Automotive: Record number of patents filed in 2014

Toyota-Fuel-Cell-Vehicle The 18 largest global car manufacturers have filed more than 57,000 patents in 2014. This is a new record on the matter since this number has increased by 7% in a year after a slight decline in 2013. Manufacturers have increased their budgets R & amp; development, including the electric propulsion systems, hybrid and fuel cells. According to figures collected by the “Center of Automotive Management” German, a giant largely dominates this ranking innovative Toyota.

Increasingly manufacturers work on alternative powertrains

Car manufacturers have boosted their R & amp; D. After the air hole after the 2009 financial crisis, manufacturers increased their research budgets and the number of patents filed in resumed its progress.

Not surprisingly, German manufacturers increased their patents. The number of patents filed by Volkswagen engineers increased by 35%, that of their colleagues in BMW 29%, that 15% of Daimler.

Patents in Automotive Industry - CAM

The ranking of car manufacturers that filed the most patents in 2014. Source : CAM, 2015

Among American automakers, while innovation at General Motors declined slightly in 2014, this is not the case of Ford. The iconic manufacturer committed to innovation and has set up a research center in Silicon Valley which seems to turn full. The number of patents filed by Ford was up 33% in one year. Nevertheless all global manufacturers are still light years of the patent torrent file Toyota engineers each year. In 2014, they filed nearly 15,000 patents, 26% of all patents filed by the 18 largest groups in the sector!

Researchers from the “Center of Automotive Management” emphasize that many of the patents on the powertrain no longer wear on engines conventional explosion but on hybrid or electric propulsion. These alternatives accounted for 85% of patents filed on the propulsion part including nearly 6,000 for hybrid systems, electric drive for 4300 and 1200 for fuel cells. Toyota is obviously the champion of patents on electric motors and hybridization, but General Potors, Hyundai, Ford and Volkswagen have multiplied the publications on this subject in 2014 and joined Toyota, Nissan and Honda.

As for French manufacturers PSA ,, appears in ninth place with a number of further decline patents. Renault (excluding Nissan) knows a slight increase but only in peak 12th Place.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Patente der Automobilhersteller”, Die Welt, July 31, 2015

“Automotive Innovations 2015Die Patente der globalen AutomobilherstellerEntwicklungen und Trends im Längs- und Querschnittvergleich 2006-2014″, July 31, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Automobile : Record du nombre de brevets déposés en 2014

Toyota-Fuel-Cell-VehicleLes 18 plus grands constructeurs automobiles mondiaux ont déposé plus de 57.000 brevets en 2014. C’est un nouveau record en la matière puisque ce nombre s’est accru de 7% en un an après une légère baisse en 2013. Les constructeurs ont augmenté leurs budgets recherche & développement, notamment sur les systèmes de propulsion électriques, hybrides et les piles à combustible. Selon les chiffres collectés par le « Center of Automotive Management » allemand, un géant domine très largement ce classement des innovateurs : Toyota.

De plus en plus de constructeurs travaillent sur les propulsions alternatives

Les constructeurs automobiles ont relancé leurs investissements en R&D. Après le trou d’air après la crise financière de 2009, les industriels ont accru leurs budgets de recherche et le nombre de brevets déposé à repris sa progression.

Sans surprise, les constructeurs allemands ont accru leurs dépôts de brevets. Le nombre de brevets déposés par les ingénieurs de Volkswagen s’est accru de 35%, celui de leurs collègues de BMW de 29%, celui de Daimler de 15%.

Patents in Automotive Industry - CAM

Le classement des constructeurs automobiles qui ont déposé le plus de brevets en 2014. Source : CAM, 2015

Chez les constructeurs américains, si l’innovation chez General Motors a connu une légère baisse en 2014, ce n’est pas le cas de Ford. Le constructeur emblématique mise sur l’innovation et a installé un centre de recherche dans la Silicon Valley qui semble tourner à plein. Le nombre de brevets déposés par Ford a progressé de 33% en un an. Néanmoins tous les constructeurs mondiaux restent encore à des années lumières du torrent de brevets que les ingénieurs de Toyota déposent chaque année. En 2014, ceux-ci ont déposé près de 15.000 brevets, soit 26% de la totalité des brevets déposés par les 18 plus grands groupes du secteur !

Les chercheurs du « Center of Automotive Management » soulignent que bon nombre des brevets déposés concernant le groupe motopropulseur ne portent plus sur les moteurs à explosion classique, mais sur la propulsion hybride ou électrique. Ces alternatives ont représenté 85% des brevets déposés sur la partie propulsion dont près de 6.000 pour les systèmes hybrides, 4.300 pour la propulsion électrique, et 1.200 pour les piles à combustible. Toyota est bien évidemment le champion des brevets déposés sur les moteurs électriques et l’hybridation, mais General Potors, Hyundai, Ford et Volkswagen ont multiplié les publications sur ce sujet en 2014 et rejoint Toyota, Nissan et Honda.

Quant aux constructeurs français,, PSA apparaît en neuvième position avec un nombre de brevets en nouvelle baisse. Renault (hors Nissan) connait une légère progression mais ne pointe qu’en 12ième place.
Sources :

« Patente der Automobilhersteller », Die Welt, 31 juillet 2015

« Automotive Innovations 2015Die Patente der globalen AutomobilherstellerEntwicklungen und Trends im Längs- und Querschnittvergleich 2006-2014″, 31 juillet 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.