Unmanned airliners? Google believes!

Unmanned-airlinerThe human factor has been the cause of many air disasters. It seems that this is the reason for the crash of the A320 Germanwings in the Alps on April 24. The automation of orders for orders for flights, including the A320 is one of the best examples, probably helped to avoid many accidents. Should we go further? Nasa wants to replace the co-pilot by a new software layer, but history can precipitate. Dave Vos, the drone of Google project manager believes that one will embark line unmanned planes a day. Better, these drones of line may appear much faster than we think.

The head of Google drones wants to see unmanned airliners during his lifetime

Will you agree to board a plane without a pilot for a flight Paris-Berlin or Paris-San Francisco? Take a drone to travel will no doubt be a tough decision to make for many travellers, and yet this may be the case much faster than we think. Just as the safety argument will probably push us to buy autonomous cars in a few years, this same argument we will push into these “ultra-secure” drones.

The cargo planes will probably be the first to happen crew.

The cargo planes will probably be the first to happen crew.

It is in any case the position of Dave Vos, head of the “Project Wing”, the drone of delivery project developed in the labs of the [X] Google. This expert in drones, former researcher from MIT and founder of Athena Technology, acquired by Rockwell Collins, intervened during a symposium on the drones organized in Montréal by the ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization). Dave Vos said that he wished to see fly these commercial drones trade as soon as possible. The pioneer of drones, aged 54 years, believes that commercial aircraft are feasible, but above all he believes that he will see this during his lifetime.

The A320 has reduced the crew of 3 to 2 persons. Nasa tests the cockpit in 1 place

Nasa has been working for 2011 on a concept of cockpit for a single crew member. The device under test leaves the captain in the aircraft, however the co-pilot remains on the ground. Ensconced in his office, the co-pilot will support 12 flights. A gain of “productivity” which should not be insensitive directions of airlines. The project looks already very advanced, especially at the level of the software necessary for this ‘super’ capable of juggling with 12 aircraft co-pilot. Many predictive algorithms are at work to anticipate changes of trajectory, possibly calculate a trajectory of emergency in case of damage.
In the cockpit, the captain has a display dedicated to collaboration with remote co-pilot. The Single Pilot Operation program tests are underway in the simulator of Rockwell Collins and will be completed by September 2015. One last step before the first airliners without cockpit?

ZEHST, a concept of signed Hypersonic aircraft Airbus.

ZEHST, a concept of signed Hypersonic aircraft Airbus.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :
“Head of Google drone project predicts pilot-free planes”, CTV News, 23 mars 2015
“NASA Advances Single-Pilot Operations Concepts”, Aviation Week, January 12, 2015

“Rockwell Collins selected by NASA for single-pilot operations study”, Rockwell Collins press release, december 15, 2014

“Single-Pilot Cockpit Idea Floated in NASA Study”, Wall Street Journal, December 14, 2014

Toward single pilots operations: Developing a Ground Station“, Nasa research paper [pdf]

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Bientôt des avions de ligne sans pilote ? Google y croit !

Unmanned-airlinerLe facteur humain a été la cause de nombreuses catastrophes aériennes. Il semble que cela soit la raison du crash de l’A320 Germanwings dans les Alpes le 24 avril dernier. L’automatisation des commandes des commandes de vols, dont l’A320 est l’un des meilleurs exemples, a sans doute permis d’éviter de nombreux accidents. Faut-il aller plus loin encore ? La Nasa veut remplacer le copilote par une nouvelle couche logicielle, mais l’histoire pourrait se précipiter. Dave Vos, le chef du projet de drone de Google estime que l’on pourra embarquer un jour dans des avions de ligne sans pilote. Mieux, ces drones de ligne pourrait apparaître bien plus vite qu’on ne le pense.

Le chef des drones Google veut voir des avions de ligne sans pilote de son vivant

Accepterez-vous de monter dans un avion sans pilote pour un vol Paris-Berlin ou Paris-San Francisco ? Prendre un drone pour voyager sera sans doute une décision difficile à prendre pour bon nombre de voyageurs, et pourtant ce sera peut-être le cas bien plus vite qu’on ne le pense. Tout comme l’argument de la sécurité va probablement nous pousser à acheter des voitures autonomes dans quelques années, ce même argument nous poussera à monter dans ces drones « ultra-sécurisé ».

Les avions cargo seront probablement les premiers à se passer d'équipage.

Les avions cargo seront probablement les premiers à se passer d’équipage.

C’est en tout cas la position de Dave Vos, de chef du « Project Wing », le projet de drone de livraison développé dans les labos du Google [X]. Cet expert en drones, ancien chercheur du MIT et fondateur d’Athena Technology, racheté par Rockwell Collins, intervenait lors d’un symposium sur les drones organisé à Montréal par l’ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization). Dave Vos a affirmé qu’il souhaite voir voler ces drones commerciaux commerciaux dès que possible. Le pionnier des drones, âgé de 54 ans, estime que les avions commerciaux sont faisables , mais surtout il estime qu’il verra cela de son vivant.

L’A320 a réduit l’équipage de 3 à 2 personnes. La Nasa teste le cockpit à 1 place

La Nasa travaille depuis 2011 sur un concept de poste de pilotage pour un seul membre d’équipage. Le dispositif en cours de test laisse le capitaine dans l’avion, par contre le co-pilote reste au sol. Bien installé à son bureau, ce co-pilote va prendre en charge 12 vols. Un gain de « productivité » qui ne devrait pas laisser insensibles les directions des compagnies aériennes. Le projet semble déjà très avancé, notamment au niveau des logiciels nécessaires à ce « super » co-pilote capable de jongler avec 12 appareils. De nombreux algorithmes prédictifs sont à l’oeuvre pour anticiper les changements de trajectoire, éventuellement calculer une trajectoire d’urgence en cas d’avarie.
Dans le cockpit, le commandant de bord dispose d’un écran dédié à la collaboration avec son co-pilote distant. Les tests du Single Pilot Operation program sont en cours dans le simulateur de Rockwell Collins et s’achèveront en septembre 2015. Une dernière étape avant les premiers avions de ligne sans cockpit ?

ZEHST, un concept d'avion hypersonique signé Airbus.

ZEHST, un concept d’avion hypersonique signé Airbus.

Sources :
« Head of Google drone project predicts pilot-free planes », CTV News, 23 mars 2015
« NASA Advances Single-Pilot Operations Concepts », Aviation Week, 12 janvier 2015

« Rockwell Collins selected by NASA for single-pilot operations study »,  Communiqué de presse Rockwell Collins, 15 décembre 2014

« Single-Pilot Cockpit Idea Floated in NASA Study », Wall Street Journal, 14 décembre 2014

« Toward single pilots operations: Developing a Ground Station« , Document Nasa [pdf]

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.