Green Dino, an artificial intelligence for children

CogniToysThe first time that I attended a conference with Nicolas Negroponte, the founder of the Media Lab at the MIT and of Wired magazine, he defended the thesis that next connected objects would be… toys. It was in Berlin, in 2001. At the time it seemed impossible and the audience remained rather incredulous. Since connected objects are increasingly common, and the idea of connected toy has nothing of a chimera. Better, the CogniToys project aims not only to offer toddlers a small dinosaur connected, but this one will be connected to the most sophisticated artificial intelligence of the moment, the IBM Watson.

IBM Watson, the artificial intelligence hidden in CogniToys

CogniToys-Green-DinoCogniToys Green Dino is not even able to walk or even to shake legs and yet it will be the most advanced high-tech toy never marketed. It will make available the Watson of IBM artificial intelligence available to each child. At a certain age, we love question incorrectly and through, that triumphed over the Jeopardy will probably answer them. It may also tell them a story, distract them, etc. Infinite patience with artificial intelligence can valuable aveer in this task difficult.
Element Path has placed its project on KickStarter, with aims to raise $50,000 on crowdfunding platform. 28 days before the data due, the startup has already attracted nearly $75,000, which should ensure the release of the Dino from now until March 2015, as advertised.
The project was initiated almost 1 year ago. Element Path participated in the challenge IBM Watson Mobile App Developer, a challenge that the startup has won with its application ‘friendgine ‘. Since Element PAth has refined its Business Model and placing on an object approach connected to commercialize its offer with children.
Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Elemental Path Debuts The First Toys Powered By IBM Watson”, TechCrunch, February 16, 2015

“CogniToys: Internet-connected Smart Toys that Learn and Grow”, KickStarter

Toys of Tomorrow”, Blog de Nicolas Negroponte, March 1, 1998

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Green Dino, une intelligence artificielle pour les enfants

CogniToysLa première fois que j’ai assisté à une conférence de Nicolas Negroponte, le fondateur du Media Lab au MIT et du magazine Wired, il défendait la thèse que les prochains objets connectés seraient… les jouets. C’était à Berlin, en 2001. A l’époque, cela semblait impossible et l’auditoire est restée plutôt incrédule. Depuis, les objets connectés sont de plus en plus courants et l’idée du jouet connecté n’a plus rien d’une chimère. Mieux, le projet CogniToys vise non seulement à proposer aux bambins un petit dinosaure connecté, mais celui-ci sera connecté à l’intelligence artificielle la plus sophistiquée du moment, le Watson d’IBM.

IBM Watson, l’intelligence artificielle cachée dans CogniToys

CogniToys-Green-DinoLe CogniToys Green Dino n’est même pas capable de marcher ou même d’agiter les pattes et pourtant ce sera le jouet high-tech le plus avancé jamais commercialisé. Celui-ci mettra à disposition la intelligence artificielle Watson d’IBM à la disposition de chaque enfant. A un certain âge, on aime poser des question à tort et à travers, celle qui a triomphé du Jeopardy pourra sans doute leur répondre. Elle pourra aussi leur raconter des histoire, les distraire, etc. La patience infinie d’une intelligence artificielle peut s’avéer précieuse dans cette tâche difficile.

Element Path a placé son projet sur KickStarter, avec pour objectif de lever 50.000 $ sur la plateforme de crowdfunding. 28 jours avant la data d’échéance, la startup a déjà réuni près de 75.000 $, ce qui devrait garantir la sortie du Dino d’ici au mois de mars 2015, comme annoncé.

Le projet a été initié voici pratiquement 1 an. Element Path a participé au challenge IBM Watson Mobile App Developer, un challenge que la startup a remporté avec son application « friendgine ». Depuis, Element Path a affiné son Business Model et mise sur une approche objet connecté pour commercialiser son offre auprès des enfants.

Il ne manquera plus qu’à IBM à apprendre la langage française pour que le petit dinosaure n’entre dans nos foyers.

Sources :

« Elemental Path Debuts The First Toys Powered By IBM Watson », TechCrunch, 16 février 2015

« CogniToys: Internet-connected Smart Toys that Learn and Grow », KickStarter

« Toys of Tomorrow », Blog de Nicolas Negroponte, 1 mars 1998

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.