CES 2018: NVidia accelerates on the autonomous car

As every year now, NVidia has held a plenary session at the ESC, a conference that is generally very well attended because the founder’s progress is a testament to that of the automotive industry towards autonomous vehicles. The 2018 edition did not deviate from the rule since Jensen Huang, founder of NVidia presented Pegasus, a hardware platform that will be able to control autonomous vehicles of level 5, i. e. totally autonomous. Xavier, the new chip that equips this ECU, now has 9 billion transistor and delivers 30 TFlops of power, more than 15 times better than the previous generation, based on the Pascal chip.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Baidu, Uber, Volkswagen, some of NVidia’s 320 partners on this embedded ECU

The Xavier chip unveiled by Jensen Huang consists of an 8 core processor and a 512 core Volta GPU chip. Accelerators for Deep Learning, for the analysis of 8K videos, allow this chip to deliver a power of 30 deep learning TOPS, with a contained power consumption of 30 watts.

In addition to the announcement of Pegasus to replace the Drive PX-2 ECU in the NVidia catalogue, NVidia’s CEO took advantage of the event to announce new partners, underlining that the embedded platform already has more than 320 partners developing on it. Jensen Huang cited Uber, Baidu, Volkswagen, ZF and a California startup who works with Hyundai on the autonomous car, Aurora. In particular, Uber revealed that these Volvo XC90 autonomous cars equipped with NVidia computers have run 50,000 races in stand-alone mode and covered 2 million km, the last million of them in the last 100 days.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

NVidia DRIVE AR, augmented reality in the cockpit

The icing on the cake, Jensen Huang unveiled 2 new software platforms that will take advantage of this embedded power. In addition to NVIDIA DRIVE AV, the platform that leverages the neural networks used for autonomous control of the car, the DRIVE IX platform dedicated to the implementation of driver and passenger assistance AIs, and the DRIVE AR SDK. It is a development kit with which car manufacturers and their suppliers will be able to develop augmented reality applications for display directly on the windshield of tomorrow’s vehicles. Tomorrow’s car, whether in stand-alone mode or not, will be able to display data on the windshield, warnings about a potential danger, etc.

Source: “NVIDIA DRIVE Xavier, World’s Most Powerful SoC, Brings Dramatic New AI Capabilities”, NVidia Press Release, 7 January 2018

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Logiciel embarqué and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

CES 2018 : NVidia accélère sur la voiture autonome

Comme chaque année désormais, NVidia a tenu une session plénière lors du CES, une conférence généralement très suivie car les avancées du fondeur témoignent de celles de l’industrie automobile vers les véhicules autonomes. L’édition 2018 n’a pas dérogé à la règle puisque Jensen Huang, fondateur de NVidia, a présenté Pegasus, une plateforme hardware qui pourra contrôler des véhicules autonomes de niveau 5, c’est à dire totalement autonomes. Xavier, la nouvelle puce qui équipe ce calculateur, compte désormais 9 milliards de transistors et délivre une puissance de 30 TFlops, soit plus de 15 fois mieux que la génération précédente.

Baidu, Uber, Volkswagen, quelques-uns des 320 partenaires de NVidia sur ce calculateur embarqué

La puce Xavier dévoilée par  Jensen Huang se compose d’un processeur 8 coeurs spécialisé ainsi qu’une puce GPU Volta de 512 cœurs. Des accélérateurs pour le Deep Learning, pour l’analyse de vidéos 8K permettent à cette puce de délivrer une puissance de 30 deep learning TOPS pour une consommation électrique contenue à 30 watts. Elle est donc taillée pour le secteur automobile qui cherche des calculateurs capables de porter les réseaux de neurones nécessaires à la conduite autonome.

Outre l’annonce de ce Pegasus qui vient remplacer le calculateur Drive PX-2 au catalogue NVidia, le PDG de NVidia a profité de l’événement pour annoncer de nouveaux partenaires, soulignant que la plateforme embarquée compte déjà plus de 320 partenaires qui développent sur elle. Jensen Huang a cité Uber, Baidu, Volkswagen, ZF ainsi qu’une startup californienne qui travaille avec Hyundai sur la voiture autonome, Aurora. Uber a notamment révélé que ces voitures autonomes Volvo XC90 équipées de calculateurs NVidia ont réalisé 50.000 courses en mode autonome et parcouru ainsi 2 millions de km, dont le dernier million lors de ces 100 derniers jours.

NVidia DRIVE AR, la réalité augmentée s’invite dans l’habitacle

Cerise sur le gâteau, Jensen Huang a dévoilé 2 nouvelles plateformes logicielles qui vont tirer profit de cette puissance embarquée. Outre NVIDIA DRIVE AV, la plateforme qui permet d’exploiter les réseaux de neurones utilisés dans le pilotage autonome de la voiture sont venu s’ajouter la plateforme DRIVE IX dédiée à la mise en place d’IA d’assistance pour le conducteur et ses passagers et enfin le SDK DRIVE AR. Il s’agit d’un kit de développement avec lequel les constructeurs automobiles et leurs équipementiers vont pouvoir développer des applications de réalité augmentée destinées à s’afficher directement sur le pare-brise des véhicules de demain. La voiture de demain, qu’elle soit en mode autonome ou pas, pourra afficher des données sur le pare-brise, des alertes sur un danger potentiel

Source : « NVIDIA DRIVE Xavier, World’s Most Powerful SoC, Brings Dramatic New AI Capabilities », Communiqué de presse NVidia, 7 janvier 2018

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Logiciel embarqué, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.