Commercial Aviation: Augmented reality into cockpits

SkylensElbit Systems has to sign an agreement with ATR. The Franco-Italian manufacturer of regional aircraft will offer airlines to equip their ATR-42 600 and ATR-72 600 the enhanced vision system ClearVision Enhanced Flight Vision System (EFVS). Coupled with multispectral sensors placed in the nose of the plane, these glasses show the improved image of the final approach to runway before landing while it is hidden by fog or clouds.
If the approach already existed in the military, it becomes available in the civilian system. The most modern civilian aircraft such as the Boeing 787, the Airbus A350 are now offered with large HUD. With augmented reality glasses SKYLENS, Elbit Systems offers a lighter solution that could accelerate the adoption of technology in smaller devices and especially in helicopters where his glasses might prove far more effective than the HUD “classic” attached to the dashboard.

Private jets manufacturers, the first customers of the ClearVision technology

The SKYLENS Elbit Systems had obtained the Innovation Award from Frost & amp civil aviation; Sullivan in 2014 and perhaps we will soon see in the cockpits.

Before signing with ATR, the concept of augmented reality defended by Israel had already won the manufacturers of private jets Gulfstream and Dassault Aviation. The latter in particular with the prototype of its newest business jet Falcon 5X of Elbit sensors.

L'affichage ClearVision d'Elbit Systems

The ClearVision display Elbit Systems

The increased display Elbit Systems will enable these aircraft to land on poorly equipped land, land that would be forbidden in cases of poor visibility. Dubbed ClearVision this improved vision combines the information from the sensors 6 installed on the plane to generate an image that is superimposed on the external vision of the driver and thus greatly facilitate night landing or in poor visibility. The system displays an improved and “augmented” picture with the flight data displayed superimposed.

Will remain for future buyers to choose between a conventional head-up display or a display on augmented reality glasses. The glasses allow SKYLENS happened heavy projection system to generate the image displayed on the HUD glass. Furthermore, they allow a wider visual field. The glasses are equipped with a tracking system that allows the pilot to turn his head, which could be a plus for helicopter pilot in particular. Elbit Systems has already obtained certification EFVS system and hopes to that of SKYLENS at the end of the first half 2016.

Traduction : Google Translate

Source : “Elbit Systems and ATR Sign an Agreement for the Integration of ClearVision™ EFVS with the New SKYLENS™ Wearable Display Onboard ATR -600s Aircraft”, Elbit Systems press release, July 6, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in 3D, Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Aviation civile : La réalité augmentée entre dans les cockpits

SkylensElbit Systems vient se signer un accord avec ATR. Le constructeur franco-italien d’avions régionaux va proposer aux compagnies aériennes d’équiper leurs ATR-42 600 et ATR-72 600 du système de vision augmentée ClearVision Enhanced Flight Vision System (EFVS). Couplé à des capteurs multispectraux placés dans le nez de l’avion, ces lunettes affichent l’image améliorée de la piste en approche finale avant l’atterrissage alors que celle-ci est masquée par le brouillard ou des nuages.
Si l’approche existait déjà dans le monde militaire, elle devient disponible dans les appareil civils. Les appareils civils les plus modernes comme le Boeing 787, l’Airbus A350 sont désormais proposés avec des HUD (affichage tête haute sur un miroir transparent) de grandes dimensions. Avec ses lunettes de réalité augmentée SKYLENS, Elbit Systems propose une solution plus légère qui pourrait bien accélérer l’adoption de la technique dans des appareils plus petits et surtout dans les hélicoptères où ses lunettes pourraient se montrer bien plus efficace que le HUD « classique » fixé au tableau de bord.

Les constructeurs de jets privés, premiers clients de la technologie ClearVision

Les SKYLENS d’Elbit Systems avaient obtenue le prix de l’innovation de l’aviation civile de Frost & Sullivan en 2014 et on va peut-être bientôt les voir dans les cockpits.

Avant la signature avec ATR, la notion de réalité augmentée défendue par l’israélien avait déjà séduit les constructeurs de jets privés Gulfstream et Dassault Aviation. Ce dernier a notamment équipé le prototype de son tout dernier avion d’affaires Falcon 5X des capteurs d’Elbit.

L'affichage ClearVision d'Elbit Systems

L’affichage ClearVision d’Elbit Systems

L’affichage augmentée d’Elbit Systems va permettre à ces appareils d’atterrir sur des terrains mal équipés, des terrains qui leur seraient interdit en cas de mauvaise visibilité. Baptisée ClearVision cette vision améliorée cumule les informations issues des 6 capteurs installés dans l’avion pour générer une image qui vient se superposer à la vision extérieure du pilote et ainsi grandement faciliter un atterrissage de nuit ou par mauvaise visibilité. Ce système affiche une image améliorée et « augmentée » avec les données de vol qui s’affichent en surimpression.

Restera aux futurs acquéreurs de choisir entre un affichage tête haute classique ou un affichage sur lunettes de réalité augmentée. Les lunettes SKYLENS permettent de se passer du lourd système de projection qui permet de générer l’image qui s’affiche sur la vitre du HUD. Elles permettent en outre un plus large champs visuel. Les lunettes sont équipées d’un système de tracking qui permet au pilote de tourner la tête, ce qui pourrait être un atout certain pour les pilote d’hélicoptère, notamment. Elbit Systèmes a déjà obtenu la certification du système EFVS et espère obtenir celle des SKYLENS à la fin du premier semestre 2016.

Source : « Elbit Systems and ATR Sign an Agreement for the Integration of ClearVision™ EFVS with the New SKYLENS™ Wearable Display Onboard ATR -600s Aircraft », Communiqué de presse Elbit Systems, 6 juillet 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans 3D, Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.