DARPA imagine the air war of the future

Darpa-SoSITEDARPA, body which coordinates the research of the American armies, has recently released a video showing the work of his research program SoSITE (for System of Systems Integration Technology and Experimentation). Researchers will indeed thinking what will be the air war in a few dozens years. Between the myriad of UAVs and cruise mini-missiles, combat pilot will see its redefined role. Not sure the war of the future imagined by DARPA sees one day drivers compete in the dogfights epic way Top Gun.

Drones in the service of the combat pilot

Imagine a F-35, standard aircraft of the US Air Force in decades. Behind him, an aircraft converted into drone follows him to the trace. This aircraft plays the role of bearer of drones and missiles for the attacking aircraft.

Not without humour, in the scenario presented by the video, designers have modelled the carrier aircraft of UAVs like this good old Lockheed C – 130 Hercules, an aircraft whose first flight dates back to 1954. The aircraft is still re-engined with the reactor of the B-52, another aircraft of the 1950s! In this scenario of air-to-ground attack, the C-130 “drone” merely follow the combat aircraft in order to bring to him the missiles and other jettisonable reconnaissance drones. The objective approach, the pilot of the F-35 asks the carrier to deploy a myriad of drones. 3 drones out of the cargo bay of the C-130 and depart in recognition in front of the device. These drones locate the lens via their sensors and transmit the data to the driver who can then decide the trigger of the attack. While drones shuffle the programming of the SAM battery radar, target of the raid, the pilot ordered his companion C-130 to launch missiles. A pack of “cruise missiles” is then ejected from the C-130 and then headed towards the target. Several smaller and low-cost cruise missiles, it is the choice of the DARPA researchers to thwart enemy air defences. The idea is to saturate the defenses so that, even if several missiles are intercepted, some through defenses and eventually destroy the target.

DARPA develops the SoS concept: a system of weapon systems

F35

In the Sos concept studied by DARPA, drones can send their data directly to the attack aircraft. The driver decides itself the launching of missiles, without going through a station from counter to Nevada or an AWACS.

SoSITE program offers an alternative to the current architecture where the exchange of data from Awacs aircraft radar, which leads the attack remotely, by sending the statement to combat aircraft. In the schema Sos (‘system-of-systems’), each unit, each drone can send data it gleans with his sensors directly to the aircraft attackers. One concept that makes heavy use of data transmissions between each component of attack.
Phase 1 of the project, launched in 2014 must run until 2016. This phase focuses on the development of this architecture and its integration. Phase 2 will involve flight tests. The initial program says it will run from 2017 to 2019. DARPA will trade by testing the approach on Air to Air and Air to Air engagements with multiple units, then attacks on the ground and finally combined scenarios. The program is obviously secret and information distilled by the piecemeal DARPA. For the moment we do not know what types of devices could participate in trials. Including what could be the plane door-drones, if this concept is finally adopted. Bigger, slower, less manoeuvrable and less stealthy than the fighter/bomber, it appears in the schema of attack as a real Cannonball attached to the foot of the Hunter. Another issue on hold, the data bindings. Now, the hunter must receive ‘live’ data from its reconnaissance drones, without going through an AWACS. Including images of sight real time. The link 16 data network linking aircraft between them in flight, can not transmit as much data, which will involve equipping satellite antennas, not counting algorithms and other artificial intelligences hunters to develop to assist the pilot to carry out his attack by controlling its myriad of drones for the recognition of one side, its support of the other drones andIncidentally, his own camera!

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :
“Operating in Contested Environments”, DARPA press release, March 30, 2015

“DARPA-BAA-14-40, System of Systems Integration Technology and Experimentation (SoSITE)”, FedBizOps, April 30, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

La DARPA imagine la guerre aérienne du futur

Darpa-SoSITELa DARPA, organisme qui coordonne les recherches de l’armée Américaine, a récemment publié une vidéo illustrant les travaux de son programme de recherche SoSITE (pour System of Systems Integration Technology and Experimentation). Les chercheurs réfléchissent en effet à ce que sera la guerre aérienne dans quelques plusieurs dizaines années. Entre les myriades de drones et les mini-missiles de croisière, le pilote de combat va voir son rôle redéfini. Pas sûr que la guerre du futur imaginée par la DARPA voit un jour des pilotes s’affronter dans les dogfights épiques façon Top Gun.

