Robotics will bring down the cost of labour by 16%

BCG - RobotiqueUses of industrial robots are about to take off. It is the opinion of the Boston Consulting Group consultants who consider that this market, which not progressed so far that at the rate of 2-3% per year, will accelerate, to around 10%. Depressed prices, performance increase but especially the arrival of a new generation of robots developed, more flexible, explain this new wave of automation.
According to them, this craze for this 2.0 Robotics will allow the major exporting countries to lower their costs of productions in a very significant way. According to them, these are South Korea, the Japan, the Canada and the United States who benefit the most from this new industrial revolution. Conversely, in race competitiveness, a number of countries will win, starting with several European countries, including the France.

South Korea and Japan should obtain spectacular productivity gains

South Korea seems to be the country that will best take advantage of the automation during the next decade. BCG consultants believe that the land of the morning calm is going to reduce the cost of labour between 21 and 47% (!) thanks to the robots, with an average of 33% against 16% for the world average. Even the Japan done less well with 25%, which is a reduction in already highly significant. The United States obtain a rate of 22%, Germany, 21%. Paradoxically, while China has massively team into robots, consultants estimate its gains to 18%.
Behind, in addition to the Thailand and Poland, many countries will literally pick up with earnings well below the world average. BCG places in the same bag the France, the Switzerland and Belgium, yet quite different countries in terms of industrial fabric and robotization. The three countries will only get 9% of earnings. In contrast, countries that rely totally on their low-cost labour such as the India or the Mexico will lose many points of competitiveness in developed countries that will make this effort of robotisation.

The robots have already left behind the man in several industries

BCG---Robotique-industrielleAs highlighted in the report, all industries will benefit the same from this windfall of productivity brought by the new-generation robots. The automotive industry, one of the most advanced in terms of automation, the hourly cost of a welding robot is of the order of $ 8 per hour, compared to $25 for a worker (figures for the U.S. market). Same observation in the electronics industry where a Universal Robots UR5 type Assembly robot costs $ 4 per hour, compared to $24 for the worker. Over the next 10 years, multiple industry will know an inflection point, with the cost of using the robot become lower than that of human beings. For example, consultants believe this inflection point to 2018 for electrical equipment, 2023 for the production of furniture, a sector still lagging in automation.
What will be the social consequence of such a wave of robots around the world? BCG consultants don’t say nothing…
Source :

“Takeoff in Robotics Will Power the Next Productivity Surge in Manufacturing”, Boston Consulting Group press release, February 10, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

La robotique va faire baisser le coût du travail de 16% en 10 ans

BCG - RobotiqueLes usages des robots industriels sont sur le point de décoller. C’est l’avis des consultants du Boston Consulting Group qui considèrent que ce marché, qui ne progressait jusqu’à présent qu’au rythme de 2 à 3% par an, va accélérer, pour atteindre environ 10%. Prix en baisse, performances en hausse mais surtout l’arrivée d’une nouvelle génération de robots avancés, plus flexibles, expliquent cette nouvelle vague de robotisation.
Selon eux, cet engouement pour cette robotique 2.0 va permettre aux grands pays exportateurs d’abaisser leurs coûts de productions de manière extrêmement significative. Selon eux, ce sont la Corée du Sud, le Japon, le Canada et les Etats-Unis qui bénéficieront le plus de cette nouvelle révolution industrielle. A contrario, dans cette course à la compétitivité, un certain nombre de pays vont décrocher, à commencer par plusieurs pays européens, dont la France.

Corée du sud et Japon devraient obtenir des gains de productivité spectaculaires

La Corée du Sud semble être le pays qui va le mieux profiter de la robotisation lors de la prochaine décennie. Les consultants du BCG estiment que le pays du matin calme va réduire le coût du travail entre 21 et 47% (!) grâce aux robots, soit une moyenne de 33% contre 16% pour la moyenne mondiale. Même le Japon fait moins bien avec 25%, ce qui est pourtant une réduction déjà extrêmement significative. Les Etats-Unis obtiennent un taux de 22%, l’Allemagne, 21%. Paradoxalement, alors que la Chine s’équipe massivement en robots, les consultants n’estiment ses gains qu’à 18%.
Derrière, outre la Thaïlande et la Pologne, bon nombre de pays vont littéralement décrocher, avec des gains bien inférieures à ceux de la moyenne mondiale. Le BCG place dans le même sac la France, la Suisse et la Belgique, des pays pourtant assez différents en termes de tissu industriel et de robotisation. Les trois pays n’obtiendront que 9% de gains. A l’opposé, des pays qui misent totalement sur leur faible coût de main d’oeuvre tels que l’Inde ou le Mexique vont perdre de nombreux points de compétitivité sur les pays développés qui vont faire cet effort de robotisation.

Les robots ont déjà distancés l’homme dans plusieurs industries

BCG---Robotique-industrielleComme le souligne le rapport, toutes les industries ne bénéficierons pas de la même manière de cette manne de productivité apportée par les robots de nouvelle génération. L’industrie automobile, l’une des plus avancées en termes de robotisation, le coût horaire d’un robot de soudure est de l’ordre de 8 $ de l’heure, contre 25 $ pour un ouvrier (chiffres relatifs au marché américain). Même constat dans l’industrie électronique où un robot d’assemblage de type Universal Robots UR5 coûte 4 $ de l’heure, contre 24 $ pour l’ouvrier. Au cours des 10 prochaines années, de multiples industrie vont connaitre un point d’inflexion, avec le coût d’utilisation du robot devenir inférieur à celui de l’être humain. Par exemple, les consultants estiment ce point d’inflexion à 2018 pour les équipements électriques, à 2023 pour la production de meubles, un secteur encore très en retard en matière de robotisation.
Quelles seront les conséquence sociales d’une telle vague de robotisation à l’échelle mondiale ? Les consultants du BCG n’en disent rien…

Source :

« Takeoff in Robotics Will Power the Next Productivity Surge in Manufacturing », Communiqué Boston Consulting Group, 10 février 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.