Europe built the first intelligent Freeway between Rotterdam and Vienna

CorridorThe first intelligent highway will enter into service in 2015. It will connect Rotterdam, Frankfurt, Munich to Vienna. Dubbed “Cooperative ITS Corridor”, ITS meaning Intelligent Transport System/intelligent transportation systems, this corridor will be equipped with communication system that will enable the highway infrastructure to communicate with the State of the road vehicles, any areas of work and traffic jams. This corridor will be opened between the country, the Germany and the Austria this year. The number of connected services will gradually increase to improve the safety of motorists.

An Austria-Germany-Netherlands axis formed on V2x technologies

It is in June 2013 that the Amsterdam group, it means the Ministers of transport of the Netherlands, Germany and Austria had signed the memorandum of understanding. By 2015, a corridor will unify the motorways connecting Rotterdam, Frankfurt, Munich and Vienna. Throughout the journey, a Wi – Fi infrastructure will be deployed in order to communicate with vehicles that will use the corridor. During the phase 1 of the project, only simple messages will be sent, as for example work zones. Data are transmitted between highway infrastructure and vehicles (transmission V2I) either relayed vehicle to vehicle (V2V). The standard ETSI ITS – G5 release 1 must enable these devices to communicate between them without a hitch.

Helmond experimentation to proven that even though few vehicles are equipped, the improvements on traffic are sensitive.

Helmond experimentation to proven that even though few vehicles are equipped, the improvements on traffic are sensitive.

In phase 2, more elaborate messages will prevent motorists from fog areas, accidents. The next phase will enrich the data with those collected by the vehicles themselves. These are the cars that will point out the areas of fog, rain, the average speed on each network segment, etc. The final phase of the project will consist of automation of the system to manage traffic in real time, in anointing of the actual traffic situation.

This continental dimension experiment follows a first test on a stretch of 8 km between Helmond and Eindhoven. It was equipped with cameras all 100 m and Wi – Fi transmitters every 500 m. infrastructure that allows to localize each vehicle with an accuracy of 1 m only 7 trucks, 25 cars electric, 5 bus and 5 emergency vehicles had been equipped. With the corridor Rotterdam/Vienna, Europe changes dimension.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Europe’s Smart Highway Will Shepherd Cars From Rotterdam to Vienna”, IEEESpectrum, December 30, 2014

“Compass4D demonstrates C-ITS services in Helmond”, Compass4D press release, April 4, 2014

“Amsterdam Group turn ITS theory into practice”, ITS International, August 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, M2M, Objets connectés and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’Europe bâtit la première autoroute connectée entre Rotterdam et Vienne

CorridorLe premier autoroute intelligent va entrer en service en 2015. Il reliera Rotterdam, Francfort, Munich à Vienne. Baptisé « Cooperative ITS Corridor », ITS signifiant Intelligent Transport System/Systèmes de transport intelligents, ce corridor va être équipé de système de communication qui vont permettre aux infrastructures autoroutières de communiquer avec les véhicules sur l’états de la route, les éventuelles zones de travaux et embouteillages. Ce corridor va être ouvert entre les Pays-Pays, l’Allemagne et l’Autriche cette année. Le nombre de services connectés va peu à peu s’accroître afin d’améliorer la sécurité des automobilistes.

Un axe Pays-Bas/Allemagne/Autriche s’est formé sur les technologies V2x

C’est en juin 2013 que le groupe d’Amsterdam, c’est à dire les ministres des transports des Pays-Bas, d’Allemagne et d’Autrice avaient signé le protocole d’accord. En 2015, un corridor va unifier les autoroutes reliant Rotterdam, Francfort, Munich et Vienne. Tout au long du trajet, une infrastructure Wi-Fi va être déployée afin de communiquer avec les véhicules qui emprunteront le corridor. Lors de la phase 1 du projet, seuls des messages simples seront envoyés, comme par exemple les zones de travaux. Les données sont transmises entre l’infrastructure autoroutière et les véhicules (transmission V2I) ou bien relayée de véhicules à véhicules (V2V). Le standard ETSI ITS-G5 release 1 doit permettre à ces équipements de communiquer entres eux sans accroc.

L'experimentation d'Helmond à prouvé que même si peu de véhicules sont équipés, les améliorations sur le trafic sont sensibles.

L’expérimentation d’Helmond à prouvé que même si peu de véhicules sont équipés, les améliorations sur le trafic sont sensibles.

En phase 2, des messages plus élaborés préviendront les automobilistes des zones de brouillard, des accidents. La phase suivante permettra d’enrichir les données avec celles collectées par les véhicules eux-mêmes.  Ce sont les voitures qui vont signaler les zones de brouillard, la pluie, la vitesse moyenne sur chaque segment du réseau, etc. La phase ultime du projet consistera en l’automatisation du système afin de gérer le trafic en temps réel, en onction de la situation réelle du trafic.

Cette expérimentation de dimension continentale fait suite à un premier test sur un tronçon de 8 km reliant Helmond à Eindhoven. Celui-ci à été équipé de caméras tous les 100 m et de transmetteurs Wi-Fi tous les 500 m. Une infrastructure qui permet de localiser chaque véhicule avec une précision de 1 m. Seulement 7 camions, 25 voitures electriques, 5 bus et 5 véhicules d’urgence avaient été équipés. Avec le corridor Rotterdam/Vienne, l’Europe change de dimension.

Sources :

« Europe’s Smart Highway Will Shepherd Cars From Rotterdam to Vienna », IEEESpectrum, 30 décembre 2014

« Compass4D demonstrates C-ITS services in Helmond », Communiqué de presse Compass4D, 4 Avril 2014

« Amsterdam Group turn ITS theory into practice », ITS International, Août 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, M2M, Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.