The DHL & Dell Robotics Innovation Challenge 2017 won by Vecna Robotics

The American Vecna Robotics has just won the robotics challenge organized by DHL and Dell. His robot, the Tote Retrieval System (TRS) wins the $15,000 prize for a challenge at the DHL Innovation Center in Troisdorf, Germany, where the robot was to perform the “picking” of boxes of varying sizes and weights in a rack. The robot triumphed in the events and its designer hopes to market it as soon as 2018.

A system of picking that should be available by mid-2018

With the Amazon Robotics Challenge, the DHL & Dell Robotics Innovation Challenge 2017 has established itself as one of the most important robotics challenges in logistics.

The Tote Retrieval System from Vecna robtics and its UGV RC20.

In this 2017 edition, its organizers wanted to confront the robots in a picking session. While Amazon is concentrating on image recognition, DHL and its partner Dell wanted to focus on handling parcels in front of a 1.9m high rack over several meters long. The robot had to be able to pick up boxes of 60cm maximum side for a weight not exceeding 7 kg. The robot had to be able to move electrically, avoiding possible obstacles and bringing the packages to a predefined location.

In this game, the robotic system devised by Vecna Robotics’ engineers performed best in front of the competition. This consists of a mobile system capable of picking up packages from the shelves, the Tote Retrieval System. As required by the specifications, this one is mobile and comes to place itself in front of the claimed cardboard in order to seize it. However, it is a small autonomous robot already marketed by Vecna Robotics, the RC20 Conveyer, which takes care of the carton and brings it to the operator.

Daniel Theobald, co-founder and CEO of Vecna Robotics, said the Tote Retreival System is not just a demonstrator. It can already be purchased as a pre-order and the first copies should be delivered in mid-2018.

Source: “Vecna Robotics Wins DHL & Dell Robotics Innovation Challenge 2017 with Tote Retrieval System”, Vecna Robotics press release, 12 December 2017

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Le DHL & Dell Robotics Innovation Challenge 2017 remporté par Vecna Robotics

C’est l’américain Vecna Robotics qui vient de remporter le challenge robotique organisé par DHL et Dell.
Avec son système robotique, le Tote Retrieval System (TRS), il décroche les 15.000 $ du premier prix d’un challenge qui s’est déroulé au sein du DHL Innovation Center, à Troisdorf, en Allemagne et lors duquel le robot devait effectuer le « picking » de cartons de tailles et de poids variables dans un rack. Le robot a triomphé lors des épreuves et son concepteur espère le commercialiser dès 2018.

Un système de picking qui devrait être disponible mi-2018

Avec l’Amazon Robotics Challenge, le DHL & Dell Robotics Innovation Challenge 2017 s’est imposé comme l’un des challenges robotiques les plus important dans le domaine de la logistique. Dans cette édition 2017, ses organisateurs ont souhaité confronter les robots dans une séance de picking.

Le Tote Retrieval System de Vecna robtics et son UGV.

Alors qu’Amazon se concentre sur la reconnaissance d’images, DHL et son partenaire Dell ont souhaité privilégier la manipulation des colis face à un rack haut de 1,9m sur plusieurs mètres de longueur. Le robot devait pouvoir se saisir de cartons de 60cm de côté maximum pour un poids ne dépassant pas 7 kg. Le robot devait pouvoir se déplacer électriquement en évitant d’éventuels obstacles et apporter les colis à un endroit prédéfini.

A ce petit jeu, c’est le système robotique imaginé par les ingénieurs de Vecna Robotics qui s’est le mieux comporté face aux épreuves. Celui-cise compose d’un système mobile capable d’aller chercher les colis sur les étagères, le Tote Retrieval System. Comme l’impose le cahier des charges, celui-ci est mobile et vient se placer en face du carton réclamé afin de s’en saisir. Toutefois, c’est un petit robot autonome déjà commercialisé par Vecna Robotics, le RC20 Conveyer qui prend en charge le carton et vient l’apporter à l’opérateur.

Daniel Theobald, co-fondateur et PDG de Vecna Robotics a déclaré que le Tote Retreival System n’a rien d’un simple démonstrateur. Celui-ci peut d’ores et déjà être acheté en pré-commande et les premiers exemplaires devrait être livré en milieu d’année 2018.

Source : « Vecna Robotics Wins DHL & Dell Robotics Innovation Challenge 2017 with Tote Retrieval System », Communiqué de presse Vecna Robotics, 12 décembre 2017

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.