Biorobotics: When robots imitate nature

GhostSwimmerThe first apparently successful tests of GhostSwimmer, this robot designed for the U.S. Navy shark-shaped highlight multiple created robots on the models of animals. Because this stealth submarine drone, designed by Boston Engineering, is only one of the last Scion of a family of bio-inspired robot already very supplied. At this robotics, obviously bestiary mules of Boston Dynamics, the Cheetah from MIT, but as well other weird animals that have served as model for the roboticists. Diving in the futuristic zoo of animal robots.

The roboticists are not only interested to Humanoids

In the collective imagination, when talking about robot, known as humanoid robots and many researchers have worked on robot standing. There are already many on the market, from simple toys to the more sophisticated models. From this point of view, few groups research one reaches such mastery that Honda, whose casting approach of the latest versions of its ASIMO remained unmatched.

Big Dog, a quadruped robot near the level operational, but not devoid of defects.

Big Dog, a quadruped robot near the level operational, but not devoid of defects.

Nevertheless, side of this research on the human market, many are those who work on anatomy animal, more suitable or effective than humans to run fast, climb obstacles or move in confined spaces, its talk of the flight.

The animal robot best-known today is probably the Boston Dynamics ‘Big Dog’. Created for the U.S. Army, this large quadruped robot must play the role of “mule” for the soldiers, wearing their package whatever the terrain. Seen evolve from time to time during the U.S. major drawback of the ‘Big Dog’ army, the engine 2 time which he is equipped to power its systems in hydraulic pressure. Stalled at 9,000 rpm, this big lawn mower engine made an uproar of hell and therefore indicates the position of the Group of soldier all insurgents in the round. The ‘Big Dog’ LS3 wholesale is not the only “animal” has be released Boston Dynamics Lab. His little brother, the ‘Little Dog’ has the size of a chihuahua and can wander among the rocks for about thirty minutes thanks to its lithium polymer batteries. A solution “all electric” quieter than his elder hydraulics. Another demonstrator developed by the United States with researchers from the University of Pennsylvania, Carnegie Mellon, UC Berkeley, Stanford, and Lewis and Clark University, the RiSE, set insect 6-legged, mi lizard, this robot can climb vertically on a wall or a tree trunk.

Version 2 of the Cheetah (Cheetah) of MIT embarked now is batteries and can move outside his laboratory.

Version 2 of the Cheetah (Cheetah) of MIT embarked now is batteries and can move outside his laboratory.

Another research team very active in this field of robots inspired by nature, the Biomimetic Robotics Lab at MIT. Version 1 of its Cheetah could run on a treadmill 22 km/h and jump obstacles of 30 cm in height. Its evolution 2 embeds now its batteries and little Frolic without fil à la patte on the campus of MIT. The top speed of the Cheetah visibly inspired many researchers since Boston Dynamics had also developed a robot Cheetah, u robot which had reached a record speed of 45.54 km/h, a robot faster than Usain Bolt…

 

The seventh generation of robot snake created by Dr. Gavin thousand, it was in 2005.

The seventh generation of robot snake created by Dr. Gavin thousand, it was in 2005.

More unusual, some roboticists looked at the case of worms and other snakes. Certainly these are much slower, however is a particularly interesting pattern to go wear sensors in very difficult places of access, particularly in tubes. British OC Robotics so specializes in robots used snakes, among others, in the nuclear industry. Research continues in this direction, including the laboratory of biorobotics University of Carnegie Mellon led by Professor Howie Choset, developing robots modular snake, it means to which you can add standard ‘links’, depending on the need. Its robots are particularly impressive to climb trees or in perfectly smooth-walled pipes. The prize for the most bizarre robot however goes to the pneumatic starfish, invented by researchers at Harvard. Virtually indestructible, it can crawl through the flames or in the snow to rescue a human being in a bad position. This “soft” Robotics risk of giving birth to a good strange bestiary in the years to come.

