Audi RS7 rolled her self on the Hockenheimring

Audi-RS7In addition to a triple victory of Audi in Hockenheim, the viewers of the last grand prix of the season in DTM had the chance to see the Audi RS7 autonomously perform a trick without a pilot on board. It’s no longer here robotic driving, but driving. The machine clocked a little higher than 2 minutes, certainly far from the time of 1: 33: 316 Miguel Molina completed the same weekend with the Audi RS5 DTM, but probably better than many drivers Sunday could be on the German circuit.

Audi has deployed a much improved GPS system on the circuit

She has traveled the 4.574 km of Hockenheim in just over 2 minutes, or about 137 km / h on average. Not bad for the RS7 Concept, the latest autonomous car “sport” Audi. We remember that the German automaker had already rubbed the rise of Pike Peak in 2010, a track that had swallowed his Audi TTS in 27 minutes. His new car, a RS7, has thus attacked a historical tour of Formula 1 Hockenheim.

This demonstration was conducted at the close of the DTM season. The time recorded is not very significant as the car came to rest in front of the line and that the conduct was adopted by automation rather cautious. The onboard camera showing braking rather cautious, no wheel locks and trajectories certainly ideal if one believes the overexcited commentator, but rather distant borders. It is far from humans who do not hesitate to encroach on the curbs to gain a few hundredths of a second. To achieve the performance RS7 Concept is certainly supported on 3D cameras, but more importantly an improved GPS system. Audi circuit equipped for providing a GPS positioning a pécision of the order of several centimeters. This is how the car robot was able to follow these ideal trajectories. Maybe not the fastest, but the ideal mathematical point of view …
Audi-RS7-Hockenheim

Translation : Google Translator

Sources :

“Proof positive: Audi RS 7 concept taken to the limit with no driver”, Audi Press release, October 19, 2014

Audi Robotic Racecar Relies on GPS“, IEEESpectrum, October 17, 2014

“Autonomous Audi TTS scales Pikes Peak in 27-minute climb”, Engadget, November 21, 2010

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Audi a fait rouler sa RS7 autonome sur le circuit d’Hockenheim

Audi-RS7Outre un triplé Audi, les spectateurs du dernier grand prix de la saison de DTM ont eu la chance de voir l’Audi RS7 autonome effectuer un tour sans pilote à bord. Il ne s’agit plus ici de conduite robotisée, mais bien de pilotage. La machine a réalisé un temps un peu supérieur à 2 minutes, certes très éloigné du temps de 1:33:316 que Miguel Molina a réalisé le même week-end sur son Audi RS5 de DTM, mais probablement mieux que ce que beaucoup de conducteurs du dimanche ne pourraient faire sur le circuit allemand.

Audi a déployé un système GPS très amélioré sur le circuit

Elle a donc parcouru les 4,574 km du circuit Hockenheim en un peu plus de 2mn, soit environ 137 km/h de moyenne. Pas si mal pour la RS7 Concept, la toute dernière voiture autonome « sportive » d’Audi. On se souvient que le constructeur allemand s’était déjà frotté à la montée de Pike Peak en 2010, une piste que son Audi TTS avait avalée en 27 minutes. Sa nouvelle voiture, une RS7, s’est donc attaqué à un circuit historique de la formule 1, Hockenheim.

Cette démonstration a été réalisée en clôture de la saison de DTM. Le temps réalisé n’est pas très significatif puisque la voiture est venue s’arrêter devant la ligne et que la conduite adoptée par les automatismes était plutôt prudente. La caméra embarquée montrant des freinages plutôt prudents, aucun blocages de roue et des trajectoires certes idéales si on en croit le commentateur survolté, mais plutôt éloigné des bordures. On est loin des humains qui n’hésitent pas à empiéter sur les vibreurs pour gagner quelques centièmes de seconde. Pour réaliser sa performance la RS7 Concept s’est certes appuyé sur les caméras 3D, mais aussi et surtout sur un système GPS amélioré. Audi a équipé le circuit afin de délivrer un positionnement GPS d’une pécision de l’ordre de quelques centimètres. C’est comme cela que sa voiture robotisée a pu suivre ces trajectoires idéales. Peut-être pas les plus rapides, mais idéales du point de vue mathématique…
Audi-RS7-Hockenheim

Sources :

« Proof positive: Audi RS 7 concept taken to the limit with no driver », Communiqué de presse Audi, 19 octobre 2014

« Audi Robotic Racecar Relies on GPS« , IEEESpectrum, 17 octobre 2014

« Autonomous Audi TTS scales Pikes Peak in 27-minute climb », Engadget, 21 novembre 2010

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.