will perhaps one day hosted by ARM processor.

Unimaginable until today, a Cray Supercomputer will perhaps one day hosted by ARM processor.

Shortly before this announcement, it is the legendary manufacturer of supercomputers Cray who announced his desire to explore new processor architectures. The official release including evokes the ThunderX of Cavium, a smart chip that counts not less than 48 hearts 64-bit. Simple determination of challenger Intel at the time where AMD is more than 3% of the market, the question arises. HP including attempted ARM adventure with his Moonshot system. Initially, this rack that can ship up to 48 micro-serveurs would use the chip ARM 64-bit Caldexa. The bankruptcy of the latter forced HP to fall back on an Intel Atom chip before, eventually, find a replacement ARM, the X – Gene of Applied Micro chip. The domination of Intel on the servers through its chips Xeon coming to an end? It is still far, but the lines move finally.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Qualcomm Plans to Sell Chips for Servers”, The Wall Street Journal, November 19, 2014

“Cray to Explore Alternative Processor Technologies for Supercomputing”, Communiqué Cray, November 17, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

ARM peut-il prendre sa revanche sur les serveurs x86 ?

WaferDes processeurs de smartphone pour faire fonctionner des serveurs Internet, voire même des supercalculateurs, c’est peut-être bien l’avenir.

Après des début décevants des premiers supercalculateur hybrides ARM/GPU du BSC (Barcelona Supercomputing Center) et l’échec de Calxeda à proposer des processeurs ARM pour serveurs, les puces 64 bits arrivent et, avec une finesse de gravure de 14 nm puis 10 nm, elles pourraient bien détrôner les x86 dans leur prés carré.

Qualcomm, le géant du mobile, veut bousculer Intel

Deux annonces clés ont signé cette semaine l’acte de naissance de l’architecture ARM sur les serveurs d’entreprise. D’une part, Qualcomm a annoncé sa volonté de défier Intel et AMD sur le marché des serveurs avec une puce ARM 64 bits. Le géant américain des composants pour mobiles vise une croissance de 8 à 10% par an et atteindre un chiffre d’affaires de 15 milliards de dollars en 2020, notamment grâce à ce marché nouveau pour lui, les entreprises.

Inimaginable jusqu'à aujourd'hui, un supercalculateur Cray  sera peut-être un jour animé par des processeur ARM.

Inimaginable jusqu’à aujourd’hui, un supercalculateur Cray sera peut-être un jour animé par des processeur ARM.

Peu avant cette annonce, c’est le légendaire constructeur de supercalculateurs Cray qui annonçait sa volonté d’explorer de nouvelles architectures de processeurs. Le communiqué officiel évoque notamment la puce ThunderX de Cavium, une puce qui compte pas moins de 48 coeurs 64 bits. Simple volonté de challenger Intel au moment où AMD ne représente plus que 3% du marché, la question se pose. HP a notamment tenté l’aventure ARM avec son système Moonshot. Initialement, ce rack pouvant embarquer jusqu’à 48 micro-serveurs devait utiliser la puce ARM 64 bits de Caldexa. La faillite de ce dernier a contraint HP à se rabattre sur une puce Intel Atom avant, finalement, de trouver une puce ARM de remplacement, le X-Gene d’Applied Micro. La domination d’Intel sur les serveurs grâce à ses puces Xeon touche-t-elle à sa fin ? On en est encore loin, mais les lignes bougent enfin.

Sources :

« Qualcomm Plans to Sell Chips for Servers », The Wall Street Journal, 19 novembre 2014

« Cray to Explore Alternative Processor Technologies for Supercomputing », Communiqué Cray, 17 novembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.