Des drones au service du pilote de combat

Imaginez un F-35, avion de combat standard de l’US Air Force dans quelques dizaines d’années. Derrière lui, un avion de transport transformé en drone le suit à la trace. Cet avion joue le rôle de porteur de drones et de missiles pour l’avion attaquant.

Non sans un certain humour, dans le scénario présenté par la vidéo, les infographistes ont modélisé l’avion porteur de drones comme ce bon vieux Lockheed C-130 Hercules, un avion dont le premier vol remonte à 1954. L’avion est tout de même remotorisé avec les réacteur du B-52, un autre avion des années 50 ! Dans ce scénario d’attaque air-sol, le C-130 « dronisé » se contente de suivre l’avion de combat afin de porter pour lui les missiles et autres drones de reconnaissance largables. A l’approche de l’objectif, le pilote du F-35 demande au transporteur de déploiement une myriade de drones. 3 drones sortent de la soute du C-130 et partent en reconnaissance en avant du dispositif. Ces drones localisent l’objectif via leurs capteurs et transmettent toutes les données au pilote qui peut alors décider du déclenchement de l’attaque. Pendant que les drones brouillent les émissions du radar de la batterie SAM, objectif du raid, le pilote ordonne à son C-130 compagnon de lancer les missiles. Une meute de « missiles de croisière » est alors éjecté du C-130 et se dirige alors vers la cible. Plusieurs missiles de croisière de petite taille et à faible coût, c’est le choix des chercheurs du DARPA pour déjouer les défenses antiaériennes. L’idée est de saturer les défenses pour que, même si plusieurs missiles sont interceptés, certains passent au travers des défenses et détruisent finalement la cible.

La DARPA développe le concept SoS : un système de systèmes d’armes

F35

Dans le concept Sos étudié par la DARPA, les drones peuvent envoyer directement leurs données à l’avion d’attaque. Le pilote décide lui-même du lancement des missiles, sans devoir passer par une station de contre au Nevada ou un avion Awacs.

Le programme SoSITE propose une alternative à l’architecture actuelle où les échanges de données proviennent d’un Awacs, avion radar, qui mène l’attaque à distance, en envoyant les instruction aux avions de combat. Dans le schéma Sos (“system-of-systems”), chaque appareil, chaque drone peut envoyer les données qu’il glane avec ses capteurs directement aux avions attaquants. Un concept qui fait un usage intensif des transmissions de données entre chaque composant du dispositif d’attaque.

La phase 1 du projet, lancée en 2014 doit courir jusqu’en 2016. Cette phase porte sur le développement de cette architecture et son intégration. La phase 2 concernera les essais en vol. Le programme initial précise qu’il se déroulera de 2017 à 2019. La DARPA va commercer par tester l’approche sur des engagements Air-Air, puis Air-Air avec de multiples appareils, puis les attaques au sol et enfin des scénarios combinés. Le programme est bien évidemment secret et l’information distillée par la DARPA parcellaire. Pour l’instant on ne sais pas quel types d’appareils pourraient participer aux essais. Notamment quel pourrait être cet avion porte-drones, si cette notion est finalement retenue. Plus gros, plus lent, moins maniable et moins furtif que le chasseur/bombardier, celui-ci apparaît dans le schéma d’attaque comme un véritable boulet attaché au pied du chasseur. Autre point en suspend, les liaisons de données. Désormais, le chasseur doit recevoir « en direct » les données de ses drones de reconnaissance, sans devoir passer par un AWACS. Y compris les images de visée temps réel. La liaison 16, le réseau de données qui relie les avions entres eux en vol, ne peut pas transmettre autant de données, ce qui va impliquer équiper les chasseurs d’antennes satellites, sans compter les algorithmes et autres intelligences artificielles à développer pour aider le pilote à mener son attaque en contrôlant sa myriade de drones de reconnaissance d’un côté, ses drones de soutien de l’autre et, accessoirement, son propre appareil !
Sources :
« Operating in Contested Environments », Communiqué DARPA; 30 mars 2015

« DARPA-BAA-14-40, System of Systems Integration Technology and Experimentation (SoSITE) », FedBizOps, 30 avril 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.