China unveils its clone of the “Big Dog” robot

Norinco-RobotNorinco, the Chinese defense giant has for several years a similar project at the Big Dog from Boston Dynamics. “The Da Guo” Chinese copy seems to scale slightly reduced LS3 American Big Dog.
So we do not know what will be the future of American robot since the acquisition by Google of its designer, China continues to develop its quadruped platform. Norinco has just introduced wearing a military camouflage that raises doubt about the purpose of this research project.

A Big Dog in the Chinese army

Chinese or American? Testing of the Big Dog Chinese continue.

Chinese or American? Testing of the Big Dog Chinese continue.

A recent exhibition in Tianjin Norinco allowed journalists to discover some of the innovations that prepares the manufacturer. Along with several inflatable drones, the provider of char and various arms of the Chinese army had the technical details of a similar robot from Boston Dynamics Big Dog. Launched a few years ago, the Chinese clone of the American LS3 continues to evolve. Chinese recasts them late so that, paradoxically, the future of American robot could be compromised by the acquisition of Boston Dynamics by Google.
The Chinese army she will have finally before the American army?

Translation : Google Translation

Sources :
“Tianjin expo reveals Chinese UAV innovations, aspirations”, Jane’s, September 11, 2014
“Counterfeit Big Dog Robot Developed by Chinese Arms Company”, Epoch Times, September 7, 2014
“Google finally proves it won’t pursue military contracts, pulls leading robot from DARPA competition”, ExtremeTech, July 1st, 2014
“中国“大狗”机器人亮相 军事潜力巨大”, Guancha, January 17, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

La Chine dévoile son clone du robot « Big Dog »

Norinco-RobotNorinco, le géant chinois de la défense mène depuis plusieurs années un projet similaire au Big Dog de Boston Dynamics. Le « Da Guo » chinois semble une copie à échelle un peu réduite du LS3 Big Dog américain.
Alors qu’on ne sait pas quels sera l’avenir du robot américain depuis l’acquisition de son concepteur par Google, la Chine poursuit le développement de sa plateforme quadrupède. Norinco vient de le présenté affublé d’un camouflage militaire qui lève tout doute sur la finalité de ce projet de recherche.

Un Big Dog pour l’armée chinoise

Chinois ou américain ? Les essais du Big Dog chinois se poursuivent.

Chinois ou américain ? Les essais du Big Dog chinois se poursuivent.

Une récente exposition de Norinco à Tianjin a permis aux journalistes de découvrir quelques-unes des innovations que prépare l’industriel. Aux côtés de plusieurs drones gonflables, le fournisseur de char et armes divers de l’armée chinoise présentait la fiche technique d’un robot similaire au Big Dog de Boston Dynamics. Lancé voici quelques années, le clone chinois du LS3 américain poursuit son évolution. Les chinois refond leur retard alors que, paradoxalement, l’avenir du robot américain pourrait bien être compromis par l’acquisition de Boston Dynamics par Google.

L’armée chinoise en disposera-t-elle finalement avant l’armée américaine ?

Sources :
« Tianjin expo reveals Chinese UAV innovations, aspirations », Jane’s, 11 septembre 2014
« Counterfeit Big Dog Robot Developed by Chinese Arms Company », Epoch Times, 7 septembre 2014
« Google finally proves it won’t pursue military contracts, pulls leading robot from DARPA competition », ExtremeTech, 1 juillet 2014
« 中国“大狗”机器人亮相 军事潜力巨大 », Guancha, 17 janvier 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.