The US military flies a swarm of more than 100 drones

U.S. Department of defense has released images of a flight of drones in October 2016. At China Lake, the famous area 51, this test was to drop by 3 fighter bombers F/A-18 Super Hornet of a swarm of 103 type drones Perdix. It is thus more than a hundred of drones who responded to the orders of a controller who took control individually, then collectively. The goal is to conduct a recognition on a geographical area of a few km2. Officially, technology implementation during this experimentation will allow the deployment of swarms that can reach up to 1,000 devices.

Perdix, a mini-UAV capable of acting collectively

with 16.5 cm long, 30 cm wingspan drone Perdix flies at a speed of the order of 75 to 110 km/h for at least 20 minutes. This drone was designed by AeroAstro MIT’s Department in 2013 and developed by the MIT Lincoln Laboratory until today in order to work in swarm. Each drone can receive his orders from flights of a controller, but also fly alongside the other drones of the swarm. Peculiarity of the drone, it is foldable and it was designed to be dumped in large numbers since a container carried by a hunter. 670 of these drones flew far and 103 drones dropped above area 51 are the sixth generation.
These were dropped by the F/A-18 3 at the speed of Mach 0.6 and resisted the temperature of-10 ° met at dumping altitude. They then joined the preset monitoring point and then follow the instructions. The first roll was held in September 2014 by an F-16. Then 90 missions had been conducted in September 2015 in Alaska, including the first drop of swarm, with 20 drones dropped. With this sixth generation, the three hunters were able to demonstrate in front of cameras CBS the status of the project while the 7th generation is already looming in the laboratories of MIT.

Source: “Department of Defense Announces Successful Micro-UAV Demonstration”, press release of the Department of Defense, January 9, 2017

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

L’armée américaine fait voler un essaim de plus de 100 drones

Le département de la défense américain vient de diffuser les images d’un vol de drones réalisé en octobre 2016. Réalisé à China Lake, la célèbre Zone 51, ce test a consisté au largage par 3 chasseurs bombardiers F/A-18 Super Hornet d’un essaim de 103 drones de type Perdix. Ce sont ainsi plus d’une centaine de drones qui ont répondu aux ordres d’un contrôleur qui en a pris le contrôle individuellement, puis collectivement. L’objectif est de mener une reconnaissance sur une zone géographique de quelques km2. Officiellement, la technologie mise en oeuvre lors de cette expérimentation permettra le déploiement d’essaims pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 1.000 appareils.

Perdix, un mini-drone capable d’agir collectivement

Avec 16,5 cm de longueur, une envergure de 30 cm le drone Perdix vole a une vitesse de l’ordre de 75 à 110 km/h pendant au moins 20 minutes. Ce drone a été conçu par le département AeroAstro du MIT en 2013 et développé par le MIT Lincoln Laboratory jusqu’à aujourd’hui dans le but de fonctionner en essaim. Chaque drone peut recevoir ses ordres de vols d’un contrôleur, mais aussi voler de concert avec les autres drones de l’essaim. Particularité du drone, celui-ci est pliable et il a été conçu afin d’être largué en grand nombre depuis un container porté par un chasseur. 670 de ces drones ont volé à ce jour et les 103 drones largués au-dessus de la Zone 51 sont de la sixième génération.
Ceux-ci ont été largués par les 3 F/A-18 à la vitesse de Mach 0,6 et ont résisté à la température de -10° rencontrée à l’altitude de largage. Ils ont ensuite rejoint le point de surveillance préprogrammé puis suivi les instructions. Le premier lancé avait eu lieu en septembre 2014, par un F-16. Ensuite 90 missions avait été menées en septembre 2015 en Alaska, dont le premier largage d’essaim, avec 20 drones largués. Avec cette sixième génération, les trois chasseurs ont pu démontrer devant les cameras de CBS l’état d’avancement du projet alors que la 7ième génération se profile déjà dans les laboratoires du MIT.

Source : « Department of Defense Announces Successful Micro-Drone Demonstration », Communiqué de presse du Département de la Défense, 9 janvier 2017

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.