Insects, an inexhaustible breeding tank for researchers

A fly developed by the Harvard Wyss Institute.

A fly developed by the Harvard Wyss Institute.

In the animal world, another great source of inspiration for the roboticists are found in insects. Mechanically simpler to emulate than large mammals, insects are also characterized by their physical performance out of the ordinary. Example of simplicity, the DASH (Dynamic Autonomous Sprawled Hexapod) of the University of California, Berkeley. This cockroach 6-legged is characterized by great simplicity of its market that requires no balance control. Result, the DASH weighs that 16 grams and few even move upside down with Velcro at the end of his paws. Another aspect interesting insect: the simplicity and effectiveness of the mechanics of his flight. By transposing the movement of the wings of a fly, it is possible to create ultra light with a stunning size drones. The Institute researchers are working on RoboBees, flying robots about the size of a coin and that could move in myriads to search for survivors of a large-scale disaster or to pollinate the fields when the bees have disappeared…

The birds thrills the audience, but what applications for a robot bird?

The SmartBird, one of many robots created by Festo nature-inspired.

The SmartBird, one of many robots created by Festo nature-inspired.

The recent success of the Bionic Bird project who has managed to raise $15.5361 on Indiegogo crowdfunding site against a $25,000 expected demonstrates the interest shown by the general public for crow flies drones. This bird controlled by smartphone will be released in 2015.
Festo, provider of automation systems is is already rubbed the mechanical flight, with its SmartBird, a large articulated bird unveiled in 2011, but without commercial intent. With this robotic Seagull, this constructor is not his first attempt. Recently, industry had unveiled a BionicKangaroo Kangaroo, after to be interested at the Penguin, fish, or jellyfish yet.

Fish robot G6 of the University of Essex.

Fish robot G6 of the University of Essex.

In marine robots, the shark “GhostSwimmer” of the U.S. Navy is far from unique. The school of computer science and electronics from the University of Essex unveiled a robot fish. The University of Essex is involved in the European project SHOAL, alongside the port of Gijón, Thales, University of Strathclyde, the Tyndall National Institute and BMT Group. Their goal is to create patches of robotic fish that are able to analyze the water and identify the sources of marine pollution.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Indestructible Starfish Robots Could Save Your Life One Day“, Popular Mechanics, September 9, 2014

“Bioinspired drones of the future”, KurzwailAI, May 25, 2014

“Bio-Inspired Robots”, California Academy of Sciences, May 8, 2013

“Bioinspired Robotics”, The Wyss Institute, Harvard

“Bio-Bots: 9 Wild Nature-Mimicking Machines”, Popular Mechanics

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Biorobotique : Quand les robots imitent la nature

GhostSwimmerLes premiers essais visiblement réussis du GhostSwimmer, ce robot en forme de requin conçu pour l’US Navy mettent en lumière les multiples robots créés sur le modèles d’animaux. Car ce drone sous-marin furtif, conçu par Boston Engineering, n’est que l’un des dernier rejeton d’une famille de robot bio-inspirés déjà très fournie. A ce bestiaire robotique, bien évidement les mules de Boston Dynamics, le guépard du MIT, mais aussi bien d’autres animaux bizarres qui ont servi de modèle aux roboticiens. Plongée dans le zoo futuriste des animaux robots.

Les roboticiens ne s’intéressent pas qu’aux humanoïdes

Dès 1738, l'homme à chercher à créer des animaux artificiels, à l'image du canard de Jacques de Vaucanson, en 1738.

Dès 1738, l’homme à chercher à créer des animaux artificiels, à l’image du canard de Jacques de Vaucanson, en 1738.

Dans l’imaginaire collectif, quand on parle robot, on parle robots humanoïdes et beaucoup de chercheurs ont travaillé sur la mise au point de robot se tenant debout. Il en existe deja beaucoup sur le marché, depuis les simples jouets jusqu’aux modèles les plus sophistiqués. De ce point de vue, peu de groupes de recherche on atteint une telle maîtrise que celui de Honda, dont la démarche coulée des dernières versions de son ASIMO reste sans pareille.

