Success for the robot arm controlled by thought of Chalmers University

Prothese robotique ChalmersIn January 2013, an amputated right arm Swedish was the first man to see graft a robotic arm controlled by thought. Nearly two years later, the balance is surprisingly positive. Placed directly on the humerus and connected with his nerves and muscles interface seems to work perfectly. Not only the patient can now operate the front arm robot by thought, but its interface allows him to regain a certain sensitivity. The time of cyborgs is well and truly arrived.

A major step forward in the control by the thought of robotic prostheses

The neuromuscular interface developed by Max Ortiz Catalan, researcher at the University of technology of Chalmers (Sweden), seems to be a success. Through this interface, the robotic prosthesis wearer can grab objects, tie his shoelaces, lead a normal life. Just it ” plugger ” his forearm robotic interface referred to the bone in his arm to regain the use of this member amputated more than 10 years ago. The patient even demonstrated that he was fit to hold a physical occupation such as truck driver with his prosthesis. The interface created by Max Ortiz Catalan is bidirectional: bearer can not only control the hand, but also feel the sensations from sensors placed on the prosthesis. It is allowing it to be able to take an egg without breaking it or using a drill.

The bearer of the robotic arm was able to perform the physical tasks of a truck driver with its robotic arm.

The bearer of the robotic arm was able to perform the physical tasks of a truck driver with its robotic arm.

The results presented by researchers at Chalmers are extremely impressive if compared to the experiments carried out in recent years from brain activity sensors (EEG) or results obtained with a chip implanted in the brain as tempted by DARPA. ” We see this technology as an important step towards a more natural to artificial limb control ,” said Max Ortiz Catalan in the official communiqué of the University. “This is the missing link that will allow interfaces neural take control of sophisticated, hearing what was possible only in short experiments in controlled environment so far ” concludes the researcher.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Mind-controlled prosthetic arms that work in daily life are now a reality”, Communiqué Chalmers, 8 octobre 2014

“An osseointegrated human-machine gateway for long-term sensory feedback and motor control of artificial limbs”, ScienceMag, 8 octobre 2014

“A giant leap for BCIs: Paraplegic woman uses mind-controlled robotic arm to feed herself”, ExtremeTech, 12 septembre 2012

“First Mind-Controlled Robotic Leg Put Through Its Paces”, Technology Review, 3 septembre 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Succès pour le bras robot contrôlé par la pensée de l’université de Chalmers

Prothese robotique ChalmersEn janvier 2013, un suédois amputé du bras droit était le premier homme à se voir greffé un bras robotisé contrôlé par la pensée. Près de deux ans plus tard, le bilan est étonnamment positif. L’interface posée directement sur son humérus et connectée à ses nerfs et à ses muscles semble fonctionner parfaitement. Non seulement le patient peut aujourd’hui faire fonctionner l’avant bras robotisé par la pensée, mais son interface lui permet de retrouver une certaine sensibilité. L’heure des cyborgs est bel et bien arrivée.

Une avancée majeure dans le contrôle par la pensée des prothèses robotisées

L’interface neuromusculaire mise au point par Max Ortiz Catalan, chercheur de l’université de technologies de Chalmers (Suède), semble être un succès. Via cette interface, le porteur de la prothèse robotisée peut se saisir d’objets, nouer ses lacets, mener une vie normale. Il lui suffit de « plugger » son avant-bras robotisé à l’interface visée à l’os de son bras pour retrouver l’usage de ce membre amputé voici plus de 10 ans. Le patient a même pu démontrer qu’il était apte à occuper un métier physique tel que chauffeur routier grâce à sa prothèse. L’interface créée par Max Ortiz Catalan est bidirectionnelle : Le porteur peut non seulement contrôler la main, mais aussi ressentir des sensations à partir des capteurs placés sur la prothèse. C’est ce qui lui permet de pouvoir prendre un oeuf sans le briser ou utiliser une perceuse.

Le porteur de la prothèse à interface neuromusculaire a pu assurer les tâches physiques d'un chauffeur routier grâce à son bras robotique.

Le porteur de la prothèse à interface neuromusculaire a pu assurer les tâches physique d’un chauffeur routier grâce à son bras robotique.

Les résultats présentés par les chercheurs de Chalmers sont extrêmement impressionnants si on les compare aux expérimentations menées ces dernières années à partir de capteurs d’activité cérébrale (EEG) ou encore les résultats obtenus avec une puce implantée dans le cerveau comme tenté par la DARPA. « Nous voyons cette technologie comme un pas important vers un contrôle plus naturel des membres artificiels » déclare Max Ortiz Catalan dans le communiqué officiel de l’université. “Il s’agit du chaînon manquant qui va permettre à des interfaces neurales de prendre le contrôle de prothèses sophistiquées, ce qui n’était jusqu’ici possible que lors de courtes expériences en environnement contrôlé ” conclut le chercheur.
Sources :

« Mind-controlled prosthetic arms that work in daily life are now a reality », Communiqué Chalmers, 8 octobre 2014

« An osseointegrated human-machine gateway for long-term sensory feedback and motor control of artificial limbs », ScienceMag, 8 octobre 2014

« A giant leap for BCIs: Paraplegic woman uses mind-controlled robotic arm to feed herself », ExtremeTech, 12 septembre 2012

« First Mind-Controlled Robotic Leg Put Through Its Paces », Technology Review, 3 septembre 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.