The Audi Lunar Quattro could ride on the Moon as early as 2017

audi-lunar-quattroThe publicity of the week is undoubtedly to credit Audi. Far from the “dieselgate”, Volkswagen’s subsidiary CSP ++ communicates on a brand new model of the Audi Quattro, an all-terrain model since it is designed to face the lunar tracks. The carmaker is sponsoring the German “Part-Time Scientists” team, which participates in Google Lunar XPRIZE, a challenge with $ 30 million in endowments. 5 teams are still in the race to the Moon and the Audi Lunar Quattro may well be the first private rover to put its wheels on the lunar surface.

A robot on the trail of the Apollo 17 lunar jeep

audi-lunar-quattro-2It was in 2007 that the Google Lunar XPRIZE was launched and about fifteen teams committed to the technical challenge posed by Google. If several prizes have been awarded at different stages of the competition, the ultimate goal and land a robot on the moon, then roll it at least 500 m on the lunar ground. A distance that will allow the robot to go to the landing site of the famous Apollo 17 mission and find the lunar jeep left by the American astronauts in 1972.
This will send high-resolution images to the Earth. 16 teams entered the competition, with American, European, Japanese and Malaysian teams. These teams are essentially made up of researchers, academics and few industrialists involved in this space competition. Audi has chosen to sponsor “Part-Time Scientists”, a team of 70 members, 35 of which are based in Germany. Financial support that allows the manufacturer to affix his logo to the robot created by these part-time scientists.

audi-lunar-quattro-on-the-moonThe Lunar Quattro was unveiled at the beginning of the year and the manufacturer is now testing his robot to check that it will withstand the extreme conditions of a lunar stay. To realize its rover, the engineers chose titanium and aluminum to lighten the robot to the maximum. In addition, this one was realized in 3D printing. The Top Gear website points out that a change in the design of the wheels, initially intended to improve the stability of the robot, reduced their weight by 8 kg.

The German team has already negotiated with SpaceX to board its robot on a Falcon 9 rocket. If the mission ends in 2017, as announced, it will be the first private mission to reach the Moon and, incidentally, the first Audi to ride on the lunar ground.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Audi is going into space in 2017”, Top Gear, December 1st, 2015
“German X Prize team announces launch contract”, Space News, November 29, 2016
“Audi AG supports part time scientists”, Google Lunar XPRIZE release, June 30, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, Impression 3D, Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’Audi Lunar Quattro pourrait rouler sur la Lune dès 2017

audi-lunar-quattroLe coup de pub de la semaine est sans nul doute à mettre au crédit d’Audi. Bien loin du « dieselgate », la filiale CSP++ de Volkswagen communique sur un tout nouveau modèle d’Audi Quattro, un modèle tout terrain puisqu’il est conçu pour affronter les pistes lunaires. Le constructeur automobile sponsorise en effet l’équipe allemande « Part-Time Scientists » qui participe au Google Lunar XPRIZE. Ce challenge, doté de 30 millions de dollars de dotations, vise rien moins que d’envoyer des robots sur la Lune. 5 équipes sont encore dans la course à la Lune et l’Audi Lunar Quattro pourrait bien être le premier « rover » privé à poser ses roues sur la surface lunaire.

Un robot sur les traces de la jeep lunaire d’Apollo 17

audi-lunar-quattro-2C’est en 2007 que le Google Lunar XPRIZE a été lancé et une quinzaine d’équipes se sont engagé dans le défi technique posé par Google. Si plusieurs prix ont été attribués aux différentes étapes de la compétition, le but ultime et de faire atterrir un robot sur la Lune, puis le faire rouler au moins 500 m sur le sol lunaire. Une distance qui devra permettre au robot de se rendre sur le site d’atterrissage de la célèbre mission Apollo 17 et retrouver la jeep lunaire laissée sur place par les astronautes américains, en 1972.
Celui-ci devra envoyer des images haute-résolution vers la terre. 16 équipes se sont engagées dans la compétition, avec des équipes américaines, européennes, japonaises, malaisiennes. Ces équipes sont essentiellement constituées de chercheurs, d’universitaires et peu d’industriels se sont impliqués dans cette compétition spatiale. Audi a fait le choix de sponsoriser « Part-Time Scientists », une équipe composée de 70 membres dont 35 sont basés en Allemagne. Un soutien financier qui permet au constructeur d’apposer son logo sur le robot créés par ces scientifiques à temps partiel.

audi-lunar-quattro-on-the-moonLe Lunar Quattro a été dévoilé en début d’année et le constructeur teste désormais son robot afin  de vérifier que celui résistera bien aux conditions extrêmes d’un séjour lunaire. Pour réaliser son rover, les ingénieurs ont choisi le titane et l’aluminium pour alléger au maximum le robot. De plus, celui-ci a été réalisé en impression 3D. Le site Top Gear souligne qu’une modification du design des roues, initialement destinée à améliorer la stabilité du robot, a permis de réduire leur poids de 8 kg.

L’équipe allemande aurait déjà négocié avec SpaceX pour embarquer son robot sur une fusée Falcon 9. Si la mission aboutit en 2017, comme annoncé, ce sera la première mission privée à atteindre la Lune et, accessoirement, la première Audi a rouler sur le sol lunaire.

Sources :

« Audi is going into space in 2017 », Top Gear, 1er décember 2015
« German X Prize team announces launch contract », Space News, 29 novembre 2016
« Audi AG supports part time scientists », Communiqué Google Lunar XPRIZE, 30 juin 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Impression 3D, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.