Wireless key : are modern cars too easy to steal?

Engine-Start-StopTechnological advances have not always positive effects. Opening and modern cars wireless Starter systems are extremely convenient. No need to look for his key to open and start his car.
The problem is that it would appear that such systems facilitate greatly the task of car thieves. And if you imagine thieves equipped with computers browsing all possible codes to unlock access to the car, it is actually much simpler than that.

For multiple ways to hack a car, but all are not effective

The great American newspaper USA Today just published an article on the steals made in cars without as these seem to have been broken into by thieves. The article concludes with a recommendation for its readers, that keep the dongle… in their freezer. The stunning conclusion of a survey which highlights the relative fragility of vehicles wireless systems.

Cle Scenic

Warning, your wireless access card can betray you.

In his article for DailyTech, Jason Mick lists multiple ways to hack a vehicle. Break code of the key by brute force, that is to say by trying all possible combinations, is possible with a notebook with an antenna but the operation may request time. Similarly, it is possible to listen to the signal from your key at the moment where you open your vehicle. The builders found the parade with systems that change the codes very quickly on a cycle.
The mode of intrusion the most simple and clever revealed by Boris Danev, founder of 3db Technologies, a Swiss company specializing in vehicle safety, it is the amplification. It is sufficient for the thief to amplify the signals exchanged between the car, whose scope is only a few meters, and the key. Indeed, about whether the driver is close to unlocked the door, the car sends a signal. If the key is to scope it replied and the car will unlock its doors. By amplifying the signal, the goal is to make believe that you are beside your car while you are sleeping you key in your jacket well stored in the closet.

On 10 cars tested, 10 were “stolen”.

Le schéma de principe du dispositif relai testé par 3db Technologies.

Le schéma de principe du dispositif relai testé par 3db Technologies.

It is your own key that will unlock your vehicle a few decades to you. The approach has been tested on a dozen of vehicle with a device 30 m wireless or with cable of 30 and 60 m. cable allows to shorten the delay introduced by the distance between the car and the key. Too long delay and the car will not open. 3dB Technologies has tested an experimental device on 10 vehicles of different types, different brands. The 10 cars were able to be opened and on 10, including luxury cars, it was possible to start the engine and leave with the car. The system of protection of each car had its own specificities but none of the 10 cars could withstand the device with cable 7 m distance. A rather short distance to consider a theft. At 30 meters, much more effective distance for the thief, only one car has been able to stay close. 60 m, thieves could have go thru 4 of the 10 tested cars. The wireless version is shown to be less effective, with 3 cars which were able to resist to the hacking.
In principle, less than complete wireless device Vol-de-voitureby a reader on the car or a keyboard to enter a code, the attack seems unstoppable. Rest to build radio equipment capable of relaying these radio signals. According to USA Today, it is possible to find such amplifiers made in China at $20 only on the net. Equipment inexpensive and the scope of which could reach a hundred meters. That seems doubtful.
Less than make sure do not stay within 100 metres of the vehicle, impossible to be to not be betrayed by his own key. USA Today suggests storing your car keys in one box iron or wrap them in aluminium foil or place them in your freezer!

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Are “Keyless Entry” Hacks Really the Source of Recent Car Break Ins?”, DailyTech, May 8, 2015

Relay Attacks on Passive Keyless Entry and Start Systems in Modern Cars ” 3db Technologies white paper

“Putting keys in freezer could prevent car break-ins”, USA Today, May 7, 2015

“Watch This Wireless Hack Pop a Car’s Locks in Minutes”, Wired, August 4, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Clés sans fil : des voitures désarmantes de simplicité à voler !

Engine-Start-StopLes progrès technologiques n’ont pas toujours que des effets positifs. Les systèmes d’ouverture et de démarrage sans fil des voitures moderne sont extrêmement commodes. Plus besoin de chercher sa clé pour ouvrir et démarrer sa voiture.

Le problème, c’est qu’il semblerait que de tels systèmes facilitent grandement la tâche des voleurs de voitures. Et si vous vous les imaginez équipés d’ordinateurs passant en revue tous les codes possibles pour débloquer l’accès à la voiture, c’est en fait beaucoup plus simple que ça.

