Security vulnerabilities discovered in several robots

The cybersecurity of connected objects is a recurring subject and robots are not immune to this problem. An American cybersecurity specialist points the finger at multiple types of robots, both in the industrial environment and in personal robots. A dozen robots have not passed the security tests, with security flaws that potentially allow hackers to turn these robots into spies or, at worst, alter their behavior.

Personal robots and collaborative robots tested insecure

Rethink Robotics’ Baxter and Sawyer were given a patch in February 2017 for their security flaws.

The scenario of a Nao little robot transformed into a spy and that transmits everything he sees or hears to a hacker or that of a robot industrial Universal Robot that tries to strike a worker is not illusory. Cyber ​​security researchers from IOActive conducted a few tests on a dozen different robots and, not surprisingly, They were found to be insufficiently secured. Analysts have identified 25 security vulnerabilities on robots ranging from Nao and Pepper robots by Softbank Robotics to UBTech’s personal Alpha robots.
Earlier in the year, these researchers were interested in collaborative robots for the industry. The Baxter and Sawyer cobots of the American Rethink Robotics then presented major security flaws, flaws that have since been corrected, as well as the very popular UR robots from Universal Robots. The Danish manufacturer was far less reactive than its competitors and these security flaws have obviously still not been corrected. If Lucas Apa, one of the researchers who conducted this study, evokes the scenario of a Nao attacking his owner armed with a screwdriver, a scenario that is more likely to smile, an industrial robot brought to work near the workers is Much more annoying. The researcher estimates that a Universal Robot UR5, a cobot capable of weighing 5 kg, can potentially injure an operator within range if reprogrammed by a hacker. The researcher points out that such piracy could be carried out remotely. It is high time for robot manufacturers to integrate cybersecurity as quickly as possible into the design of their machines.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Popular Robots are Dangerously Easy to Hack, Cybersecurity Firm Says”, Bloomberg, August 22, 2017

“Robot makers slow to address danger risk: researchers”, Reuters, August 22, 2017

“Exploiting Industrial Collaborative Robots”, IOActive release, August 22, 2017

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Des failles de sécurité découvertes dans plusieurs robots

La cybersécurité des objets connectés est un sujet récurrent et les robots n’échappent pas à cette problématique. Un spécialiste américain en cybersécurité pointe du doigt de multiples types de robots, tant dans le milieu industriel que dans les robots personnels. Une douzaine de robots n’ont pas passé les tests de sécurité, avec des failles de sécurité qui permettent potentiellement à des hackers de transformer ces robots en espions ou, au pire, modifier leur comportement.

Des robots personnels et des robots collaboratifs mal sécurisés

Pointés du doigt en février 2017 pour leurs failles de sécurité, les Baxter et Sawyer de Rethink Robotics ont reçu un correctif.

Le scénario d’un robot Nao transformé en espion et qui transmet tout ce qu’il voit ou entend à un pirate informatique ou encore celui d’un robot industriel Universal Robot qui tente de frapper un ouvrier n’a rien d’illusoire. Les chercheurs en cybersécurité de IOActive ont mené quelques tests sur une douzaine de robots divers et, sans grande surprise, ceux-ci se sont avérés insuffisamment sécurisés. Les analystes ont identifié 25 failles de sécurité sur des robots allant des robots Nao et Pepper de Softbank Robotics ainsi que sur les robots personnels Alpha du chinois UBTech.
Plus tôt dans l’année, ces chercheurs s’étaient intéressés aux robots collaboratifs destinés à l’industrie. Les cobots Baxter et Sawyer de l’américain Rethink Robotics présentait alors des failles de sécurités majeures, failles qui ont été corrigées depuis, de même que les très populaires robots UR d’Universal Robots. Le constructeur d’origine danoise s’est avéré beaucoup moins réactif que son concurrents et ces failles de sécurité n’ont visiblement toujours pas été corrigées. Si Lucas Apa, l’un des chercheurs qui a mené cette étude, évoque le scénario d’un Nao qui attaquerait son propriétaire armé d’un tournevis, scénario qui prête plutôt à sourire, un robot industriel amené à travailler à proximité des ouvriers est beaucoup plus embêtante. Le chercheur estime qu’un UR5 d’Universal Robot, un cobot capable de porter 5 kg peut, potentiellement, blesser un opérateur à sa portée s’il est reprogrammé par un hacker. Le chercheur précise qu’un tel piratage pourrait être réalisé à distance. Il est donc grand temps que les constructeurs de robots intègrent au plus vite la cybersécurité dans la conception de leurs machines.

Sources :

« Popular Robots are Dangerously Easy to Hack, Cybersecurity Firm Says », Bloomberg, 22 août 2017

« Robot makers slow to address danger risk: researchers », Reuters, 22 août 2017

« Exploiting Industrial Collaborative Robots », Communiqué IOActive, 22 août 2017

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.