Divergent 3D unveils his supercar printed in 3D at the Los Angeles show

divergent3dDivergent 3D introduced for the first time his supercar at the Los Angeles show, the Blade. With 700 HP under the hood, it will provide an acceleration from 0 to 60 mph (97 kph) in 2.2 seconds to his happy owners if mass production is launched one day. However the innovation brought by the Blade is in its motor gasoline/gas natural or in aerodynamic sound, but in the way in which it is built.

A structure in carbon tubes assembled via 3D printed aluminium nodes

Ferrari, Lamborghini, McLaren, Jaguar, it will probably take years a manufacturer such as diverge to get a place in the market of supercars if American does one day. Yet his first car shows leading performance, thanks to a weight of only 635 kg on the scale. The secret of this weight pen, it’s how deviating 3D engineers have designed the structure of this car. This is achieved through 3D printing, but rather than opting for a unibody design as Local Motors, they have imagined a completely different approach. The Blade is a relatively classic tubular design, but rather that of weld metal tubes, engineers have imagined using assembled ultralight carbon tubes between – them via lightweight aluminum nodes made in 3D printing.

Le noeud d'aluminium imprimé en 3D dans lequel les tubes de carbone viennent se placer pour former la structure de la Blade.

The 3D printed aluminium node in which the carbon tubes are placed to form the structure of the Blade.

The California startup marketing announces a weight reduced by 90% compared to traditional construction methods. The experts will judge of this figure, but also gross weight gain, this method of construction is a second interest. Mounting can be achieved by simple nesting, like a giant meccano without tooling complex or the need to put in place a robotic welding shop that represents a significant investment for any manufacturer automotive.

Deviating 3D platform attracted including the PSA group, which has signed a partnership agreement in September 2016. The official press release quotes Carlos Tavares, CEO of PSA, who said he was impressed with the 3D update by deviating 3D printing technology.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“This Is the World’s First 3D-Printed “Supercar””, Futurism, November 20, 2016

“PSA Group signs a Strategic Partnership Letter of Intent with Divergent 3D, charting a new future of dramatically more efficient automobile manufacturing”, Divergent 3D press release, September 16 2016

 

 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Impression 3D and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Divergent 3D dévoile sa supercar imprimée en 3D au salon de Los Angeles

divergent3dDivergent 3D a présenté pour la première fois sa supercar lors du salon de Los Angeles, la Blade. Avec 700 cv sous le capot, celle-ci offrira une accélération de 0 à 60 mph (97 km/h)  en 2,2 secondes à ses heureux possesseurs si la production en série est lancée un jour. Néanmoins l’innovation apportée par la Blade n’est ni dans sa motorisation essence/gaz naturel, ni dans son aérodynamique, mais dans la façon dont elle est construite.

Une structure en tubes de carbone assemblés via des noeuds d’aluminium imprimés

Ferrari, Lamborghini, McLaren, Jaguar, il faudra sans doute des années pour qu’un constructeur tel que Divergent se fasse une place sur le marché des supercars si l’américain y parvient un jour. Pourtant sa première voiture affiche des performances de premier plan, notamment grâce à un poids de seulement 635 kg sur la balance. Le secret de ce poids plume, c’est la façon dont les ingénieurs de Divergent 3D ont conçu la structure de cette voiture. Celle-ci est réalisée grâce à l’impression 3D, mais plutôt que l’opter pour une conception monocoque comme Local Motors, ceux-ci ont imaginé une approche totalement différente. La Blade est d’une conception tubulaire relativement classique, mais plutôt que de souder des tubes métalliques, les ingénieurs ont imaginé d’utiliser des tubes de carbones ultralégers assemblés entres-eux via des nœuds d’aluminium léger réalisés en impression 3D.

Le noeud d'aluminium imprimé en 3D dans lequel les tubes de carbone viennent se placer pour former la structure de la Blade.

Le noeud d’aluminium imprimé en 3D dans lequel les tubes de carbone viennent se placer pour former la structure de la Blade.

Le marketing de la startup californienne annonce un poids réduit de 90% par rapport aux méthodes de construction traditionnelle. Les experts jugeront de ce chiffre, mais outre le gain de poids brut, cette méthode de construction présente un second intérêt. Le montage peut être réalisé par simple emboîtement, comme un meccano géant sans un outillage complexe ni le besoin de mettre en place un atelier de soudure robotisé qui représente un investissement conséquent pour tout constructeur automobile.

La plateforme proposée par Divergent 3D a notamment séduit le groupe PSA qui a signé un accord de partenariat en septembre 2016. Le communiqué officiel cite Carlos Tavares, PDG de PSA qui déclare avoir été impressionné par la technologie d’impression 3D mise au point par Divergent 3D.

Sources :

« This Is the World’s First 3D-Printed “Supercar” », Futurism, 20 novembre 2016

« PSA Group signs a Strategic Partnership Letter of Intent with Divergent 3D, charting a new future of dramatically more efficient automobile manufacturing », Communiqué de presse Divergent 3D, 16 septembre 2016

 

 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.