Crowdsourcing: A FedEx employee discovers the largest prime number

Called M77232917, the number discovered by Jonathan Pace, a Fedex employee is not only the largest prime number existing, but it is also the 50th first_number of Mersenne, i. e. a prime number that has the form 2p-1. The number represented by 277,232,917-1 has 23,249,425 digits, a colossal number that did not come out of the supercomputer algorithms of a university research center, but from a PC all that is most banal. In fact, in addition to his job at FedEx, Johathan Pace is a system administrator for several associations and it is on one of the machines he manages that he has installed GIMPS, an Open Source software dedicated to this search for Mersenne numbers and that anyone can install to launch this endless quest.

14 years to get the right number!

This is the result of 14 years of research for Jonathan Pace, a former mathematical engineer from Germantown, Tennessee. 14 years to run behind the prizes offered to users of the GIMPS software (for “Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search”). This one announces 182,564 users, sees an installed capacity of about 300 TFLOP/s, 3 times more than the most powerful supercomputers currently in production, the Chinese Sunway TaihuLight which has 10,649,600 computing cores to reach 93 TFLOP/s.

Marin Mersenne (1588-1648), monk, mathematician and philosopher,
formalized the early numbers of Mersenne in the eighteenth century.

However, when we look at the machine that used Jonathan Pace, it is only a very common PC with an Intel i5-660 that had to run 6 days in a row to verify that M77232917 is a prime number of Mersenne. Similarly, the 4 machines used to check this result show the diversity of software and machines used by members of the GIMPS community. Aaron Blosser used Prime95 software on an Intel Xeon server and was able to obtain the proof in 37 hours of calculation. David Stanfill used an AMD RX Vega 64 graphics card that delivered the result in 34 hours with the gpuOwl software, while Andreas Höglung bet on an NVidia Titan Black card and CUDALucas software that delivered its verdict in 73 hours. The researcher also used Mlucas on a Cloud Amazon Web Services instance that allowed him to get the same result in 65 hours. Finally, Ernest Mayer preferred an Intel Xeon server with 32 cores and the Mlucas software, which allowed him to obtain the proof after 82 hours of calculation.

Thanks to M77232917, Jonathan Pace wins the $3,000 in prizes offered by the EFF, probably a tiny fraction of what he could have earned by mining Bitcoin from the outset, but at least he will have the pleasure of seeing his name among the number one discoverers.

Sources:

“FedEx employee from Tennessee discovers largest known prime number”, CNBC, 5 January 2018

“Largest known prime number discovered”, ScienceDaily, 4 January 2018

“50th Known Mersenne Prime Found!”GIMP press release, 4 January 2018.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Non classé and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Crowdsourcing : Un employé de FedEx découvre le plus grand nombre premier

Baptisé M77232917, le nombre découvert par Jonathan Pace, un employé de Fedex est non seulement le plus grand nombre premier existant, mais c’est aussi le 50e nombre premier de Mersenne, c’est à dire un nombre premier qui a la forme 2p-1. Le nombre que représente 277,232,917-1 compte 23.249.425 chiffres, un nombre colossal qui n’est pas sorti des algorithmes du supercalculateur d’un centre de recherche universitaire, mais d’un PC tout ce qu’il y a de plus banal. En effet, outre son job chez FedEx, Johathan Pace est administrateur système pour plusieurs associations et c’est sur l’une des machines qu’il gère qu’il a installé GIMPS, un logiciel Open Source dédié à cette recherche des nombres de Mersenne et que tout le monde peut installer pour se lancer dans cette quête sans fin.

14 ans pour décrocher le bon numéro !

C’est le fruit de 14 ans de recherches pour Jonathan Pace, habitant de Germantown, dans le Tennessee, un ancien ingénieur passionné de mathématiques. 14 années à courir derrière les prix offerts aux utilisateurs du logiciel GIMPS (pour « Great Internet Mersenne Prime Search »). Celui-ci annonce 182,564 utilisateurs, voit une puissance installée de l’ordre de 300 TFLOP/s, soit 3 fois plus que le plus puissant des supercalculateurs actuellement en production, le Sunway TaihuLight chinois qui compte 10.649.600 cœurs de calcul pour atteindre 93 TFLOP/s.

Marin Mersenne (1588-1648), moine, mathématicien et philosophe,
a formalisé les nombres premiers de Mersenne au xviie siècle.

Pourtant, quand on regarde la machine qu’à utilisé Jonathan Pace, il ne s’agit que d’un très banal PC avec un Intel i5-660 qui a du fonctionner 6 jours d’affilée pour vérifier que M77232917 est bien un nombre premier de Mersenne. De même, les 4 machines utilisées pour vérifier ce résultat démontrent la diversité des logiciels et des machines utilisés par les membres de la communauté GIMPS. Aaron Blosser à utilisé le logiciel Prime95 sur un serveur Intel Xeon et a pu obtenu la preuve en 37 heures de calcul. David Stanfill a utilisé une carte graphique AMD RX Vega 64 qui a délivré le résultat en 34 heures avec le logiciel gpuOwl, tandis qu’Andreas Höglung a misé sur une carte NVidia Titan Black et le logiciel CUDALucas qui a livré son verdict en 73 heures. Le chercheur a aussi utilisé Mlucas sur une instance Cloud Amazon Web Services qui lui a permis d’obtenir le même résultat en 65 heures. Enfin, Ernest Mayer a préféré un serveur Intel Xeon à 32 coeurs et le logiciel Mlucas, ce qui lui a permet d’obtenir la preuve au bout de 82 heures de calcul.

Grâce à M77232917, Jonathan Pace décroche donc les 3.000 $ de prix offerts par l’EFF, sans doute un minuscule fraction de ce qu’il aurait pu gagner en minant du Bitcoin dès son origine, mais au moins aura-t-il le plaisir de voir son nom parmi les découvreur de nombres premiers.

Sources :

« FedEx employee from Tennessee discovers largest known prime number », CNBC, 5 janvier 2018

« Largest known prime number discovered », ScienceDaily, 4 janvier 2018

« 50th Known Mersenne Prime Found! », Communiqué de presse du GIMP, 4 janvier 2018

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Non classé, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.