DARPA bets $ 2.9M on the flexible exoskeleton

Soft-ExosuitIf for you, an exoskeleton necessarily similar to how robocop armor, researchers Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard might surprise you.
They work on a different approach based on flexible sensors and smart textiles. A lightweight exoskeleton to wear out like a garment, for the military, but also the elderly, fire and hikers, is the concept of “Soft Exosuit.” One approach is to follow the American defense while pursuing projects armor way “Iron Man” in parallel.

A robotics inspired by biomechanics

Activation of muscles is triggered textiles according to the movements of the flexible carrier detected by sensors.

Activation of muscles is triggered textiles according to the movements of the flexible carrier detected by sensors.

The approach researchers Wyss Institute is radically different from that of roboticists. They are based in fact of nature to create an exoskeleton that mimics or rather amplifying human walking through textiles muscles. Approach out of traditional technologies since even the sensors are flexible. DARPA, the American military base dedicated to funding innovative projects, has allocated $ 2.9 million to develop the exoskeleton of a different type. Among the applications mentioned in this flexible exoskeleton, equipment soldiers of course, but also firefighters, the walking assistance for seniors or even outfits hikes. medexo It is therefore an exoskeleton to wear as a piece of clothing, a new “wearable” Catalogue of connected objects.medexoIl s’agit donc d’un exosquelette à porter comme une pièce de vêtement, un nouveau “wearable” au catalogue des objets connectés.

The applications are different from those of the exoskeleton “traditional” since it will not allow the wearer to raise titanic loads such as TALOS, HULC and FORTIS, other exoskeletons in project of the American army. It will not stand paralyzed either because it is not rigid. By cons, easier to implement than those without robots brain, “Soft Exosuit” the Wyss Institute allows muscles to assist the wearer and increase strength and endurance. One day perhaps will one find an intelligent garment derived from this flexible exoskeleton at Sport Authority or Paragon Sport.

Sources :

“Harvard’s Wyss Institute awarded DARPA contract to further develop Soft Exosuit”, Communiqué Wyss Institute, 11 septembre 2014

“Meet the exoskeleton the Navy is testing to make sailors stronger”, The Washington Post, 3 septembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

La DARPA mise 2,9M$ sur l’exosquelette souple

Soft-ExosuitSi pour vous, un exosquelette s’apparente nécessairement à une armure façon robocop, les chercheurs du Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering de Harvard risquent de vous surprendre.

Ceux-ci travaillent sur une toute autre approche à base de capteurs souples et de textile intelligent. Un exosquelette léger, à porter comme un vêtement, pour les militaires, mais aussi les personnes âgées, les pompiers ou les randonneurs, c’est le concept de « Soft Exosuit ». Une approche que la défense américaine va suivre, tout en poursuivant ses projets d’armures façon « Iron Man » en parallèle.

Une robotique inspirée de la biomécanique

L'activation des muscles textiles est déclenchée en fonction des mouvements du porteur détectés par des capteurs souples.

L’activation des muscles textiles est déclenchée en fonction des mouvements du porteur détectés par des capteurs souples.

L’approche des chercheurs du Wyss Institute est radicalement différente de celle des roboticiens. Ceux-ci s’inspirent en effet de la nature pour créer un exosquelette mimant ou plutôt amplifiant la marche humaine au moyen de muscles textiles. Une approche en rupture des technologies traditionnelles puisque même les capteurs sont souples. Le DARPA, fond de l’armée américaine dédié au financement des projets innovants, vient d’allouer 2,9 millions de dollars pour développer cet exosquelette d’un autre type. Parmi les applications évoquées pour cet exosquelette souple, l’équipement des soldats bien évidemment, mais aussi des pompiers, l’assistance à la marche pour les personnes âgées ou même les tenues de randonnées. medexoIl s’agit donc d’un exosquelette à porter comme une pièce de vêtement, un nouveau « wearable » au catalogue des objets connectés.

Les applications sont différentes de celles de l’exosquelette « traditionnel » puisque celui-ci ne permettra pas à son porteur de soulever des charges titanesques comme les TALOS, HULC et FORTIS, les autres exosquelettes en projet de l’armée américaine. Il ne fera pas se lever les paralysés non plus puisqu’il n’est pas rigide. Par contre, plus simple à mettre en oeuvre que ces robots sans cerveau, le « Soft Exosuit » du Wyss Institute permet d’assister les muscles du porteur et accroître sa force et son endurance. Peut-être trouvera-t-on un jour un vêtement intelligent dérivé de cet exosquelette souple chez Decathlon ou Go Sport.

Translation : Google Translation

Sources :

« Harvard’s Wyss Institute awarded DARPA contract to further develop Soft Exosuit », Communiqué Wyss Institute, 11 septembre 2014

« Meet the exoskeleton the Navy is testing to make sailors stronger », The Washington Post, 3 septembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.