The amazing avatars of dr. Mark Sagar

Avatar, Spider-Man 2 and King Kong, Mark Sagar’s creatures have already won Mark Sagar two Oscars. Director of the animation laboratory at the Bioengineering Institute in Auckland, this New Zealander has devoted his research career to human-computer interactions but also to animating faces. The result of his work is troublingly realistic. 

Faces animated by artificial intelligence

Mark Sagar began in medical research by modelling the human eye to allow surgeons to perform virtual operations. After several years of experience in the world of cinema, he became head of the animation laboratory at Auckland University in 2012. His team will then create synthetic characters with disturbing realism. Male, female, child and even baby with the BabyX project, these animated characters seem to feel feelings as the movements of their faces are realistic. Unlike the usual techniques in the world of 3D animation, where animators will work on 3D models to give them the expressions desired by the director or the use of Motion Capture, Dr. Sagar’s avatars implement biomechanical models that reproduce the exact functioning of facial muscles.

The copying of the “functioning” of the biological face does not stop there since these software muscles are animated by a network of artificial neurons. Mark Sagar created Soul Machines, a company responsible for marketing his creations, including BabyX version 5, a synthetic baby that is undoubtedly easier to manage for a director than its human equivalent.
The New Zealand researcher is one of the pioneers in the use of artificial intelligence techniques in 3D animation, but the approach is now increasingly being taken up by several other international research teams.

There is no doubt that tomorrow, not only will synthetic actors be appearing more and more frequently in castings, but castings will not only be chosen for their aesthetics, but also for their virtual personality.

Translation : Deepl

Sources :

An Artificially Intelligent Baby Could Unlock the Secrets of Human Nature“, Futurism, September 10, 2017

Mark Sagar Made a Baby in His Lab. Now It Plays the Piano“, Bloomberg Newsweek, September 7, 2017

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Intelligence artificiellle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Les étonnants avatars du Dr. Mark Sagar

Avatar, Spider-Man 2 et King Kong, les créatures artificielles de Mark Sagar ont déjà valu à Mark Sagar deux oscars. Directeur du laboratoire d’animation de l’Institut de Bioengineering de Auckland, ce néo-zélandais a consacré sa carrière de chercheur aux interactions homme / ordinateur mais ainsi que l’animation des visages. Le résultat de ses travaux est troublant de réalisme.

Des visages animés par intelligence artificielle

Ingénieur de formation, Mark Sagar a commencé dans la recherche médicale par la modélisation de l’oeil humain afin de permettre aux chirurgiens de pratiquer des opérations virtuelles. Suite à plusieurs expérience dans le monde du cinéma, il prend la tête du laboratoire d’animation de l’université d’Auckland en 2012. Son équipe va alors créer des personnages de synthèse au réalisme troublant. Homme, femme enfant et même bébé avec le projet BabyX, ces personnages animés semblent éprouver des sentiments tant les mouvements de leur visage sont réalistes. Contrairement aux techniques habituelles dans le monde de l’animation 3d où des animateurs vont travailler sur les modèles 3D pour leurs donner les expressions souhaitées par le réalisateur ou le recours au Motion Capture, les avatars du Dr Sagar mettent en oeuvre des modèles biomécaniques qui reproduisent le fonctionnement exact des muscles du visage.

La copie du « fonctionnement » du visage biologique ne s’arrête pas là puisque ces muscles logiciels sont animés par un réseau de neurones artificiels. Mark Sagar a créé Soul Machines, une société chargée de commercialiser ses créations, dont BabyX version 5, un bébé de synthèse sans aucun doute plus simple à diriger pour un réalisateur que son équivalent humain.
Le chercheur néo-zélandais est l’un des pionnier dans l’utilisation de techniques d’intelligence artificielle dans le domaine de l’animation 3D mais l’approche est aujourd’hui de plus en plus reprise par plusieurs autres équipes de recherche internationales.

Il ne fait plus aucun doute que demain non seulement les acteurs de synthèse apparaîtront de plus en plus fréquemment dans les castings, mais ceux-ci ne seront pas seulement choisis pour leur esthétique, mais aussi pour leur personnalité virtuelle.

Sources :

« An Artificially Intelligent Baby Could Unlock the Secrets of Human Nature« , Futurism, 10 septembre 2017

« Mark Sagar Made a Baby in His Lab. Now It Plays the Piano« , Bloomberg Newsweek, 7 septembre 2017

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Intelligence artificielle, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.