Audi chooses nVidia’s K1 for the brain of his autonomous car

NVidia-Tegra-K1Taking advantage of the Cebit 2015, German Audi gave some details about zFAS, which will be the brains of the autonomous Audi futures.
This calculator and its imposing cooling device were exposed on the Audi stand. At the heart of this calculator, the 192 cores chip of nVidia, Tegra K1, but also the Israeli Mobileye EyeQ3 image processing chip. This is Delphi, which has been responsible for the series production of the zFAS calculator.

192 calculation cores are the brains of the autonomous car Audi

If it is a technology company that will benefit from the development of the autonomous car, it is probably the Israeli MobilEye. Really a startup, this company develops algorithms for analysis of images and the chips operated by automotive suppliers. The company has already managed to lift 400 M$, a record for an Israeli company. These chips should be ubiquitous in autonomous cars of the future. A few weeks ago, Valeo signed an agreement with him to ship its chips in its offering of robotization Drive4U.

zFAS, the brain of future autonomous Audi cars.

zFAS, the brain of future autonomous Audi cars.

At Cebit, was Audi who confided having incorporated the MobilEye EyeQ3 processor in the design of its zFAS calculator. It is this computer that will be embedded in the autonomous Audi future. The MobilEye chip will ensure part analysis of image, while it is a nVidia microprocessor that will drive the car. Audi chose the Tegra K1, a chip 192 cores that nVidia marketing has described as a supercomputer on a chip at its launch in 2014. It is probably at this time that Audi has frozen its zFAS motherboard design, because since then, nVidia has launched the X 1, a 256 cores version of the K1.

Delphi won the contract for the production of the zFAS calculator

The K1 offers a CPU quad-core ARM Cortex-A15 “r3″ 2.3 GHz, but mostly 192 cores nVidia Cuda. nVidia Announces 326 GFlops power and addressable memory that can go up to 8 GB. A power that will be used by Audi to merge multiple sensors that are required to roll a car on an autonomous basis. Sensors provided by Bosch, Continental, Valeo and Delphi, as stated in the press release.

The Prologue Audi who realized his demonstrations of autonomous conduct during these 2015 of Las Vegas.

The Prologue Audi who realized his demonstrations of autonomous conduct during these 2015 of Las Vegas.

Among the suppliers selected by Audi to its program «Audi piloted driving», terminology House for an autonomous car project started many years ago. In 2010, Audi launched as Audi TTS to the onslaught of the Pike Peaks rise, while in October 2014, the autonomous Audi RS7 brought down the chronos at the Hockenheim circuit, while Audi has short-changed the Prologue in the streets of Las Vegas at the consumer electronics show, the ETUC, in January 2015. A calculator zFAS precisely equipped car. The Delphi supplier was designated by Audi to mass-produce this onboard computer.
Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Audi mastermind for piloted driving: the central driver assistance controller “, Audi press release, March 31, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Développement and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Audi choisit le Tegra K1 de nVidia pour le cerveau de sa voiture autonome

NVidia-Tegra-K1Profitant du Cebit 2015, l’allemand Audi a livré quelques détails sur zFAS, le calculateur qui sera le cerveau des futures Audi autonomes.

Ce calculateur et son imposant dispositif de refroidissement étaient exposé sur le stand Audi. Au cœur de ce calculateur, la puce 192 coeurs de nVidia, le Tegra K1, mais aussi la puce de traitement d’image EyeQ3 de l’israélien Mobileye. C’est Delphi qui s’est vu chargé de la fabrication en série du calculateur zFAS.

192 coeurs de calcul constituent le cerveau de la voiture autonome Audi

S’il est une entreprise de technologie qui va profiter de l’essor de la voiture autonome, c’est probablement l’israélien MobilEye. Plus vraiment une startup, cette société développe des algorithmes d’analyse d’images et des puces exploitées par les équipementiers automobiles. L’entreprise est déjà parvenue à lever 400 M$, un record pour une entreprise israélienne. Ces puces devraient être omniprésentes dans les voitures autonomes du futurs. Voici quelques semaines, Valéo signait un accord avec lui pour embarquer ses puces dans son offre de robotisation Drive4U.

zFAS, ce cerveau des futures Audi autonomes.

zFAS, ce cerveau des futures Audi autonomes.

Au Cebit, c’était Audi qui confiait avoir intégré le processeur MobilEye EyeQ3 dans le design de son calculateur zFAS. C’est cet ordinateur qui va être embarqué dans les futures Audi autonomes. La puce MobilEye va assurer la partie analyse d’image, tandis que c’est un microprocesseur nVidia qui va piloter la voiture. Audi a choisi le Tegra K1, une puce 192 coeurs que le marketing nVidia a qualifié de supercalculateur dans une puce à son lancement en 2014. C’est probablement à cette date qu’Audi a figé la conception de la carte mère de sa zFAS car, depuis, nVidia a lancé la puce X1, une version 256 cœurs de la K1.

Delphi a décroché le contrat de production du calculateur zFAS

Le K1 offre un CPU quad-coeur ARM Cortex-A15 « r3 » à 2,3 GHz, mais surtout 192 cœurs nVidia Cuda. nVidia annonce une puissance de 326 GFlops et une mémoire adressable pouvant aller jusqu’à 8 Go. Une puissance qui va être mis à profit par Audi afin de fusionner les multiples capteurs qui sont nécessaires pour faire rouler une voiture de manière autonome. Des capteurs fournis par Bosch, Continental, Valeo et Delphi, comme le précise le communiqué.

L'Audi Prologue qui a réalisé ses démonstrations de conduite autonome lors du CES 2015 de Las Vegas.

L’Audi Prologue, déjà équipée de la carte zFAS, a réalisé des démonstrations de conduite autonome lors du CES 2015 de Las Vegas.

Parmi les équipementiers sélectionnés par Audi pour son programme « Audi piloted driving », terminologie maison pour un projet voiture autonome lancé voici de nombreuses années. En 2010, Audi lançait sous Audi TTS à l’assaut de la montée de Pike Peaks, tandis qu’en octobre 2014, l’Audi RS7 autonome faisait tomber les chronos sur le circuit d’Hockenheim, tandis que Audi a fait rouler la Prologue dans les rues de Las Vegas lors du salon de l’électronique grand public, le CES, en janvier 2015. Une voiture justement équipée du calculateur zFAS. L’équipementier Delphi a été désigné par Audi pour produire en série cet ordinateur embarqué.
Source : « Audi mastermind for piloted driving: the central driver assistance controller « , communiqué de presse Audi, 31 mars 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.