The future of business aircraft, electric and vertical take-off

diamond-tiltrotorAfter the XTI project, a new industrial embarks on the adventure of the case vertical take-off aircraft. This is not a startup but the Austrian Diamond aircraft. Unlike the American project, the latter to chose the option of the tiltrotor (of tiltrotors) to allow the aircraft to take off vertically. Better yet, 4 tilting propellers will be driven by electric motors. It is still a project in the initial phase, but the construction of a prototype scale must be launched next month.

A hybrid plane seat approved in 7 years?

Hybrid aircraft electrical / diesel, the Tiltrotor that prepares Diamond Aircraft must carry 6 people. A plane of 3 tonnes only, which corresponds to a single engine TBM-900-type. A featherweight for an electric aircraft which must carry batteries and 2 diesel engines for recharging.

AgustaWestland AW609 will be the main rival of the Tiltrotor Diamond.

AgustaWestland AW609 will be the main rival of the Tiltrotor Diamond.

If the Austrian did not deliver figures when autonomy and hoped for its appliance range, its ambitions are extremely high. Currently, the only civil tiltrotor, the AgustaWestland AW609, developed with the American Bell, weighs 7 tons for 6 to 9 passengers. Who is this mysterious partner? The question remains, because very little of the world manufacturers have mastered the Tiltrotor technology. Inspired by the drones, the use of the electric greatly simplifies the mechanical design of the device, including transmissions and failover systems. In addition, the aircraft should have electrical controls and the phase of take-off and landing will be automatic.

Facing the defeated one such case aircraft design and more advanced versions called him succeed, Diamond Aircraft chose to adopt a progressive approach. After this first work of preliminary studies, the aircraft manufacturer will create a drone of more than 300 kg to test this formula before moving to a version more than a ton. In the article in Flying, Christian Dries, CEO of Diamond Aircraft evokes a cooperation with a drone manufacturer to develop its tiltrotor. It seeks certification of his plane in just 7 years.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Diamond Launches Hybrid-Electric Tiltrotor”, Flying, 1 octobre 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’avion d’affaire du futur, électrique et à décollage vertical

diamond-tiltrotorAprès le projet XTI, un nouvel industriel se lance dans l’aventure de l’avion d’affaire à décollage vertical. Il ne s’agit pas d’une startup mais de l’autrichien Diamond Aircraft. Contrairement au projet américain, ce dernier à choisi l’option des rotors basculants (des tiltrotors) pour permettre à son appareil de décoller verticalement. Mieux encore, ses 4 hélices basculantes seront animées par des moteurs électriques. Il ne s’agit encore que d’un projet en phase initiale, mais la construction d’un prototype à l’échelle réduite doit être lancée le mois prochain.

Un avion hybride de 6 places homologué dans 7 ans ?

Avion hybride électrique / diesel, le Tiltrotor que prépare Diamond Aircraft devra emporter 6 personnes. Un avion de 3 tonnes seulement, ce qui correspond à un monomoteur de type TBM-900. Un poids plume pour un avion électrique qui doit emporter des batteries ainsi que 2 moteurs diesel pour les recharger.

L'AgustaWestland AW609 sera le principal rival du Diamond Tiltrotor.

L’AgustaWestland AW609 sera le principal rival du Diamond Tiltrotor.

Si l’autrichien n’a pas livré de chiffres quand à l’autonomie et le rayon d’action espéré pour son appareil, ses ambitions sont extrêmement élevées. Actuellement, le seul tiltrotor civil, l’AgustaWestland AW609, développé avec l’américain Bell, pèse 7 tonnes pour 6 à 9 passagers. Qui est ce mystérieux partenaire ? La question reste posée car bien peu d’industriels dans le monde maîtrisent la technologie du Tiltrotor. Inspiré par les drones, le recours à l’électrique simplifie énormément la conception mécanique de l’appareil, notamment sur les transmissions et systèmes de basculement. En outre, l’avion devrait disposer de commandes électriques et les phase de décollage et d’atterrissage seront automatiques.

Face au défit de la conception d’un tel avion d’affaire et des versions plus évoluées appelées à lui succéder, Diamond Aircraft a choisi d’adopter une approche progressive. Après ce premier travail d’études préliminaires, l’avionneur va créer un drone de plus de 300 kg pour tester cette formule avant de passer à une version de plus d’une tonne. Dans l’article de Flying, Christian Dries, le PDG de Diamond Aircraft évoque une coopération avec un constructeur de drone pour mettre au point son tiltrotor. Il vise une certification de son avion dans 7 ans seulement.

Source : « Diamond Launches Hybrid-Electric Tiltrotor », Flying, 1 octobre 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.