Balloons to protect sensitive sites from drones?

JLENSWill there be a day of balloons float to the top of our nuclear power plants in the near future? In any case, the United States follow this path with their ball JLENS. Long 74 m, this balloon (tethered) designed by Raytheon has a radar able to track everything that moves over a radius of more than 550 km, 360 °. Originally designed to detect cruise for NORAD, that ball today sees its mission extended to the detection of the drones. The American army will protect Washington DC of attacks September 11 with 2 balls of this type.

An aerostat to protect the White House, and much more

Launched over Aberdeen in Maryland, the JLENS radar will cover a surface area ranging from New York to Norfolk, a geographic scope that includes Washington. From the top of its 10,000 feet, it will allow the US Army to follow any object moving within reach of his radar, including drones. The main advantage of the JLENS ball, it is its autonomy which can reach 30 days. The solution is well viewed economic than to fly AWACS to ensure such permanence over a hot spot. Raytheon, which has sold the solution to U.S. Army considers that his balloon replaces 4 to 5 for this 24-hour surveillance Awacs.

Tcom-12m.-2jpg

Tcom revisits the concept of the WWI observation balloon, its performance in place sensors balls and place of human observers.

Clearly, the JLENS is oversized to protect as restricted as a nuclear site. On the other hand, Tcom, American of aerostats manufacturer developed a range ballons captifs smaller, ranging from 11 to 74 m which have been deployed in various theatres of operation of the army U.S., particularly Iraq and Afghanistan, but also over the border between the United States and the Mexico or Italy, during the war in Bosnia.

Will we soon see balloons anti-UAVs over nuclear power plants. Thales has presented at the last salon Eurosatory 2014 a balloon observation of 10 m3. Its payload reaches only 3 kg and its autonomy does not exceed 10 h, which essentially intended for surveillance of major events, but the idea is in the air.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Eurosatory 2014: a tethered balloon for surveillance missions”, Thales press release, June 12, 2014

“The USA’s RAID Program: Small Systems, Big Surveillance Time”, Defence Industry Daily,  May 15, 2014

“Joint Land Attack Cruise Missile Defense Elevated Netted Sensor System (JLENS)”, NORAD press release, December 4, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Des ballons anti-drones pour protéger les sites sensibles ?

JLENSVerra-t-on un jour des ballons flotter aux dessus de nos centrales nucléaires dans un avenir proche ? Les Etats-Unis suivent en tout cas cette voie avec leur ballon JLENS. Long 74 m, cet aérostat (ballon captif) conçu par Raytheon dispose d’un radar capable de suivre tout ce qui se déplace sur un rayon de près de 550 km, sur 360°. Initialement conçu pour détecter les missiles de croisière pour le NORAD, ce ballon voit aujourd’hui sa mission étendue à la détection des drones. L’armée américiane va ainsi protéger Washington DC d’attaques de type 11 septembre  avec 2 ballons de ce type.

Un ballon pour protéger la Maison Blanche

Lancé au-dessus d’Aberdeen dans le Maryland, le radar du JLENS va couvrir une surface allant de New-York à Norfolk, une étendue géographique qui englobe Washington. Du haut de ses 10.000 pieds, il permettra à l’armée américaine de suivre tout objet se déplaçant à portée de son radar, y compris les drones. L’atout majeur du ballon JLENS, c’est son autonomie qui peut atteindre 30 jours. La solution est donc bien lus économique que de faire voler des AWACS pour assurer une telle permanence au dessus d’un point chaud. Raytheon, qui a vendu la solution à l’armée américaine estime que son ballon remplace les 4 à 5 Awacs nécessaires à cette surveillance 24h/24.

Tcom-12m.-2jpg

Tcom revisite le concept du ballon d’observation de la première guerre mondiale, dotant ses ballons de capteurs performants en lieu et place des observateurs humains.

Clairement, ce JLENS est surdimensionné pour protéger un site aussi restreint qu’une centrale nucléaire. Par contre, Tcom, le constructeur américain d’aérostats a développé toute une gamme de ballons captifs de taille plus modeste, allant de 11 m à 74 m qui ont été déployés sur divers théâtres d’opération de l’armée américaine, notamment en Iraq et en Afghanistan, mais aussi au-dessus de la frontière entre les Etats-Unis et le Mexique, ou par l’Italie, lors de la guerre en Bosnie.

Verra-t-on bientôt des ballons anti-drones au-dessus des centrales nucléaires. Thales a présenté lors du dernier salon Eurosatory 2014 un ballon d’observation de 10 m3. Sa charge utile n’atteint que 3 kg et son autonomie ne dépasse pas 10h, ce qui le destine essentiellement à la surveillance de grands événements, mais l’idée est dans l’air.

Sources :

« Eurosatory 2014: a tethered balloon for surveillance missions », Communiqué de presse Thales, 12 juin 2014

« The USA’s RAID Program: Small Systems, Big Surveillance Time », Defence Industry Daily,  15 mai 2014

« Joint Land Attack Cruise Missile Defense Elevated Netted Sensor System (JLENS) », Communiqué du NORAD, 4 décembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.