The European Commission refocus the Human Brain Project

Human-Brain-ProjectThat is, with graphene, one of two major programmes for technological research funded by the European commission. Each has a funding of 1.2 billion euros of funding. An unprecedented effort for the Human Brain Project, extensive research program that aims to boost European research in neuroscience, but also simulate a human brain on supercomputers to 2023. An extremely ambitious project that made the objects of criticism from the scientific community. An independent report evokes multiple tracks to deliver the program on track.

The first virtual mouse was born on the computers of the HBP

Virtual-MouseSay that after a year of work, the Human Brain Project has given birth to a mouse would be unfair… and this is still the case! On February 23, the team of Professor Marc-Oliver Gewaltig researchers unveiled a virtual mouse with a simplified brain of 200,000 neurons ($ 75 million for the original) connected to an also virtual body. A contact on virtual whiskers and software the rodent brain reacts as its model.
If the HBP began publishing its first results, the research program has been the object of criticism and an open published Web letter received almost 800 signatures of neuroscientists. The output of neurosciences integrative and cognitive of the perimeter of the project have raised the ire of the scientific community.

The neuromorphique Spikey chip developed by researchers at the University of Heidelberg

The neuromorphique Spikey chip developed by researchers at the University of Heidelberg

Faced with this Sling, the governing body of the NBP told Professor Wolfgang Marquardt the preparation of a mediation report. Thirty researchers were tasked to prepare a report of mediation in order to round the corners with the scientific community. New governance with clear separation of research, the development of the strategy, the management of project and their supervision and yet new Scientific Committee, reintegration of the scientific areas excluded, the report makes a number of proposals.
Wolfgang Marquardt, questioned by the Swiss newspaper Le Temps is convinced that the reinstatement of the neuroscientific disciplines will feed new data platforms developed by the HBP in new knowledge. Scientific progress which, in addition to a reconciliation with the scientific community and also a greater relevance in computer models which will be developed as well as the tools, robotics and computers Neuromorphic coming out of the Human Brain Project Labs.

The European Community requires the consortium to take measures from now until June 2015

HBPIn parallel, the European commission is delivered to an evaluation of the program, a year after the official launch. Its report highlights the quality of the work provided by the BPH but to given an ultimatum to the consortium. It must provide from now until June 2015 development plan from a point of view engineering (platforms test plans, technical specifications, validation and deployment roadmap. In addition, the HBR will have put in place a risk management, publish the specifications of its integration modules, as well as publish its data structures. Finally, the European Commission wants the Human Brain Project adheres to the rules of copyright and management of intellectual property according to the rules in place at the launch of the project.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Human Brain Project: des conseils «difficiles à digérer»”, Le Temps, March 10, 2015

“The HBP Mediation Report Delivered Today”, Human Brain Project press release, March 9, 2015

“Mediation Process Working Groups Submit Recommendations for Decision”, Human Brain Project press release, March 9, 2015

“1st Technical Review Human Brain Project (HBP): Main conclusions & recommendations”, European Commission press release, March 6, 2015

“A Simulated Mouse Brain in a Virtual Mouse Body”, Communiqué de presse Human Brain Project, February 23, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

La Commission Européenne recadre le Human Brain Project

Human-Brain-ProjectC’est, avec le graphène, l’un des deux grands programmes de recherche technologique mené par la commission européenne. Chacun dispose d’un financement de 1,2 milliard d’euros de financement. Un effort sans précédent pour le Human Brain Project, vaste programme de recherche qui vise à booster la recherche européenne en neurosciences, mais aussi simuler un cerveau humain sur des supercalculateurs à l’horizon 2023. Un projet extrêmement ambitieux qui a fait l’objets de vives critiques de la communauté scientifique. Un rapport indépendant évoque plusieurs pistes pour remettre le programme sur les rails.

La première souris virtuelle est née sur les ordinateurs du HBP

Virtual-MouseDire qu’au bout d’un an de travail, le Human Brain Project a accouché d’une souris serait injuste… et c’est pourtant le cas ! Le 23 février dernier, les chercheurs de l’équipe du professeur Marc-Oliver Gewaltig dévoilait une souris virtuelle disposant d’un cerveau simplifié de 200.000 neurones (contre 75 millions pour l’original) connecté à un corps tout aussi virtuel. Un contact sur les moustaches virtuelles et le cerveau logiciel du rongeur réagit comme son modèle.

Si le HBP commence à publier ses premiers résultats, le programme de recherche a été l’objet de vives critiques et une lettre ouverte publiée sur le Web a reçu près de 800 signatures de chercheurs en neurosciences. La sortie des neurosciences intégratives et cognitive du périmètre du projet ont déclenché l’ire de la communauté scientifique.

La puce neuromorphique Spikey développée par les chercheurs de l'Université d'Heidelberg

La puce neuromorphique Spikey développée par les chercheurs de l’Université d’Heidelberg

Face à cette fronde, le conseil d’administration du NBP a confié au professeur Wolfgang Marquardt la rédaction d’un rapport de médiation. Une trentaine de chercheurs ont été chargés de rédiger un rapport de médiation afin d’arrondir les angles avec la communauté scientifique. Nouvelle gouvernance avec séparation claire de la recherche, du développement de la stratégie, de la gestion de projet et de leur supervision et encore nouveau comité scientifique, réintégration des domaines scientifiques exclus, le rapport formule un certain nombre de propositions.

Wolfgang Marquardt, interrogé par le quotidien suisse Le Temps est convaincu que la réintégration des disciplines neuroscientifiques alimentera de nouvelles données les plateformes qui sont développées par le HBP en connaissances nouvelles. Des avancées scientifiques qui, outre une réconciliation avec la communauté scientifique et aussi une plus grande pertinence dans les modèles informatiques qui seront développées ainsi que les outils robotiques et ordinateurs neuromorphiques qui sortiront des labos du Human Brain Project.

La communauté européenne impose au consortium de prendre des mesures d’ici au mois de juin 2015

HBPEn parallèle, la commission européenne s’est livré à une évaluation du programme, un an après le lancement officiel. Son rapport souligne la qualité du travail fourni par le HBP mais à donné un ultimatum au consortium. Il doit fournir d’ici au mois de juin 2015 son plan de développement d’un point de vue engineering (spécifications des plateformes techniques, plans de test, validation et roadmap du déploiement. En outre, le HBR va devoir mettre en place une gestion du risque , publier les spécifications de ses modules d’intégration, de même que publier ses structures de données. Enfin, la Commission Européenne va devoir se plier aux règles de copyright et de gestion de la propriété intellectuelle selon les règles mises en place au lancement du projet.
Sources :

« Human Brain Project: des conseils «difficiles à digérer» », Le Temps, 10 mars 2015

« The HBP Mediation Report Delivered Today », Communiqué de presse Human Brain Project, 9 mars 2015

« Mediation Process Working Groups Submit Recommendations for Decision », Communiqué de presse Human Brain Project, 9 mars 2015

« 1st Technical Review Human Brain Project (HBP): Main conclusions & recommendations », Communiqué de la Commission Européenne, 6 mars 2015

« A Simulated Mouse Brain in a Virtual Mouse Body », Communiqué de presse Human Brain Project, 23 février 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.