The incredible growth of the bioprinting

3d-bioprinting---CornellA very recent study Research & Market 3D printing market will double by 2025, to reach $ 7 billion. This isn’t the most optimistic forecast but it is in line with other studies, but what may surprise most in this study, is that analysts estimate that 7 billion, 3 will be generated by what is called the bioprinting. In a few years, the impression of living tissue will pass purely experimental use for wide dissemination. Replace a body failed by his alter-ego healthy, printed in 3D has already nothing of science fiction. By 2025, it will be (almost) commonplace.

The medical sector already fond of 3D printing

The ear print 3D and functional of the McAlpine of Princeton research group.

The ear print 3D and functional of the McAlpine of Princeton research group.

3D printing was already a place of importance in the health sector. It is more particularly the case in the production of dentures and more for the realization of prostheses of any kind. Now, it is living tissue that interested researchers.
The example of TeVido BioDevices is edifying. The texan has developed a technique to help surgical patients of breast cancer. TeVido produces fabrics in order to achieve the breast construction tissues generated from cells from the patient and then 3D printed. To achieve TeVido BioDevices uses a classic office printer, a good old printer inkjet HP bidouillée and which allows to produce custom-made implants and which are not rejected by the patient, because made with its own cells.

The bio-printing arouses the enthusiasm of researchers

Un exemple d'imprimante 3D biologique, la 3D-Bioplotter d'Envisiontec , ici au Welsh Centre for Printing and Coating (WCPC)

Un exemple d’imprimante 3D biologique, la 3D-Bioplotter d’Envisiontec, ici au Welsh Centre for Printing and Coating (WCPC)

There are many examples such as TeVido. Both startups, public research centres, private institutes, they are indeed likely to develop techniques of bio-printing or bioprinting to do many parts of the human body: Organovo, allied with Janssen R & D (Johnson & Johnson group) are working on the 3D print of liver, Harvard Wyss Institute prints blood vesselsthe Cornell researchers, one ear, others working on the skin, cartilage, bone, bladder, kidneys, etc. The sector knows a genuine excitement and techniques become more accessible. Thus, an artist is allowed to print the ear of Vincent Van Gogh from the DNA of one of his descendants.
Multiple 3D printing technologies are available today to print living tissue: bio acoustic printing, inkjet, laser, by valve. Earlier this year researchers from Carnegie Mellon and Brigham & Women’s Hospital have developed the microrobot capable of generating a living tissue, in 3 dimensions.

No heart printed in 3D before 10 years

If certain techniques seem to be very advanced, researchers at Harvard have thus managed to print fabrics including their own network of blood vessels, all is not yet feasible, including perhaps the most symbolic body of the organ transplant: the heart. Institute cardiovascular innovation at the University of Louisville is working since the 1990s on the 3D print of the heart. Its researchers have already achieved results, but Stuart Williams, researcher of the Institute, finds that need another 10 years of work before you expect to print a human heart. Therefore, many years before the concept of man in kit is a reality.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources : “TeVido BioDevices develops 3D bioprinted skin grafts for breast reconstruction”, 3ders, august 15, 2014
“3D Bioprinting Regenerates Vincent van Gogh’s Severed Ear from Relative’s DNA”, International Business Times, june 4, 2014
“Harvard scientists 3D bioprint layered tissue with blood vessels”, 3ders, february 20, 2014
“Team announces new advance in 3-D printing and tissue engineering technology”, MedicalPress, February 10, 2014
“Sales of 3D Printed Products for Medical and Dental Sectors Worth $2.8 Billion by 2019”, 3DPrinterWorld, december 14, 2013
“Louisville Researcher, Stuart Williams, Ph.D., is Closing in on Printing 3-D Hearts”, CourierJournal, may 28, 2013
“3D printer churns out bionic ear”, ChemistryWorld, mai 17, 2013
“Bioengineers, physicians 3-D print ears that look, act real”, CornellChronicle, february 20, 2013
“Bioprinting for stem cell research”, PMC, december 19, 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’incroyable essor du bioprinting

3d-bioprinting---CornellUne toute récente étude Research&Market le marché de l’impression 3D va doubler d’ici 2025, pour atteindre 7 milliards de dollars. Ce n’est pas la prévision la plus optimiste mais elle est en ligne avec les autres études, mais ce qui peut surprendre le plus dans cette étude, c’est que les analystes estiment que sur ces 7 milliards, 3 seront générés par ce que l’on appelle le bioprinting. En quelques années, l’impression de tissus vivants va passer d’une utilisation purement expérimentale à une large diffusion. Remplacer un organe défaillant par son alter-ego sain, imprimé en 3D n’a déjà plus rien de la science fiction. En 2025, ce sera (presque) banal.

