Author Archives: Alain Clapaud

22 Jan 2018

Panasonic transforms its HOSPI service robot into an advertising medium

A new robot has just started up in Narita airport halls. Named “Signage HOSPI” by these designers, this rounded robot is to advertising what sandwich men were in the 1930s. Armed with its three advertising screens, this robot will go Lire la suite

20 Jan 2018

Norway wants to impose electric aircraft for regional flights by 2040

Formerly a major exporter of oil and gas, Norway has positioned itself as the champion of electric means of transport. With 16% of vehicles sold in 2016, Norway is the most advanced country in its transition to electric vehicles, and Lire la suite

16 Jan 2018

NASA thinks on IA and Blockchain for Next Interstellar Probe

Nasa is thinking about embarking artificial intelligence and a blockchain in its future space probes. This is the purpose of the RNCP research program (resilient networking and computing paradigm) which aims to develop the software platform that will equip the Lire la suite

14 Jan 2018

Can Henrik Fisker outdate the Lithium-Ion battery?

With the promise of an autonomy of more than 800 km for a charge time of about one minute, with its long-awaited EMotion, Fisker wants to make Tesla and its “old” Lithium-Ion batteries more expensive. To achieve this, the startup Lire la suite

12 Jan 2018

Boeing flies the prototype of a cargo drone capable of carrying 250 Kg

Boeing was not on the ESC this week, but the aeronautical giant has just unveiled a rather ambitious cargo drone project. HorizonX, its innovation cell, has designed in just a few months and completed the first flights of the Boeing Lire la suite

11 Jan 2018

Honda, LG, UBTech, Sony: the robot stars of the CES 2018

With its A3-x18 series of mobile robots, Honda made a big impression by unveiling no less than 4 robots, beating its rival LG who had brought to Las Vegas 3 versions of its robot CLOi. These robots have given their Lire la suite

10 Jan 2018

Kodak to launch its Blockchain:”Blockchain washing” or genius move?

A desperate brand following the collapse of the film industry in the photo market, Kodak had become the symbol of the company unable to face the digitalization of the market, the symbol of the company used before the hour. Since Lire la suite

9 Jan 2018

CES 2018: NVidia accelerates on the autonomous car

As every year now, NVidia has held a plenary session at the ESC, a conference that is generally very well attended because the founder’s progress is a testament to that of the automotive industry towards autonomous vehicles. The 2018 edition Lire la suite

8 Jan 2018

Precision agriculture: Researchers turn plants into connected objects

Researchers at the University of Iowa’s MEMS and Biochips laboratory have published the results of their work. They have created ultra-fine sensors that can be attached to the plant to measure water consumption, key information for improving greenhouse or field Lire la suite

7 Jan 2018

Crowdsourcing: A FedEx employee discovers the largest prime number

Called M77232917, the number discovered by Jonathan Pace, a Fedex employee is not only the largest prime number existing, but it is also the 50th first_number of Mersenne, i. e. a prime number that has the form 2p-1. The number Lire la suite

Archives de l’auteur : Alain Clapaud

20 janv. 2018

La Norvège veut imposer les avions électriques sur les vols régionaux dès 2040

Jadis gros exportateur de pétrole et de gaz, la Norvège se positionne comme le champion des moyens de transport électriques. Avec 16% des véhicules vendus en 2016, la Norvège est le pays qui est le plus avancé dans sa transition Lire la suite

16 janv. 2018

La Nasa réfléchit à une IA et une blockchain pour sa prochaine sonde interstellaire

La Nasa réfléchit à embarquer de l’intelligence artificielle et une blockchain dans ses futures sondes spatiales. C’est l’objet du programme de recherche RNCP (resilient networking and computing paradigm) qui vise à mettre au point la plateforme logicielle qui équipera les Lire la suite

14 janv. 2018

Henrik Fisker va-t-il ringardiser la batterie Lithium-Ion ?

Avec la promesse d’une autonomie de plus de 800 km pour un temps de charge de l’ordre d’une minute, avec sa très attendue EMotion, Fisker veut ringardiser Tesla et ses « vieilles » batteries Lithium-Ion. Pour y parvenir, la startup doit réaliser Lire la suite

12 janv. 2018

Boeing fait voler un drone cargo capable de transporter 250 Kg

Boeing n’était pas sur le CES cette semaine, mais le géant aéronautique vient de dévoiler un projet de drone cargo plutôt ambitieux. HorizonX, sa cellule innovation, a conçu en quelques mois et réalisé les premiers vols du Boeing CAV (Cargo Lire la suite

11 janv. 2018

Honda, LG, UBTech, Sony : les robots stars du CES 2018

Avec sa série de robot mobiles A3-x18, Honda a fait très fort en dévoilant pas moins de 4 robots, battant ainsi son rival LG qui avait pourtant amené à Las Vegas 3 déclinaisons de son robot CLOi. Ces robots ont donné Lire la suite

10 janv. 2018

Kodak se lance dans la Blockchain : « Blockchain washing » ou idée de génie ?

Marque aux abois suite à l’effondrement de l’argentique sur le marché photo, Kodak était devenu le symbole de l’entreprise incapable de faire face à la digitalisation du marché, le symbole de l’entreprise uberisée avant l’heure. Depuis, la politique de licencing Lire la suite

9 janv. 2018

CES 2018 : NVidia accélère sur la voiture autonome

Comme chaque année désormais, NVidia a tenu une session plénière lors du CES, une conférence généralement très suivie car les avancées du fondeur témoignent de celles de l’industrie automobile vers les véhicules autonomes. L’édition 2018 n’a pas dérogé à la Lire la suite

8 janv. 2018

Agriculture de précision : Des chercheurs transforment les plantes en objets connectés

Les chercheurs du laboratoire sur les MEMS et Biochips de l’université d’Iowa ont publié les résultats de leurs travaux. Ceux-ci ont créé des capteurs ultrafins pouvant être fixé au plantes afin de mesurer leur consommation en eau, une information clé Lire la suite

7 janv. 2018

Crowdsourcing : Un employé de FedEx découvre le plus grand nombre premier

Baptisé M77232917, le nombre découvert par Jonathan Pace, un employé de Fedex est non seulement le plus grand nombre premier existant, mais c’est aussi le 50e nombre premier de Mersenne, c’est à dire un nombre premier qui a la forme 2p-1. Lire la suite

6 janv. 2018

iRobot crée un programme beta pour ses robots Roomba

Dans une interview accordée au MIT Technology Review, Colin Angle, le PDG d’iRobot a révélé que le constructeur de robots de nettoyage s’apprête à lancer un programme Beta. De nouvelles fonctionnalités liées à la maison intelligente vont rapidement apparaître pour les Lire la suite