DIY : Microsoft wants to catch up

Intel_GalileoThis is the 1ER October 2013 when the Maker make Rome what Intel and Arduino had Galileo in the community of the Makers. This card, equipped with all new SOC Quark from Intel, would be available end November 2013. And if it is available on several sites for the sale of electronic components, its actual availability remains theoretical. However Galileo comes from is found a new ally, Microsoft. In recent weeks, the U.S. launched operation Windowsondevices. To invite the Markers to think a little more about Windows, the editor does not hesitate to offer them a Galileo map. Remittances have started.

Microsoft and Intel, allied to conquier the market of connected objects

When considering to buy an electronic card to create its first object connected, we immediately think of Arduino, Raspberry Pi and, to some extent, Beaglebone. When a bone embedded in his card, there are chances that this is a Linux.

It is the quark of Intel and its x 86 Pentium heart that motorized card Galileo.

It is the quark of Intel and its x 86 Pentium heart that motorized card Galileo.

Not really good news for Microsoft. Its embedded systems are fairly marginalized in the DIY community. Not necessarily good sign when we know that industrialists are also fond of these small cheap cards to create prototypes of objects connected to cheap. Nevertheless, it disarms not in Redmond. Microsoft can rely on a powerful ally, Intel. The titan of the semiconductor also seeks to be a place in this market of connected objects. It has launched the Galileo card in cooperation with Arduino cc. This small programmable map relies on a Soc (System on Chip) Quark powered by a heart x 86 Pentium. Voila which does rejuvenates us! More recently, Intel unveiled Edison, a miniature computer the size of an SD card, but for the time being this is the Galileo map which is the subject of a nice promotion of la by Microsoft.

The free distribution of cards Galileo is launched!

The editor sends it free to all those who register on its site Windowsondevices! There’s no explicit in this operation condition, or maximum number of card will be shipped. Microsoft seeks to have supporters among the Makers and, if you look at the #windowsondevices on Twitter hashtag, the first cards arrived at destination and he begins to achieve!

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :
“Microsoft empieza a enviar kits de desarrollo de Windows para el internet de las cosas”, MicrosoftInsider.es, July 3, 2014
“Microsoft finally gets into the internet of things: Prepare for blue-screening fridges, mugs…”, ExtremeTech, April 2, 2014
“Intel announces Edison, a computer the size of an SD card”, TheVerge, January 6, 2014

Les principales cartes programmables disponibles sur le marché :

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement, Logiciel embarqué, Objets connectés and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

DIY : Microsoft veut refaire son retard

Intel_GalileoC’est  le 1er octobre 2013, lors du Maker Faire de Rome, qu’Intel et Arduino présentaient Galileo à la communauté des Makers. Cette carte, équipée du tout nouveau SOC Quark d’Intel, devait être commercialisée fin novembre 2013. Et si elle est proposée sur plusieurs sites de vente de composants électroniques, sa disponibilité réelle reste théorique. Cependant Galileo vient de se trouvé un nouvel allié de poids, Microsoft. Depuis quelques semaines, l’américain a lancé l’opération Windowsondevices. Pour inviter les Markers à songer un peu plus à Windows, l’éditeur n’hésite pas à leur offrir une carte Galileo. Les envois viennent de commencer.

Microsoft et Intel, alliés sur le marché des objets connectés

Lors qu’on songe à acheter une carte électronique pour créer son premier objet connecté, on pense immédiatement Arduino, Raspberry Pi et, dans une certaine mesure, Beaglebone. Lorsqu’on veut un OS embarqué dans sa carte, il y a de fortes chances que cela soit un Linux.

C'est le quark d'Intel et son coeur x86 Pentium qui motorise la carte Galileo.

C’est le quark d’Intel et son coeur x86 Pentium qui motorise la carte Galileo.

Pas vraiment une bonne nouvelle pour Microsoft. Ses systèmes embarqués sont assez marginalisés dans les communautés DIY. Pas forcement bon signe quand on sait que les industriels sont aussi friands de ces petites cartes pas chères pour créer des prototypes d’objets connectés à peu de frais. Néanmoins, on ne désarme pas à Redmond. Microsoft peut s’appuyer sur un allié de poids, Intel. Le titan du semi-conducteur cherche lui aussi à se faire une place sur ce marché des objets connectés. Celui-ci a lancé la carte Galileo en coopération avec Arduino cc. Cette petite carte programmable s’appuie sur un Soc (System on Chip) Quark motorisé par un cœur x86 de Pentium. Voila qui ne nous rajeunit pas ! Plus récemment, Intel a dévoilé Edison, un ordinateur miniature de la taille d’une carte SD, mais pour l’heure c’est la carte Galileo qui fait l’objet d’une belle promotion de la par de Microsoft.

La distribution gratuite de cartes Galileo est lancée !

L’éditeur l’envoie gratuitement à tous ceux qui s’inscrivent sur son site Windowsondevices! Il n’y a pas de condition explicite à cette opération, ni de nombre maximum de carte qui seront expédiées. Microsoft cherche à se faire des supporters parmi les Makers et, si on regarde le hashtag #windowsondevices sur Twitter, les premières cartes sont arrivées à destination et il commence à y parvenir !

Sources :
« Microsoft empieza a enviar kits de desarrollo de Windows para el internet de las cosas », MicrosoftInsider.es, 3 juillet 2014
« Microsoft finally gets into the internet of things: Prepare for blue-screening fridges, mugs… », ExtremeTech, 2 avril 2014
« Intel announces Edison, a computer the size of an SD card », TheVerge, 6 janvier 2014

Les principales cartes programmables disponibles sur le marché :

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, Logiciel embarqué, Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.