Deep Learning: 50,000 tries to learn how to grasp an object…

robot-graspingHard to be a robot when one is faced with the real world! By default, a robot is capable of performing tasks for which it has been programmed, even gestures that seem the most basic for a human.

Researchers at the Carnegie Mellon University Robotics lab has a robot Baxter of a Deep Learning algorithm. The objective is to allow the robot to learn himself a simple task using its artificial intelligence. A promising approach, but oh how much laborious.

Deep Learning empowers the robot to learn from its mistakes

Supersizing-Self-supervisionNobody needs to pay the slightest attention to enter a remote, scissors, or a toy on a table. So that a robot can perform such a gesture without programming and without dropping the object, it is a different matter. How to catch those objects to forms the most different without them falling?, not so simple. U.S. researchers have tried to see if a Deep Learning algorithm may allow the robot to learn by him even, through trial/error. They therefore instructed their algorithm in the ‘head’ of the robot, placed it in front of a table full of small objects and energized Baxter. The Baxter is driven for more than 700 hours during which he made 50,000 tests on 150 different objects. Lifeline learning phase for its algorithm that includes 18 million of parameters which has proved to be effective. Faced with an object, the robot is shown capable of predicting how to take without dropping it with a probability of 80%. In relying on simple rules as catch the object at its Center, on a not too narrow area, the probability of success is only 62%.

Researchers have shown that deep learning will enable robots to learn to interact with their environment, learn like children… but what effort!

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :
“Deep-Learning Robot Takes 10 Days to Teach Itself to Grasp”, MIT Technology Review, October 5, 2015
“Supersizing Self-Supervision: Learning to Grasp from 50K Tries and 700 Robot Hours”, Cornell University Library [pdf], September 23, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Deep Learning : 50.000 essais pour apprendre à saisir un objet…

robot-graspingDur d’être un robot lorsqu’on est confronté au monde réel ! Par défaut, un robot n’est capable de réaliser que les tâches pour lesquelles il a été programmé, même les gestes qui semblent les plus élémentaires pour un humain.

Les chercheurs du labo de robotique de l’université Carnegie Mellon ont doté un robot Baxter d’un algorithme de Deep Learning. L’objectif est de permettre au robot d’apprendre de lui-même une tâche simple au moyen de son intelligence artificielle. Une approche prometteuse, mais ô combien laborieuse.

Le Deep Learning donne les moyens au robot d’apprendre de ses erreurs

Supersizing-Self-supervisionPersonne n’a besoin de prêter la moindre attention pour saisir une télécommande, des ciseaux ou un jouet sur une table. Pour qu’un robot puisse réaliser un tel geste sans programmation et sans faire tomber l’objet, c’est une autre affaire. Comment attraper ces objets aux formes les plus diverses sans les faire tomber ?, pas si simple. Les chercheurs américains ont essayé de voir si un algorithme de Deep Learning peut permettre au robot d’apprendre par lui même, par essais/erreurs. Ils ont donc chargé leur algorithme dans la « tête » du robot, placé celui-ci devant une table pleine de petits objets et mis Baxter sous tension. Le Baxter s’est entraîné pendant plus de 700 heures pendant lesquelles il a réalisé 50.000 essais sur 150 objets différents. Une longe phase d’apprentissage pour son algorithme qui comporte 18 millions de paramètres qui s’est avérée efficace. Face à un objet, le robot s’est montré capable de prévoir comment s’en saisir sans le faire tomber avec une probabilité de 80%. En s’appuyant sur des règles simples comme attraper l’objet en son centre, sur une zone pas trop étroite, la probabilité de succès n’est que de 62%.

Les chercheurs ont démontré que le deep learning va permettre aux robots d’apprendre à interagir avec leur environnement, apprendre comme des enfants… mais au prix de quels efforts !

Sources :
« Deep-Learning Robot Takes 10 Days to Teach Itself to Grasp », MIT Technology Review, 5 octobre 2015
« Supersizing Self-Supervision: Learning to Grasp from 50K Tries and 700 Robot Hours », Cornell University Library [pdf], 23 septembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.