Néanmoins, à côté de cette recherche sur la marche humaine, nombreux sont ceux qui travaillent sur l’anatomie animale, bien plus adaptée ou efficace que celle de l’humain pour courir vite, escalader des obstacles ou se déplacer dans des espaces restreints, sa parler du vol.

 

Le Big Dog, un robot quadrupède proche du niveau opérationnel, mais pas dénué de défauts.

Le Big Dog, un robot quadrupède proche du niveau opérationnel, mais pas dénué de défauts.

L’animal robot le plus connu aujourd’hui est probablement le « Big Dog » de Boston Dynamics. Créé pour l’armée américaine, ce gros robot quadrupède doit jouer le rôle de « mule » pour les soldats, portant leur paquetage quelque soit le terrain. On le voit évoluer de temps à autre lors des exercices de l’armée US. Inconvénient majeur du « Big Dog », le moteur 2 temps dont il est équipé pour alimenter ses systèmes en pression hydraulique. Calé à 9.000 tr/mn, ce moteur de grosse tondeuse à gazon fait un vacarme d’enfer et signale donc la position du groupe de soldat à tous les insurgés à la ronde. Le gros « Big Dog » LS3  n’est pas le seul « animal » a être sorti du labo de Boston Dynamics. Son petit frère, le « Little Dog » a la taille d’un chihuahua et peut se promener parmi les rochers pendant une trentaine de minutes grâce à ses batteries lithium polymères. Une solution « tout électrique » plus silencieuse que l’hydraulique de son aîné. Autre démonstrateur mis au point par l’américain avec les chercheurs de l’université de Pennsylvanie Carnegie Mellon, UC Berkeley, Stanford, et la Lewis and Clark University, le RiSE, mis insecte à 6 pattes, mi lézard, ce robot peut grimper à la verticale sur un mur ou un tronc d’arbre.

La version 2 du Cheetah (guépard) du MIT embarque désormais est batteries et peut se déplacer en dehors de son laboratoire.

La version 2 du Cheetah (guépard) du MIT embarque désormais est batteries et peut se déplacer en dehors de son laboratoire.

Autre équipe de recherche très active dans ce domaine des robots inspirés par la nature, le Biomimetic Robotics Lab du MIT. La version 1 de son guépard pouvait courir sur un tapis roulant jusqu’à 22 km/h et sauter des obstacles de 30 cm de hauteur. Son évolution 2 embarque désormais ses batteries et peu gambader sans fil à la patte sur le campus du MIT. La vitesse de pointe du guépard inspire visiblement beaucoup les chercheurs puisque Boston Dynamics avait lui aussi mis au point un robot Cheetah, u robot qui avait atteint la vitesse record de 45,54 km/h, un robot plus rapide qu’Usain Bolt à la course…

 

La septième génération de robot serpent  créée par le Dr Gavin Millier, c'était en  2005.

La septième génération de robot serpent créée par le Dr Gavin Millier, c’était en 2005.

A l’opposé de ses rapides mammifères, certains roboticiens ce sont penchés sur le cas des vers et autres serpents. Certes ceux-ci sont beaucoup plus lents, par contre c’est une configuration particulièrement intéressante pour aller porter des capteurs dans des endroits très difficiles d’accès, notamment dans des tuyauteries. Le britannique OC Robotics s’est ainsi spécialisé dans les robots serpents utilisés, entres autres, dans l’industrie nucléaire. La recherche continue dans cette voie, notamment le laboratoire de biorobotique de l’université de Carnegie Mellon dirigé par le professeur Howie Choset qui met au point des robots serpents modulaires, c’est à dire auxquels on peut ajouter des « maillons » standards, en fonction du besoin. Ses robots se montrent particulièrement impressionnant pour monter aux arbres ou dans des tuyaux aux parois parfaitement lisses. La palme du robot le plus bizarre revient toutefois à l’étoile de mer pneumatique, inventée par les chercheurs d’Harvard. Quasiment indestructible, celle-ci peut ramper à travers les flammes ou dans la neige pour secourir un être humain en mauvaise posture. Cette robotique « molle » risque de donner naissance à un bien étrange bestiaire dans les années à venir.