Le secteur médical, déjà friand d’impression 3D

L'oreille imprimée en 3D et fonctionnelle du groupe de recherche McAlpine de Princeton.

L’oreille imprimée en 3D et fonctionnelle du groupe de recherche McAlpine de Princeton.

L’impression 3D s’est déjà fait une place d’importance dans le secteur de la santé. C’est plus particulièrement le cas dans la production de prothèses dentaires et de plus en plus pour la réalisation de prothèses en tout genre. Désormais, c’est aux tissus vivants qui intéressent les chercheurs.
L’exemple de TeVido BioDevices est édifiant. Le texan a développé une technique pour venir en aide aux malades opérés d’un cancer du sein. TeVido produit des tissus afin de réaliser la construction mammaire, des tissus générés à partir des cellules de la patiente puis imprimées en 3D. Pour y parvenir, TeVido BioDevices utilise une imprimante bureautique classique, une bonne vielle imprimante à jet d’encre HP bidouillée et qui permet de produire des implants sur mesure et qui ne sont pas rejetés par la patiente, puisque réalisés avec ses propres cellules.

La bio-impression suscite l’engouement des chercheurs

Un exemple d'imprimante 3D biologique, la 3D-Bioplotter d'Envisiontec , ici au Welsh Centre for Printing and Coating (WCPC)

Un exemple d’imprimante 3D biologique, la 3D-Bioplotter d’Envisiontec, ici au Welsh Centre for Printing and Coating (WCPC)

Les exemples tels que TeVido sont nombreux. Que ce soient des start-up, des centres de recherche public, des instituts privés, ils sont en effet nombreux à mettre au point des techniques de bio-impression ou bioprinting pour ne nombreuses parties du corps humain : Organovo, allié à Janssen R&D (groupe Johnson&Johnson) travaillent notamment sur l’impression 3D du foie, le Harvard Wyss Institute imprime des vaisseaux sanguins, les chercheurs de Cornell, une oreille, d’autres travaillent sur la peau, les cartilages, les os, la vessie, les reins, etc. Le secteur connait une véritable effervescence et ses techniques deviennent plus accessibles. Ainsi, un artiste s’est permis d’imprimer l’oreille de Vincent Van Gogh à partir de l’ADN de l’un de ses descendants.
De multiples technologies d’impression 3D sont aujourd’hui disponible pour imprimer des tissus vivants : bio impression acoustique, par jet d’encre, par laser, par valve. En début d’année les chercheurs de Carnegie Mellon et de l’hôpital Brigham&Women’s ont mis au point des micro-robots capables de générer un tissu vivant, en 3 dimensions.

Pas de cœur imprimé en 3D avant 10 ans

Si certaines techniques semblent très avancées, les chercheurs d’Harvard sont ainsi parvenus à imprimer des tissus incluant leur propre réseau de vaisseaux sanguins, tout n’est pas encore réalisable, notamment l’organe peut-être le plus symbolique de la greffe d’organe: le cœur. L’Institut d’innovation cardiovasculaire de l’Université de Louisville travaille depuis les années 90 sur l’impression 3D du cœur. Ses chercheurs ont déjà obtenus des résultats probants, mais Stuart Williams, chercheur de l’institut, considère qu’il faudra encore 10 ans de travail avant d’espérer imprimer un cœur humain. Il faudra donc encore de nombreuses années avant que le concept d’homme en kit ne soit une réalité.

Sources :

« TeVido BioDevices develops 3D bioprinted skin grafts for breast reconstruction », 3ders, 15 août 2014
« 3D Bioprinting Regenerates Vincent van Gogh’s Severed Ear from Relative’s DNA », International Business Times, 4 juin 2014
« Harvard scientists 3D bioprint layered tissue with blood vessels », 3ders, 20 février 2014
« Team announces new advance in 3-D printing and tissue engineering technology », MedicalPress, 10 février 2014
« Sales of 3D Printed Products for Medical and Dental Sectors Worth $2.8 Billion by 2019 », 3DPrinterWorld, 14 décembre 2013
« Louisville Researcher, Stuart Williams, Ph.D., is Closing in on Printing 3-D Hearts », CourierJournal, 28 mai 2013
« 3D printer churns out bionic ear », ChemistryWorld, 17 mai 2013
« Bioengineers, physicians 3-D print ears that look, act real », CornellChronicle, 20 février 2013
« Bioprinting for stem cell research », PMC, 19 décembre 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.