Crowdfunding: BioLife4D wants to raise $50 million to print human hearts

While electronic hearts are slow to take hold, a startup proposes a new way to replace the deficient hearts of patients. They believe that it is possible to print a functional heart with a bioprinter. The Chicago-based startup has just approached the SEC to raise $50 million to carry out its project.

Can crowdfunding fund a long-term medical research project?

Producing a transplantable heart on demand thanks to 3D printing, the idea is appealing. Made from the patient’s stem cells to avoid any risk of rejection and perfectly adapted to the morphology of the future transplanted patient, the idea seems brilliant. Achieving such a goal today seems like a real feat, because if you can print living cells with a bio-printer, producing a functional heart seems like a challenge. BioLife4D researchers will need to implement a complex methodology to print various types of cells, with muscle fibers, heart vessels, heart valves and nerves, all in a precise geometry.

It will undoubtedly take several years of research for the startup to reach its objective and to finance this adventure, the leaders have opted for an IPO as defined by the SEC’s “JOBS Act Regulation A+”, a new form of startup financing set up in 2012. The operation is more like a crowdfunding operation than an IPO. Rather than raising the necessary funds in several rounds of financing and then going public at a time when the technology is close to commercialization, this new type of IPO allows for a financing operation open to all under the aegis of the SEC. An operation that is capped at $50 million.

BioLife4D which so far has not shown anything, nothing demonstrated its capabilities in 3D cell printing will it be able to raise enough funds to carry out its crazy project? The pre-registration list is open.

Translated from french by : Deepl

Sources :

“Biotech Pioneer BIOLIFE4D Submits Regulation A+ Filing with SEC for up to $50 Million Initial Public Offering”, BioLife4D Press release, September 6, 2017

“New JOBS Act Regulation A+ Will Be A Game Changer”, Forbes, May 22, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Crowdfunding : BioLife4D veut lever 50 M$ pour imprimer des cœurs humains

Alors que les coeurs électroniques tardent à s’imposer, une startup propose une nouvelle voie pour remplacer le coeurs déficient des malades. Ceux-ci estiment qu’il est possible d’imprimer un coeur fonctionnel avec une bioimprimante. La startup basée près de Chicago vient d’effectuer les démarches auprès de la SEC afin de lever 50 millions de $ pour mener à bien son projet.

Le crowdfunding peut-il financer un projet de recherche médicale de longue haleine ?

Produire un cœur transplantable à la demande grâce à l’impression 3D, l’idée est séduisante. Fabriqué à partir des cellules souches du patient pour éviter tout risque de rejet et parfaitement adapté à la morphologie du futur transplanté, l’idée paraît géniale. Atteindre aujourd’hui un tel objectif, parait un réel exploit car si on sait imprimer des cellules vivantes avec une bio-imprimante, produire un cœur fonctionnel semble du domaine du défi. Il faudra aux chercheurs de BioLife4D mettre en place une méthodologie complexe pour imprimer divers types de cellules, avec des fibres musculaires, les vaisseaux du coeur, les valves cardiaques et les nerfs, et le tout dans une géométrie précise.

Nul doute qu’il faudra plusieurs années de recherche à la startup avant d’atteindre son objectif et pour financer cette aventure, les dirigeants ont opté pour une IPO telle que définie par  le « JOBS Act Regulation A+ » de la SEC, une nouvelle forme de financement des startups mise en place en 2012. L’opération s’apparente plus à une opération de crowdfunding qu’à une entrée en bourse. Plutôt que de lever en plusieurs tours de financement les fonds nécessaires, puis s’introduire en bourse au moment où la technologie est proche de sa commercialisation, cette IPO d’un nouveau type permet de monter une opération de financement ouverte à tous sous l »égide de la SEC. Une opération qui est plafonnée à 50 millions de dollars.

BioLife4D qui pour l’instant n’a rien montré, rien démontré de ses capacités quant à l’impression 3D de cellules parviendra-t-elle à lever assez de fonds pour mener son projet un peu fou ? La liste de préinscription est ouverte.

Source :

« Biotech Pioneer BIOLIFE4D Submits Regulation A+ Filing with SEC for up to $50 Million Initial Public Offering », Communiqué de presse, 6 septembre 2017

« New JOBS Act Regulation A+ Will Be A Game Changer », Forbes, May 22, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.