Les insectes, un vivier inépuisable pour les chercheurs

La mouche mise au point par l'Institut Wyss d'Harvard.

La mouche mise au point par l’Institut Wyss d’Harvard.

Dans le monde animal, une autre grande source d’inspiration pour les roboticiens se trouvent dans les insectes. Mécaniquement plus simples à imiter que les grands  mammifères, les insectes se caractérisent aussi par leurs performances physiques hors du commun. Exemple de celle simplicité, le DASH (Dynamic Autonomous Sprawled Hexapod) de l’université de Berkeley. Ce cafard à 6 pattes se caractérise par la grande simplicité de sa marche qui ne nécessite aucun contrôle d’équilibre. Résultat, le DASH ne pèse que 16 grammes et peu même se déplacer la tête en bas avec des velcros au bout de ses pattes. Autre aspect intéressant de l’insecte : la simplicité et l’efficacité de la mécanique de son vol. En transposant le mouvement des ailes d’une mouche, il est possible de créer des drones ultra légers et d’une taille stupéfiante. Les chercheurs de l’institut travaillent notamment sur les RoboBees, des robots volants de la taille d’une pièce de monnaie et qui pourraient se déplacer en myriades pour chercher les survivants d’une catastrophe de grande ampleur ou pour polliniser les champs lorsque les abeilles auront disparues…

L’oiseau fait rêver le public, mais quelle applications pour un oiseau robot ?

Le SmartBird, l'un des nombreux robots inspirés par la nature créé par Festo.

Le SmartBird, l’un des nombreux robots inspirés par la nature créé par Festo.

Le récent succès du projet Bionic Bird qui est parvenu à lever 15.5361 $ sur le site de crowdfunding Indiegogo contre 25,000 $ espérés montre l’intérêt porté par le grand public pour des drones à vol d’oiseau. Cet oiseau contrôlé par smartphone sera commercialisé en 2015.

Festo, fournisseur de systèmes d’automatisation s’est déjà frotté au vol mécanique, avec son SmartBird, un grand oiseau articulé dévoilé en 2011, mais sans visée commerciale. Avec cette mouette robotisée, ce constructeur n’est pas à son coup d’essai. Tout récemment, l’industriel avait dévoilé un kangourou BionicKangaroo, après s’être intéressé au pingouin, au poisson, ou encore aux méduses.

Le poisson robot G6 de l'université d'Essex.

Le poisson robot G6 de l’université d’Essex.

En matière de robots marins, le requin « GhostSwimmer » de l’US Navy est loin d’être unique. L’école d’informatique et d’électronique de l’université d’Essex a dévoilé un poisson robot. L’université d’Essex participe au projet européen SHOAL, aux cotés du port de Gijon, Thales, l’Université de Strathclyde, le Tyndall National Institute et BMT Group. Leur objectif est de créer des bancs  de poissons robotisés capables d’analyser l’eau et identifier les sources de pollution marine.

Sources :

« Indestructible Starfish Robots Could Save Your Life One Day« , Popular Mechanics, 9 septembre 2014

« Bioinspired drones of the future », KurzwailAI, 25 mai 2014

« Bio-Inspired Robots », California Academy of Sciences, 8 mai 2013

« Bioinspired Robotics », The Wyss Institute, Harvard

« Bio-Bots: 9 Wild Nature-Mimicking Machines », Popular Mechanics

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.