C.H.I.P., the $ 9 computer, is a hit on Kickstarter

CHIPA 1 GHz microprocessor, 512 MB RAM and 4 GB of storage, Wifi and Bluetooth connectivity for only$ 9, it’s the Next Thing Co. bet, the firm that comes from placing the C.H.I.P. on Kickstarter project. The objective is to commercialize this small card computer in December 2015 for only $ 9. A card capable of running a Linux distribution.
The startup wanted to raise 50,000 dollars on Kickstarter to complete his project. 27 days before the deadline, it has already attracted more 8.320 contributors and amassed 404.512 dollars. 

A new competitor on a rapid prototyping cards market

Arduino, Raspberry, Intel Edison or Galileo, Beaglebone, Spark core, Adafuit the list of mini computers continues to grow. This new C.H.I.P. therefore comes in a rather busy market, but offering rather competitive. A true Linux PC with a consequent power for $9 dollars only. C.H.I.P.C.H.I.P. could make a hit in the communities of the makers as Next Thing Co. already provides extensions for its small card. It equipped with default to a USB port, another micro-USB port and a composite video output. The designer of the map already evoke a card with HDMI port, another with a VGA port.
Next Thing Co. promises that its configuration will be sufficient in height to run Linux with its GUI and applications such as LibreOffice, GIMP, Chromium. Designers of the card will provide the bones of the C.H.I.P. with Scratch, the Visual programming environment.
In addition Next Thing Co. works on the PocketC.H.I.P, a case in which the C.H.I.P. card comes to plug. The housing has a keyboard and a small screen QWERTY a battery which offers an autonomy of 5 hours. Access to the connectors on the card will allow this small configuration control various equipment, making the C.H.I.P. and its PocketC.H.I.P. a good tool for prototyping and development. Remains to be seen if this card will seduce the communities and so mainly, with the cash raised during his campaign of crowdfunding, managed the marketing of a reliable kit and to follow up with new maps extensions.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “CHIP – The World’s First Nine Dollar Computer par Next Thing Co”, Kickstarter

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

C.H.I.P. l’ordinateur à 9$, fait un carton sur Kickstarter

CHIPUn microprocesseur 1 GHz, 512 Mo de RAM et 4 Go de stockage, de la connectivité Wifi et Bluetooth pour 9$ seulement, c’est le pari de Next Thing Co., l’entreprise qui vient de placer le projet C.H.I.P. sur Kickstarter. L’objectif est de commercialiser cette petite carte ordinateur en décembre 2015 pour 9 dollars seulement. Une carte capable d’exécuter une distribution Linux.

La startup souhaitait lever 50.000 dollars sur Kickstarter pour mener à bien son projet. A 27 jours de l’échéance, elle a déjà séduit plus de 8.320 contributeurs et amassé 404.512 dollars. De quoi assurer la mise au point et la commercialisation de la C.H.I.P. et peut-être même en faire un projet majeur pour les makers. Enough to ensure the development and marketing of CHIP and maybe even make a major project for the makers.

Un nouveau concurrent sur un marché des cartes de prototypage rapide

Arduino, Raspberry, Intel Edison ou Galileo, Beaglebone, Spark core, Adafuit la liste des mini-cartes ordinateur ne cesse de s’allonger. Cette nouvelle C.H.I.P. arrive donc sur un marché plutôt occupé, mais avec une offre plutôt concurrentielle. Un vrai PC Linux avec une puissance conséquente pour 9 $ dollars seulement. C.H.I.P.Voila qui pourrait faire un carton dans les communautés des makers d’autant que Next Thing Co. prévoit déjà des extensions pour sa petite carte. Celle-ci, équipée par défaut d’un port USB, un autre port micro-USB et une sortie vidéo composite. Les concepteur de la carte évoquent déjà une carte d’extension avec port HDMI, une autre avec un port VGA.
Next Thing Co. promet que sa configuration sera suffisamment à la hauteur pour faire tourner un Linux avec son interface graphique et des applications telles que LibreOffice, GIMP, Chromium. Les concepteurs de la carte vont fournir l’OS de la C.H.I.P. avec Scratch, l’environnement visuel de programmation.
En outre Next Thing Co. travaille sur le PocketC.H.I.P., un boitier dans lequel la carte C.H.I.P. vient s’enficher. Le boitier dispose d’un clavier, d’un petit écran QWERTY et d’une batterie qui offre une autonomie de 5 heures. L’accès aux connecteurs de la carte va permettre à cette petite configuration de contrôler divers équipements, faisant de la C.H.I.P. et de son PocketC.H.I.P. un bon outil de prototypage et de mise au point. Reste à savoir si cette carte séduira les communautés et si surtout, avec le pactole amassé lors de sa campagne de crowdfunding, réussi la commercialisation d’un kit fiable et d’enchaîner avec de nouvelles cartes extensions.

Source : « CHIP – The World’s First Nine Dollar Computer par Next Thing Co », Kickstarter

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.