Will airliners fly in tight formations?

C17-en-formation-(Photo-U.S.-Air-Force-photo-by-Bobbi-Zapka)The US Air Force comes to the first experimental flight under its research programme ‘$AVE ‘. Two heavy transport aircraft of type C-17 were flown between California Edwards Air Force base and Pearl Harbor-Hickam in Hawaii. A routine flight? Not quite. Two wide-bodied have indeed made this flight of over 4,000 km in close formation. The image of the wild geese or seagulls, one that follows the leader saves energy. The USAF hopes saving 10 million dollars per year in fuel if this technique was generalized to its fleet. The concept is validated by the military, but will it be transposed to the civil air transport?

The model mentioned by Dr. Donald Erbschloe, Scientific Director of the Air Mobility Command is clear: the animal world. To explain the purpose of flight tests of the ‘$AVE’ program, it takes the example of dolphins or seabirds that flying in formation tight, manage to hold air in not beating their wings as once every 20 minutes. The method works, all cyclists can testify and thanks to automation, it is going to be applicable both in automotive and aviation.

Technically, a few software changes were enough for the C-17

By car, from 1997 onwards, the first automated car platoons were tested on a highway near San Diego and, today, the European programme SARTRE continues in this direction. In aviation, the case is both simpler and more difficult. Technically, modern autopilots are sufficiently advanced to implement these aerial formations very rapidly. Only a few software changes brought to the 2 C – 17s to carry out this test flight and gains were at the rendezvous. With a separation between the two aircraft in the order of 3,000 to 6,000 feet (900 to 1,800 m), fuel gain is greater than 10%. The Air Force has two to three year to break its flight procedures before expanding the process to its fleet. That the release of the US Air Force does not mention, it is the quality of the flight of the follower. During 6 h flight crew has been shaken in the wake of the previous aircraft drag? There is little that members who are willing to tolerate this type of treatment. Moreover, be transposed to the civil sector, the rules of separation between aircraft in flight should be reviewed and corrected for the “liners”. Well as the system of collision detection, TCAS, should be amended accordingly. It is likely that transport of goods dronises aircraft will fly one day in training, as the devices responsible for passengers…
Sources :
“Inspired by nature: Innovative C-17 flight tests to save AF millions”, US Air Force press release, August 16, 2013
“Nature was model for innovative C-17 flight tests to save Air Force millions”, NorthwestMilitary, August 22, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique. Bookmark the permalink.

Les avions de ligne voleront-il un jour en formations serrées ?

C17-en-formation-(Photo-U.S.-Air-Force-photo-by-Bobbi-Zapka)L’US Air Force vient de mener le premier vol expérimental dans le cadre de son programme de recherche « $AVE ». Deux avions de transport lourds de type C-17 ont effectué un vol entre la base aérienne d’Edwards en Californie et celle de Pearl Harbor-Hickam à Hawaï. Un vol de routine ? Pas tout à fait. Les deux gros porteurs ont en effet effectué ce vol de plus de 4.000 km en formation serrée. A l’image des oies sauvages ou des mouettes, celui qui suit le leader économise de l’énergie. L’USAF espère économiser ainsi 10 million de dollars par an de carburant si cette technique était généralisée à sa flotte. Le concept est validé par les militaires, mais sera-t-il transposable au transport aérien civil ?
Le modèle évoqué par le Docteur Donald Erbschloe, directeur scientifique de l’Air Mobility Command est clair : le monde animal. Pour expliquer le but des vols tests du programme « $AVE », celui-ci prend l’exemple des dauphins ou des oiseaux de mer qui, en volant en formation serré, parviennent à tenir l’air en ne battant des ailes qu’une fois toutes les 20 minutes. La méthode fonctionne, tous les cyclistes peuvent en témoigner et grâce à l’automatisation, celle-ci va être applicable tant dans l’automobile qu’en aviation.

Techniquement, quelques modifications logicielles ont suffi pour le C-17

En automobile, dès 1997, les premiers pelotons de voitures automatisés étaient testés sur une autoroute près de San Diego et, aujourd’hui, le programme européen SARTRE poursuit dans cette voie. En aviation, l’affaire est à la fois plus simple et plus délicate. Techniquement, les pilotes automatiques modernes sont suffisamment évolués pour mettre en place ces formations aériennes très rapidement. Seules quelques modifications logicielles ont été apporté aux 2 C-17 pour mener à bien ce vol d’essai et les gains ont été au rendez-vous. Avec une séparation entre les deux avions de l’ordre de 3.000 à 6.000 pieds (900 à 1.800 m), le gain de carburant est supérieur à 10%. L’Air Force se donne deux à trois an pour roder ses procédures de vol avant d’élargir le procédé à sa flotte. Ce que le communiqué de l’US Air Force n’évoque pas, c’est la qualité du vol de l’avion suiveur. Est-ce que pendant 6h de vol l’équipage a été secoué dans la traînée de sillage de l’avion précédent ? Il n’y a guère que les militaires qui seront prêts à tolérer ce type de traitement. En outre, pour être transposé au domaine civil, les règles de séparation entre appareils en vol devront être revues et corrigées pour les « liners ». De même que le système de détection de collision, le TCAS, devra être modifié en conséquence. Il est fort probable que des avions de transport de marchandises dronisés voleront un jour en formation, quant aux appareils chargés de passagers…

Sources :
« Inspired by nature: Innovative C-17 flight tests to save AF millions », Communiqué US Air Force, 16 août 2013
« Nature was model for innovative C-17 flight tests to save Air Force millions », NorthwestMilitary, 22 août 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique. Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.