De multiples moyens de hacker une voiture, mais tous ne sont pas efficaces

Le grand quotidien américain USA Today vient de publier un article sur les vols réalisé dans les voitures sans que celles-ci ne semblent avoir été fracturées par les voleurs. L’article se conclut par une recommandation pour ses lecteurs, celle de garder les clé électronique… dans leur congélateur. La conclusion étonnante d’une enquête qui souligne la relative fragilité des systèmes d’ouverture des véhicules sans fil.

Cle Scenic

Attention, la carte d’accès de votre voiture peut vous trahir.

Dans son article pour DailyTech, Jason Mick répertorie de multiples moyens de hacker un véhicule. Casser de code de la clé par la force brute, c’est à dire en essayant toutes les combinaisons possibles, est possible avec un ordinateur portable équipé d’une antenne mais l’opération peut demander du temps. De même, il est possible d’écouter le signal émis par votre clé au moment où vous ouvrez votre véhicule. Les constructeurs ont trouvé la parade avec des systèmes qui changent très rapidement les codes selon un cycle.

Le mode d’intrusion le plus simple et astucieux révélé par Boris Danev, fondateur de 3db Technologies, une société suisse spécialisée dans la sécurité des véhicules, c’est l’amplification. Il suffit pour le voleur d’amplifier les signaux échangés entre la voiture, dont la portée n’est que de quelques mètres, et la clé. En effet, pour savoir si le conducteur est à proximité afin de déverrouillé la porte, la voiture envoie un signal. Si la clé est à portée celle-ci lui répond et la voiture va alors débloquer ses portes. En amplifiant le signal, le but est de faire croire que vous êtes à côté de votre voiture alors que vous êtes en train de dormir chez vous, la clé dans votre veste bien rangée dans la penderie.

Sur 10 voitures testées, 10 ont pu être « volées »

Le schéma de principe du dispositif relai testé par 3db Technologies.

Le schéma de principe du dispositif relai testé par 3db Technologies.

C’est votre propre clé qui va déverrouiller votre véhicule a quelques dizaines de mettre de chez vous. L’approche a été testée sur une dizaine de véhicule avec un dispositif sans fil sur 30 m ou avec un câble de 30 et 60 m. Le câble permet de raccourcir le délai introduit par la distance entre la voiture et la clé. Un trop long délai et la voiture ne s’ouvre pas. 3db Technologies a testé un dispositif expérimental sur 10 véhicules de différents types, de différentes marques. Les 10 voitures ont pu être ouvertes et sur les 10, y compris les voitures de luxe, il a été possible de démarrer le moteur et de partir avec la voiture. Le système de protection de chaque voiture avait ses propres spécificités mais aucune des 10 voitures n’a pu résister au dispositif avec câble sur 7 m de distance. Une distance plutôt courte pour envisager un vol. A 30 mètres, distance bien plus efficace pour le voleur, une seule voiture a su rester close. A 60 m, les voleurs auraient pu partir au volant de 4 des 10 voitures testées. La version sans fil s’est montrée moins efficace, avec 3 voitures qui ont su résister au hacking.

Sur le principe, à moins de compléter le dispositif sans fil Vol-de-voiturepar un lecteur d’empreinte sur la voiture ou un clavier pour saisir un code, l’attaque semble imparable. Reste à construire l’équipement radio capable de relayer ces signaux radio. Selon USA Today, il est possible de trouver de tels amplificateurs fabriqués en Chine à 20 $ seulement sur le net. Des équipements peu coûteux et dont la portée pourrait atteindre une centaine de mètres. Ce qui semble douteux.

A moins de s’assurer de ne pas rester à moins de 100 mètres de son véhicule, impossible d’être sur de ne pas être trahis par sa propre clé. USA Today suggère de ranger vos clés de voiture dans une boite en fer ou de les envelopper dans du papier aluminium ou encore les placer dans votre congélateur !

Sources :

« Are « Keyless Entry » Hacks Really the Source of Recent Car Break Ins? », DailyTech, 8 mai 2015

« Relay Attacks on Passive Keyless Entry and Start Systems in Modern Cars  » 3db Technologies

« Putting keys in freezer could prevent car break-ins », USA Today, 7 mai 2015

« Watch This Wireless Hack Pop a Car’s Locks in Minutes », Wired, 4 août 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.