Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Drones

How not to think this film of the 1960s, “These wonderful men in flying their of machines” and the heroic aviation time when we see the wave of innovations made by drones in the aerospace sector. More and more creators of startups dream of being the first to market drones dedicated to the passenger transport. Last competitor in the running, not to cross the channel, but simply to rise from a few meters a passenger, Flyt Aerospace. Its founder is already at the origin of a whole line of more or less successful prototypes, but this crazy wheel clings to his dream, marketed the FlytCycle, a module of automated transport powered by 12 propellers.

Flyt Aerospace, a startup created in a Silicon Valley garage


Electric motors, Lithium-Ion batteries and carbon fiber have replaced wood, canvas and oil engines, but the spirit of the pioneers of aviation blows in the world of aviation. Both the United States, Europe and Asia. Ehang 184 in China, Volocopter in Germany, AirMule in Israel and soon Airbus, the drone of passenger transport concept is attracting many projects more or less realistic, more or less advanced. It is in 2013 Ansel Misfeldt began working on his project of drone of transport. His consultant at the Boston Consulting Group’s career seemed mapped to started to assemble his first prototype in a Silicon Valley garage. The story reported by the founder of Flyt wants the first prototype, the Mark I has been assembled on the Ikea kitchen table. From the third prototype, the Mark III, Ansel Misfeldt abandons the engines gasoline for a 100% electric. Over the prototypes, the inventor will test different configurations with 4, 8, 16 propellers, with loads of the order of 50 to 100 kg load. Latest prototype to date, Flyt 16 counts 16 propellers that allow it to remove the 175 kg of the device with its batteries and his passenger for ten minutes of flight.
If the videos published by Flyt Aerospace show some of the multiple flights with a passenger, there is much still to do before reaching a real means of transport. The result of this research, the FlytCycle should have 12 propellers in a double Hexagon configuration. The total weight will be between 125 and 180 Kg depending on the number of on-board batteries. Expected autonomy is of the order of 20 to 30-minute flight with current batteries. Ansel Misfeldt aims initially amusement parks before the individual transport, the transport of goods in civil security or military applications.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Ces merveilleux fous volants dans leur drôles de drones

Comment ne pas penser à ce film des années 60, »Ces merveilleux fous volants dans leur drôles de machines » et les temps héroïques de l’aviation quand on voit la vague d’innovations apportée par les drones dans le secteur aéronautique. De plus en plus de créateurs de startups rêvent d’être les premiers à commercialiser des drones dédiés au transport de passager. Dernier concurrent en lice, non pas pour traverser la manche, mais simplement faire s’élever de quelques mètres un passager, Flyt Aerospace. Son fondateur est déjà à l’origine de toute une lignée de prototypes plus ou moins réussis mais ce fou volant s’accroche à son rêve, commercialisé le FlytCycle, un module de transport automatisé propulsé par 12 hélices.

Flyt Aerospace, une startup créée dans un garage de la Silicon Valley


Les moteurs électriques, les batteries Lithium-Ion et la fibre de carbone ont remplacé le bois, la toile et les moteurs à pétrole, mais l’esprit des pionniers de l’aviation souffle dans le monde de l’aviation. Tant aux Etats-Unis, en Europe qu’en Asie. Ehang 184 en Chine, Volocopter en Allemagne, AirMule en Israel et prochainement Airbus, le concept de drone de transport de passager suscite de nombreux projets plus ou moins réalistes, plus ou moins avancés. C’est en 2013 qu’Ansel Misfeldt a commencé à travailler sur son projet de drone de transport. Lui dont la carrière de consultant au Boston Consulting Group semblait toute tracée à commencé à assembler son premier prototype dans un garage de la Silicon Valley. L’histoire rapportée par le fondateur de Flyt veut que le premier prototype, le Mark I ait été assemblé sur la table Ikéa de sa cuisine. A partir du troisième prototype, le Mark III, Ansel Misfeldt abandonne les moteurs à essence pour une propulsion 100% électrique. Au fil des prototypes, l’inventeur va tester différentes configurations à 4, 8, 16 hélices, avec des charges de l’ordre de 50 à 100 kg. Dernier prototype en date, le Flyt 16 compte 16 hélices qui lui permettent d’enlever les 175 kg de l’appareil avec ses batteries et son passager pour une dizaine de minutes de vol.
Si les vidéos publiées par Flyt Aerospace montrent quelques-uns des multiples vols réalisés avec un passager, beaucoup reste encore a faire avant d’aboutir à un véritable moyen de transport. L’aboutissement de cette recherche, le FlytCycle devrait disposer de 12 hélices dans une configuration en double hexagone. Le poids total sera compris entre 125 et 180 Kg en fonction du nombre de batteries embarquées. L’autonomie espérée est de l’ordre de 20 à 30 minutes de vol avec les batteries actuelles. Ansel Misfeldt vise dans un premier temps les parcs d’attraction avant le transport individuel, le transport de marchandises ou des applications militaires ou dans la sécurité civile.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.