Build 2015: will 3MF format be the new standard for 3D printing?

Microsoft-Build-2015Microsoft continues its efforts to make 3MF (for 3D Manufacturing Format) the standard file format for 3D printing.
The number 1 software took advantage of its developer Build 2015 conference that just ended in San Francisco, to unveil the list of new partners have joined the ‘Consortium 3MF. Autodesk, Dassault systems, HP and even the netfabb Publisher ranged behind 3MF which may well, ultimately replace the STL format.

Microsoft has entrusted the fate its 3MF format to a consortium

It is in 2013 that Microsoft unveiled 3D Builder, a small application for Windows 8.1 dedicated to 3D printing. Nothing very revolutionary if it is only the application marked the willingness of Microsoft to make Windows an operating system natively compatible with 3D printers. In his usual editor proposed its own format, 3MF.

3D Print dataflow

Besides the geometrical model, format 3MF embarked textures but also a ‘ticket’, information concerning its priority in the print queue.

Asset of this file format, 3MF is a ‘dialect’ XML. It is therefore easily interpretable and readable, even. But the main contribution of this format is to include data of textures and colors. An interesting capacity for future high-end including 3D printers that will extricate the prototypes in colors with the decoration of the final product without the need to paint. In addition to specifying 3MF, Microsoft then made available an SDK so that application developers integrate this format to their offerings.

3DSystems, Makerbot, nor Stratasys are currently part of the Consortium 3MF

At the time of its announcement, in 2013, Microsoft could rely on the support of Makerbot and 3Dsystems, 2 major manufacturers of 3D printers which then announced their willingness to develop of drivers 3MF for their machines.

3MF will be flown on the Spark of Autodesk 3D printing platform.

3MF will be flown on the Spark of Autodesk 3D printing platform.

On the occasion of Build 2015, Microsoft announced the creation of the Consortium 3MF, an alliance created to push the adoption of the format on the market. The consortium has 7 founding members: Autodesk, Dassault systems, HP, Microsoft, netfabb, shapeways and SLM Solutions.
3MF implementation will be free for members of the consortium, the members sure to acquire the patent rights. Microsoft plans to publish the code on Github to read 3D 3MF-OBJ-STL formats, to write 3MF files, as well as the publisher wants to provide access to Web Services dedicated to the repair of the 3D models. 3MF has everything to the purely commercial 3D printing market. As for the world of the makers, it will take probably much longer this new format to dethrone STL.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“3MF Consortium Launches to Advance 3D Printing Technology”, 3MF Consortium press release, April 30, 2015

“New Technology for 3D Printing – New Consortium Leading the Way”, Channel9/MSDN, April 23, 2015

“Microsoft Talks More About 3D Printing in Windows 8.1”, Tom’s Guide, September 23, 2013

“3D Printing Support in Windows 8.1 Explained”, Blogging Wnidows, August 22, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in 3D, Impression 3D and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Build 2015 : le format 3MF sera-t-il le nouveau standard de l’impression 3D ?

Microsoft-Build-2015Microsoft poursuit ses efforts pour faire de 3MF (pour 3D Manufacturing Format) le format de fichier standard de l’impression 3D.

Le numéro 1 du logiciel a profité de sa conférence développeur Build 2015 qui vient de se terminer à San Francisco, pour dévoiler la liste des nouveaux partenaires à avoir rallié le « 3MF Consortium ». Autodesk, Dassault Systèmes, HP et encore l’éditeur netfabb se sont rangés derrière 3MF qui pourrait bien, à terme, remplacer le format STL.

Microsoft a confié le sort son format 3MF à un consortium

C’est en 2013 que Microsoft dévoilait 3D Builder, une petite application pour Windows 8.1 dédiée à l’impression 3D. Rien de très révolutionnaire si ce n’est que l’application marquait la volonté de Microsoft de vouloir faire de Windows un système d’exploitation nativement compatible avec les imprimantes 3D. Comme à son habitude, l’éditeur proposait son propre format, 3MF.

3D Print dataflow

Outre le modèle géométrique, le format 3MF embarque les textures mais aussi un ‘ticket’, des informations relative à sa priorité dans la file d’impression.

Atout de ce format de fichier, 3MF est un « dialecte » XML. Il est donc facilement interprétable et lisible, même par un humain. Mais le principal apport de ce format est d’inclure des données de textures et de couleurs. Une capacité intéressante pour les futures imprimantes 3D haut de gamme notamment qui vont pouvoir sortir des prototypes en couleurs avec la décoration du produit final sans qu’il soit nécessaire de les peindre. Outre la spécification de 3MF, Microsoft a alors mis à disposition un SDK pour que les développeurs d’applications intègrent ce format à leurs offres.

Ni 3DSystems, ni Makerbot, ni Stratasys ne font actuellement partie du 3MF Consortium

Au moment de son annonce, en 2013, Microsoft pouvait s’appuyer sur le soutien de Makerbot et 3Dsystems, 2 constructeurs majeurs d’imprimantes 3D qui annonçaient alors leur volonté de développer des drivers 3MF pour leurs machines.

3MF sera embarqué sur la plateforme d'impression 3D Spark d'Autodesk.

3MF sera embarqué sur la plateforme d’impression 3D Spark d’Autodesk.

A l’occasion de Build 2015, Microsoft a annoncé la création du 3MF Consortium, une alliance crée dans le but de pousser l’adoption du format sur le marché. Le consortium compte 7 membres fondateurs : Autodesk, Dassault Systèmes, HP, Microsoft, netfabb, shapeways et SLM Solutions.

L’implémentation de 3MF sera gratuite pour les membres du consortium, les membres s’assurant d’acquérir les droits sur les brevets. Microsoft compte publier sur Github le code pour lire les formats 3D STL/OBJ/3MF, pour écrire les fichiers 3MF, de même que l’éditeur veut donner accès aux Web Services dédiés à la réparation des modèles 3D. 3MF a tout pour s’imposer sur le marché de l’impression 3D purement commerciale. Quant au monde des makers, il faudra sans doute beaucoup plus de temps à ce nouveau format pour détrôner STL.

Sources :

« 3MF Consortium Launches to Advance 3D Printing Technology », Communiqué de presse 3MF Consortium, 30 avril 2015

« New Technology for 3D Printing – New Consortium Leading the Way », Channel9/MSDN, 23 avril 2015

« Microsoft Talks More About 3D Printing in Windows 8.1 », Tom’s Guide, 23 septembre 2013

« 3D Printing Support in Windows 8.1 Explained », Blogging Wnidows, 22 août 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans 3D, Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.