DJI installs its new research center in the heart of Silicon Valley

DJI-designProbably already more big world manufacturer of leisure drones, DJI continues its offensive in the United States. The Chinese already had since 2014 offices in California but is in Palo Alto, the heart of Silicon Valley that Dong intends to install its next centre of R & d. This is Darren Agostino, who has developed the function of Autopilot of Tesla, which is at the head of this centre which has currently only 3 engineers. They will soon be 75 to develop the software of the future drones of the Chinese brand.

DJI has already raised 105 million dollars in the United States

The fantastic pool of developers and engineers of Silicon Valley attracts once more a foreign company. All actors of world size, including Chinese companies, install an antenna in California to attract talent and be at the heart of this global melting pot of innovation in high-tech.

Illustration de cet ancrage de plus en plus américain de DJI, le chinois était présent sur la Comic Con 2015 de San Diego.

Illustration of this anchor more in more American by Dong, the Chinese was present at the San Diego Comic Con 2015.

It is in Palo Alto DJI opened the doors of its new research centre, a short walk from Stanford University. If development of the hardware of its drones remain in Shenzhen, China, DJI Palo Alto will host developers who will evolve the brand software. The Chinese who currently have a hundred people in the United States has hired 75 developers in Palo Alto. As reveals the Fortune article, image processing and embedded software are among the foci of this centre. First published job advertisements focus on streaming video, storage, embedded software and numerical simulation. It is more than probable that this investment is echo $ 75 million raised last May with the Accel bottom, based in Palo Alto, and $ 30 million provided by Sequoia Capital, another great Silicon Valley background, a year earlier. The appointment of Darren Agostino at the head of this centre gives an idea of the seriousness of the DJI investment in the United States and constitutes a serious pledge to powerful investors who support the company. Finally, the constructor is also part of the “Task Force” set up by the FAA to work on the evolution of US legislation towards drones.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“China’s DJI will develop drones in Palo Alto”, Fortune, October 29, 2015

“DJI Selected As Member Of FAA UAS Registration Task Force”, DJI press release, October 22, 2015
“After Fresh Investment, Chinese Drone Maker DJI Valued at About $8 Billion”, The Wall Street Journal, May 6, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Non classé and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

DJI installe un nouveau centre de R&D à Palo Alto, au coeur de la Silicon Valley

DJI-designProbablement déjà plus gros constructeur mondial de drones de loisir, DJI continue son offensive aux Etats-Unis. Le chinois disposait déjà depuis 2014 de bureaux en Californie mais c’est à Palo Alto, le coeur de la Silicon Valley que DJI compte installer son prochain centre de R&d. C’est à Darren Liccardo, celui qui a développé la fonction d’Autopilot de Tesla, qui est à la tête de ce centre qui ne compte actuellement que 3 ingénieurs. Ils seront prochainement 75 à développer les logiciels des futurs drones de la marque chinoise.

DJI a déjà levé 105 millions de dollars aux Etats-Unis

Le fantastique vivier de développeurs et ingénieurs de la Silicon Valley attire une fois de plus une entreprise étrangère. Tous les acteurs de taille mondiale, y compris les entreprises chinoises, installent une antenne en Californie pour attirer les talents et être au coeur de ce creuset mondial de l’innovation dans la High-Tech.

Illustration de cet ancrage de plus en plus américain de DJI, le chinois était présent sur la Comic Con 2015 de San Diego.

Illustration de cet ancrage de plus en plus américain de DJI, le chinois était présent sur la Comic Con 2015 de San Diego.

C’est à Palo Alto que DJI a ouvert les portes de son nouveau centre de recherche, à quelques pas de l’Université de Stanford. Si les activités de développement du hardware de ses drones restent à Shenzhen, en Chine, DJI Palo Alto va accueillir des développeurs qui seront chargés de faire évoluer les logiciels de la marque. Le chinois qui compte actuellement une centaine de personnes aux Etats-Unis compte embaucher 75 développeurs à Palo Alto. Comme le révèle l’article de Fortune, le traitement de l’image et les logiciels embarqués figurent parmi les axes de recherche de ce centre. Les premières annonces d’emploi publiées portent sur le streaming vidéo, le stockage, les logiciels embarqués et la simulation numérique. Il est plus que probable que cet investissement fait écho aux 75 millions de dollars levé en mai dernier auprès du fond Accel, basé à Palo Alto et aux 30 millions de dollars apporté par Sequoia Capital, autre grand fond de la Silicon Valley, un an plus tôt. La nomination de Darren Liccardo à la tête de ce centre donne une idée du sérieux de l’investissement de DJI aux Etats-Unis et constitue un sérieux gage auprès des puissants investisseurs qui soutiennent l’entreprise. Enfin, le constructeur fait aussi partie de la « Task Force » mise en place par la FAA pour travailler sur les évolutions de la législation américaine vis-à-vis des drones.

Sources :

« China’s DJI will develop drones in Palo Alto », Fortune, 29 octobre 2015

« DJI Selected As Member Of FAA UAS Registration Task Force », Communiqué de presse DJI, 22 octobre 2015
« After Fresh Investment, Chinese Drone Maker DJI Valued at About $8 Billion », The Wall Street Journal, 6 mai 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Non classé, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.