Baidu signed with Microsoft to bring its autonomous car outside China

Will your first stand-alone car be “Made in China”? In any case Baidu accelerates its development strategy in order to catch Google, Uber, Tesla and Apple. After publishing its automated software in Open Source and then signed some fifty partnership contracts to extend its functionalities, Baidu has officially joined forces with Microsoft. The American cloud platform will run Apollo cars outside of China.

Baidu put the turbo in its autonomous car project

Wu Xue-bin, vice president of Baidu presented the Apollo project at the opening conference of the China Automotive Forum in Shanghai on May 14, 2017.

While Google has been testing autonomous cars since 2010, manufacturers from all over the world are leading all-out experiments with their equipment manufacturers, a new actor is emerging, the Chinese Baidu, the “Chinese Google”. The autonomous car project appeared in broad daylight in 2015 but it is as early as 2013 that Chinese artificial intelligence engineers have started their studies. Since then, various vehicles equipped with Chinese software have been launched to conquer Chinese and then American roads. Robin Lin, the founder of Baidu, chose to open his technology by publishing his source code on Github , under Open Source license. At the same time, Baidu has been pursuing a strategy of reaching out to the Chinese automotive industry, but also to the western and particularly German.

About fifty partners behind Baidu, both Asian and Western

On 1 June 2017 Lu Qi, Baidu vice-president and Dirk Hoheisel, a member of the board of directors of the Bosch group, signed a memorandum of understanding under the watchful eye of Angela Merkel and Chinese Prime Minister Li Keqiang.


Among the 50 announced partners, Chinese automakers Chery Automobile, FAW Group, Changan and Great Wall, but also Ford and Daimler. Baidu drew Bosch, Continental and ZF nets. As for computers and electronics, the manufacturer of LIDAR Velodyne is mounted in the Apollo capsule as well as NVidia which once again affirms its ambitions in the automotive sector.
Other IT partner and weight ally for Baidu, Microsoft. The US will provide China with its global cloud infrastructure to deliver the server services needed to operate a fleet of vehicles under Apollo. Baidu has its own cloud infrastructure and has a research center in Silicon Valley, but no data centers capable of supporting such a service in the West. Microsoft will provide its partner with this necessary infrastructure.

Translation : Google Translate
Sources :
“Baidu’s Apollo Lifts Off: Microsoft Taking Open-Source Robocar Project Global”, Forbes, July 18, 2017

“无人驾驶群战升级,百度揽下博世、大陆两张王牌”, Communiqué Baidu/Apollo, June 1st, 2017

“百度亮相中国汽车论坛 要与伙伴们合作共赢加速创新”, Communiqué Baidu/Apollo, May 16, 2017

“Baidu’s Self-Driving Car Has Hit the Road”, Wired, December 9, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Intelligence artificiellle, Logiciel embarqué and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Baidu signe avec Microsoft pour porter sa voiture autonome hors de Chine

Votre première voiture autonome sera-t-elle « Made in China » ? En tout cas Baidu accélère sa stratégie de développement afin de prendre de vitesse Google, Uber, Tesla et Apple. Après avoir publié en Open Source son logiciel de pilotage automatique puis signé une cinquantaine de contrats de partenariat pour étendre ses fonctionnalités, Baidu vient officiellement de s’allier à Microsoft. La plateforme Cloud Computing de l’américain assurera le fonctionnement des futures voitures autonomes sous Apollo hors de Chine.

Baidu a mis le turbo dans son projet de voiture autonome

Wu Xue-bin, vice-président de Baidu présentait le projet Apollo lors de la conférence d’ouverture du China Automotive Forum à Shanghai, le 14 mai 2017.

Alors que Google teste des voitures autonomes depuis 2010, que les constructeurs de tous pays mènent avec leurs équipementiers des expérimentations tous azimuts, un nouvel acteur est en train d’émerger, c’est le chinois Baidu, le « Google chinois ». Le projet de voiture autonome est apparu au grand jour en 2015 mais c’est dès 2013 que les ingénieurs en intelligence artificielle chinois ont démarré leurs études. Depuis, divers véhicules équipés du logiciel chinois ont été lancé à la conquête des routes chinoises puis américaines. Soucieux d’accélérer encore les développement, Robin Lin, le fondateur de Baidu a fait le choix d’ouvrir sa technologie en publiant ses codes sources sur Github, sous licence Open Source. En parallèle, Baidu s’est livré à une stratégie de main tendue à destination de l’industrie automobile chinoise, mais aussi occidentale et en particulier allemande.

Une cinquantaine de partenaires derrière Baidu, tant asiatiques qu’occidentaux

Le 1er juin 2017, Lu Qi, vice-président de Baidu et Dirk Hoheisel, membre du conseil d’administration du groupe Bosch signait un protocole d’accord sous le regard d’Angela Merkel et du Premier ministre chinois Li Keqiang.

Parmi les cinquante partenaires annoncés, les constructeurs automobiles chinois Chery Automobile, FAW Group, Changan et Great Wall, mais aussi Ford et Daimler. Chez les équipementiers, Baidu a attiré dans ses filets Bosch, Continental et ZF. Côté informatique et électronique, le constructeur de LIDAR Velodyne est monté dans la capsule Apollo de même que NVidia qui affirme une nouvelle fois ses ambitions dans le secteur automobile.
Autre partenaire informatique et allié de poids pour Baidu, Microsoft. L’américain va mettre à disposition du chinois son infrastructure Cloud mondiale afin de délivrer les services serveurs nécessaires au fonctionnement d’une flotte de véhicule sous Apollo. Baidu dispose bien de sa propre infrastructure Cloud et dispose d’un centre de recherche dans la Silicon Valley, mais pas de datacenters capables de supporter un tel service en occident. Microsoft va apporter à son partenaire cette nécessaire infrastructure.

Sources :

« Baidu’s Apollo Lifts Off: Microsoft Taking Open-Source Robocar Project Global », Forbes, 18 juillet 2017

« 无人驾驶群战升级,百度揽下博世、大陆两张王牌 », Communiqué Baidu/Apollo, 1 juin 2017

« 百度亮相中国汽车论坛 要与伙伴们合作共赢加速创新 », Communiqué Baidu/Apollo, 16 mai 2017

« Baidu’s Self-Driving Car Has Hit the Road », Wired, 9 décembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Intelligence artificielle, Logiciel embarqué, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.