Boston Consulting Group: Robotics, a market of 67 Md$ in 2025

Robots-DeltaRobotics will be the “Megatrend” of the next few years. It will redefine the industry, but also good impact to other sectors. Performance increase, price decrease, the number of applications of the robots explode in the future. Analyses of BCG estimate that this market, which was still only 15 billion dollars in 2010, will reach $ 67 billion. Each company must now begin to reflect on how his Business Model is going to be impacted by the rise of robots, because of many sector will have to make their Robotics revolution.

Robot will be more than synonymous with automotive assembly line

Service robotics, here a Pal Robotics robot in an open space, is part of this 'Megatrend' Robotics announced by BCG.

Service robotics, here a Pal Robotics robot in an open space, is part of this ‘Megatrend’ Robotics announced by BCG.

In a recent note of analysis, experts from Boston Consulting Group underline the profound changes that will know the Robotics market in years to come. The robots will leave automakers Assembly hall and painting workshops for the conquest of other industries. The food industry, including is cited by analyses.
Another factor for growth in this market, emerging countries. The divide between developed countries who buy robots and emerging countries that rely on the low cost of their workforce will disappear. China Team, and many countries will turn to robots to compensate for the slowdown in the growth of their population active (Germany, Japan and South Korea in mind).

The military will become the biggest buyers of robots by 2025

Rise-of-Robotics-ex1_large_tcm80-168768More powerful (relatively) cheap and more advanced behaviour, robots will conquer many markets. The military will return the largest buyers of robots, before even the industrialists but markets that will experience the most growth over the period 2000/2025 will be those commercial robots and personal robots. The first category includes the robots for the medical sector, agriculture and construction. What BCG analysts call personal robot gathers leisure robots, domestic robots or even those who will be dedicated to education. By 2025, these markets weigh respectively $ 17 billion and 9 billion, against $ 16.5 billion for various military applications of robotics.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “The Rise of Robotics”, BCG Perspectives, August 27, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Boston Consulting Group : La robotique, un marché de 67 Md$ en 2025

Robots-DeltaLa robotique sera la « Megatrend » de ces prochaines années. Elle va redéfinir l’industrie, mais aussi impacter bien d’autres secteurs. Performances en hausse, prix en baisse, le nombre d’applications des robots va exploser à l’avenir. Les analyses du BCG estiment que ce marché, qui n’atteignait encore que 15 milliards de dollars en 2010, atteindra 67 milliards de dollars. Chaque entreprise doit désormais commencer à réfléchir sur la manière dont son Business Model va être impacté par la montée en puissance de robots, car de nombreux secteur vont devoir faire leur révolution robotique.

Robot ne sera plus synonyme de chaîne de montage automobile

La robotique de service, ici un robot de Pal Robotics en entreprise, fait partie de cette 'Megatrend' robotique annoncée par le BCG.

La robotique de service, ici un robot de Pal Robotics en entreprise, fait partie de cette ‘Megatrend’ robotique annoncée par le BCG.

Dans une récente note d’analyse, les experts du Boston Consulting Group soulignent les profondes mutations que va connaître le marché de la robotique dans les années à venir. Les robots vont quitter les ateliers de peinture et hall de montage des constructeurs automobiles pour partir à la conquête d’autres industries. L’agro-alimentaire, notamment est cité par les analyses.
Autre facteur de croissance pour ce marché, les pays émergents. La fracture entre des pays développés qui achètent des robots et des pays émergents qui misent sur le faible coût de leur main d’œuvre va disparaître. La Chine s’équipe, et de nombreux pays vont se tourner vers les robots pour palier au ralentissement de la croissance de leur population active (Allemagne, Japon et Corée du Sud en tête).

Les militaires deviendront les plus gros acheteurs de robots en 2025

Rise-of-Robotics-ex1_large_tcm80-168768Plus puissants, aux comportements plus évolués, et (relativement) moins chers, les robots vont conquérir de nombreux nouveaux marchés. Les militaires vont revenir les plus gros acheteurs de robots, devant même les industriels mais les marchés qui connaîtront la plus forte croissance sur la période 2000/2025 seront ceux des robots commerciaux et des robots personnels. La première catégorie regroupe les robots destinés au secteur médical, à l’agriculture et au BTP. Ce que les analystes du BCG appellent robot personnel regroupe les robots de loisirs, les robots domestiques ou encore ceux qui seront dédiés à l’éducation. En 2025, ces marchés pèseront respectivement 17 milliards de dollars et 9 milliards, contre 16,5 milliards pour les diverses applications militaires de la robotique.

Source : « The Rise of Robotics », BCG Perspectives, 27 août 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.